Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 06:25:59 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something  (Read 1961 times)

ClosedIn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« on: January 02, 2011, 05:47:15 AM »
NoClose ist pretty close to a solution of one of my computer problems. A nice small and yet powerful tool.

But:

How can I change the hotkeys from control+something to alt+ctrl+shift+something because all the ctrl+ keys are used already?

Or:

How can I disable the hotkeys of the program completely? If all the windows I close unintendedly all time are happily blocked from closing, I don't use the hotkeys any more - or only if I want to add new windows to be blocked.

Thanks in advance

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,089
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2011, 09:27:30 AM »
The author of NoClose is not likely to read this thread. But of course you have a chance if you can persuade skwire to edit skrommel's NoClose one more time.
However, you may want to check out Dkmy instead:

Quote
Title: Dkmy
Programmer: Ethan
Requester: mouser
Download Version 1.00.00 (2/06/06)

Hide or show the close box of a window to avoid accidental closure
New In This Version: C++ source code included(!).

screenshot.png


"homepage": http://www.donationc...dingSnacks/index.php +scroll almost all down

Yes, this one too is old. But I would be surprised if it doesn't work for you.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 09:31:04 AM by Curt »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,089
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 09:36:27 AM »
and of course there is the payware solution http://www.actualtools.com/windowguard/ that will do what you need.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 09:38:30 AM by Curt »

AndyM

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 09:54:54 AM »
I might be jumping the gun on this since I haven't doublechecked, but it appears that the hotkeys are in the noclose.ini file. 

I don't use the hotkeys, so I assume these two lines from noclose.ini are the default hotkeys:

swap=^!Numpad4
add=^!Numpad6

this is an AutoHotkey script, so these are AutoHotkey key notations.  Check AutoHotkey help for the key notations for the keys you want to use.  Then edit noclose.ini with a text editor like Notepad.


AndyM

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2011, 09:56:26 AM »
Next time I'll check before I post.

Right click on the NoClose tray icon.  Click "Settings"  and the dialog box to set the hotkeys appears.

ClosedIn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2011, 10:43:19 AM »
Next time I'll check before I post.

Right click on the NoClose tray icon.  Click "Settings"  and the dialog box to set the hotkeys appears.

Sure. Thanks. This is obvious. There is a ^ in the NoClose.ini file for "control plus any key" as the hotkey definition. But how is the syntax for alt and shift and altGr? Any idea? Any guess? Some accent or what?

ClosedIn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2011, 10:58:41 AM »
[quote author=AndyM link=topic=25092.msg229626#msg229626 date=1293983694]
add=^!Numpad6

this is an AutoHotkey script, so these are AutoHotkey key notations.  Check AutoHotkey help for the key notations for the keys you want to use.  Then edit noclose.ini with a text editor like Notepad.

[/quote]

Thanks a lot. This is the solution. I found the answer in the autohotkey introduction. alt is "!" and shift is "+" etc.

AndyM

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 616
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NoClose - and how to change hotkeys to alt & something
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2011, 04:36:30 PM »
What's really nice about AutoHotkey is that other people's code is right there so you can make small modifications to suit yourself.