Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • October 28, 2016, 06:46:19 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: PHP  (Read 1300 times)


  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
« on: February 05, 2011, 11:13:05 AM »
I am just starting out with PHP.  I have resorted to doing some custom PHP programming because the plug-INs for a CMS I am using need a little customization.

The question I have is very simple and I am sure PHP programmers can answer this instantly.  I have successfully declared a global PHP variable.  All I need to know how to do for now is how to declare a button or a hyperlink or an input form element such that it can change the assignment of this variable.

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,278
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2011, 03:29:14 PM »
PHP is a server side scripting language. if you only want to change a value (as apposed to submitting the entire form) you'd need to store the value in a hidden input field and then update it with a client side scripting language (typically Java Script).


  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,348
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2011, 03:39:43 PM »
it may seem like there should be a very simple direct answer to your question, but you will have to be a bit more specific about what you are trying to do -- as there are very different ways to interpret your question.