Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 07:56:02 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)  (Read 30779 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Dim the taskbar
« Reply #25 on: March 01, 2006, 01:53:17 AM »
Thanks skrommel, good work!  :Thmbsup:

It works on my W2k, I just have this problems/requests:

- could you let the user enable/disable it by clicking its icon? While programs like this are active, drag'n'drop of links to Windows' Start button are not possible.

- Version 1.2 reports it's 1.0 in its dialog

- when the tool is active I can't use Zoom Player in full-screen mode! It would just display a black screen instead of the video... had the same problem when I tested PS Tray Factory, its author didn't answer my bug reports yet...

- after I exit it, I'm seeing the programs running in my taskbar AND/OR the quickstart icons blurred, they look like this:

http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/3226/fadingtaskbarbug5xv.png
DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)

« Last Edit: March 01, 2006, 02:04:31 AM by brotherS »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2006, 12:54:33 PM »
 :) How is the version I just uploaded?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2006, 01:16:26 PM »
Thanks, it's a bit better, but

- clicking the icon once changes it slightly and set/removes the "Enabled" checkmark in its menu, but doesn't always really enable/disable it

- I still get the blurry taskbar effect :(

- I still get a black screen in Zoom Player (in full-screen mode) when FadingTaskbar is already running... when I start Zoom Player first and only THEN FadingTaskbar it works. Maybe add some check for full-screen apps? Or make it disable itself when certain processes (customizable by the user) are running?

And please read your private forum messages :)

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #28 on: March 01, 2006, 01:55:10 PM »
Skrommel, your version works perfectly for me, though it was a bit jumpy on Fade Speed 1 - when I set 2, it's perfectly smooth.  Also, it doesn't have the problem with WallpaperMaster that AlphaXP Lite or Cpilot's version had.  Thanks very much to both of you!

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #29 on: March 01, 2006, 06:28:19 PM »
 :) brotherS, try if the current version kills your videos. It sets the transparency to Off if the maximized trans is set to 255.

But it makes the taskbar flicker, leaving the rest of us to set the trans to 254, so I don't know if I'll keep it.

The disrupted icons I can't explain, and mine disables properly.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #30 on: March 02, 2006, 01:44:53 AM »
Nice, enabling/disabling works now more reliably for me! :)

The "blurry icon effect" has been reduced too, happens not that often anymore - I could live with that.

But the video-in-full-screen-mode bug is still there :(
I'm not sure the "check for maximized windows" approach is the best solution possible - this would cause your app to disable itself also when I run the browser as a maximized window (which I often do for hours).
« Last Edit: March 02, 2006, 02:04:21 AM by brotherS »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #31 on: March 02, 2006, 04:06:43 PM »
I noticed another problem, which only appears after some time (had that problem with PS Tray Factory too). There are parts missing - of the white-on-green AutoHotkey "H", of WebMon's Planet Earth icon above that and of Locate's tray icon on the left side of that:

http://img464.imageshack.us/img464/3017/problemwithtrayicons29aw.png
DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)


skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #32 on: March 19, 2006, 09:35:07 PM »
Great idea!

However, I think the taskbar should only be transparent if no window is maximized.

Cpilot

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 293
    • View Profile
    • Bite Notes
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #33 on: March 19, 2006, 11:39:05 PM »
Quote from: kywalka
Great idea!

However, I think the taskbar should only be transparent if no window is maximized.

Where were you when the thread started? :tellme:

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #34 on: March 20, 2006, 01:06:47 AM »
Whoops!

I meant to say:

However, I AGREE, I think the taskbar should only be transparent if no window is maximized.

Skrommel, I think a seperate setting for fading in & out would be best.  Waiting for the taskbar to fade-in so that you can (for example) read the clock is annoying.  The fade-out is very cool though.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #35 on: March 20, 2006, 04:07:08 AM »
 :) But there is!



Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #36 on: March 20, 2006, 06:25:49 AM »
Sorry Skrommel, I should have seen that.

After a while this stopped responding for me leaving my taskbar transparent permanently.  I tried disabling it via it's context menu & got this error message:
---------------------------
1.2.exe
---------------------------
Error: Can't load icon.  The current thread will exit.

Specifically: FadingTaskbar.exe

   Line#
--->   190: Menu,Tray,Icon,FadingTaskbar.exe,4,1

---------------------------
OK  
---------------------------

Maybe this is because I renamed the exe?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2006, 06:29:21 AM by skywalka »

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #37 on: March 20, 2006, 06:44:22 AM »
 :) But you probably want separate fade in and out speeds, so try FadingTaskbar v1.3.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

skywalka

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #38 on: March 20, 2006, 06:54:39 AM »
The download from 1 Hour Software is version 1.2 according to the "About" option in the system tray icon's context menu.

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #39 on: March 20, 2006, 07:05:04 AM »
 :) @skywalka:
Quote
Error: Can't load icon.  The current thread will exit. Maybe this is because I renamed the exe?

Yes, but I've changed it in the latest version.

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

FredThompson

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #40 on: July 21, 2006, 12:39:42 AM »
Is there a way to set a default fade level for TBFader and set it to load as hidden instead of displaying the slider in the middle each time the program is started?

uzzer

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #41 on: April 08, 2009, 05:22:23 AM »
Avira detects "TR/Agent.212842.A" in FadingTaskbar.exe. Is there really a virus in it?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #42 on: April 08, 2009, 06:00:22 AM »
Avira detects "TR/Agent.212842.A" in FadingTaskbar.exe. Is there really a virus in it?

nope, it's a false alarm. Skrommel's apps are coded in Autohotkey, which for some reasons is not being shown much love by AV vendors. more back-story here..

uzzer

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: DONE: Dim the taskbar (set transparency)
« Reply #43 on: April 08, 2009, 09:58:13 AM »
Aha, thanks!