Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 02:57:38 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB  (Read 81155 times)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #150 on: June 03, 2012, 09:38:20 AM »
Hi skwire!

Hi, lilsypha, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.   :D

Is it possible that you might add the ability for multiple filters in the future?

Unfortunately, the way that Snap DB is written would make something like this difficult from a GUI perspective.

timn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #151 on: August 26, 2012, 12:04:16 AM »
Thanks Skywire,
I use SnapDB regularly. It is very good for a few hundred records, I haven't tried anything larger yet.
It is very responsive on my very old laptop.

I created a new DB from a spreadsheet CSV export and ran into a small problem.
The DB contains numbers with commas eg 124,256.
These numbers do not sort in numeric order and are not added up correctly.
I could remove the commas but large numbers are hard to interpret without them.

Any chance of ignoring them in otherwise numeric fields?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #152 on: August 26, 2012, 07:09:57 PM »
I'm glad to hear you're still using the application.  This build allows for the summing of numbers that contain commas and/or dollar signs. As usual, I've done pretty minimal testing so please let me know how it works for you in your environment.

In regards to the sorting issue, it seems to work okay for me.  Can you provide me with a list of numbers that don't sort correctly for you?  Also, which operating system are you using?

Website | Download
v1.3.9 - 2012-08-26
    * Numbers with commas and/or dollar signs in them can now be summed.  (Thanks, timn)

timn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #153 on: August 26, 2012, 11:56:04 PM »
Thanks for the very quick update.
The totals now agree with the spreadsheet that the data came from.

Re sorting numbers
I've tested under XP and W7.
I get the same results on both.
Column 4 ^
1,000
2,000
3,000
500

Also comparisons using the same data
 |Column 4| |Greater than| 499
Gives only the row with 500

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #154 on: August 27, 2012, 12:26:31 PM »
The listview sorting is something that I don't think I can do anything about.  I've tried testing with the various listview sort options available to me but none of them do what you're wanting.  What is boils down to is that, programmatically, something like "1,000" is simply not an integer or a float (decimal point number).  Trying to modify the data on the fly for the purpose of a sort is well outside the scope of Snap DB, IMO.

As for the searching issue, I can try to do something about that.  Stay tuned.

timn

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #155 on: August 30, 2012, 05:33:29 AM »
Ok, thanks for looking into it. I will probably remove the commas.

I have another query about usage.
I have a number of SnapDB databases and I like to use different fonts and window sizes for each.
The only solution I've come up with is to have a directory for each with its own copy of SnapDB.exe and config.ini.
I could use a wrapper to swap config.ini files but that also seems inelegant.
Is there a better way?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #156 on: August 30, 2012, 06:34:37 PM »
Is there a better way?

Yep, there is.  I've been meaning to put these settings directly into the SNP file instead of the config.ini.  I'll add it to my ToDo...   :D

alexsan01

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #157 on: March 19, 2013, 12:27:02 PM »
Hello, skwire.
I've been using SnapDB since 2011 and have contributed with some ideas. I wanted to ask you why is the "Edit record" option greyed out when in "Filter" mode? I often have the need to edit the record i just found but I'm unable to this in "Filter" mode. If this is not possible, is it possible to keep the record selected in "Filter" mode, selected when you leave this mode?

Thank you again for your great applications.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,503
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #158 on: April 10, 2013, 07:51:35 AM »
hi skwire,
I'm just trying this out today:
on resizing the SnapDB window, I've gotten three freezes so far - with the app hogging one full core (I killed/restarted it in between). I seem to be able to reproduce it by resizing window from the right, but also reproduced it dragging from bottom right (possibly dragging any side will work).

So far I can partially recover by changing the focus to another window and back - but SnapDB continues to hog CPU and doesnt respond properly. (I can drop down a menu but not do any more - if I alttab away/back I can drop down a different menu entry but then it freezes again.)

In the screenshot you can see that the info in the statusbar is garbled from resizing.

Screenshot - 2013-04-10 , 12_57_37.png

Everything else seems to be working okay.
Win 7 64bit

(PS you may have missed the post above mine)
Tom

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #159 on: April 10, 2013, 10:15:12 AM »
on resizing the SnapDB window, I've gotten three freezes so far

I can reproduce this by grabbing the right side and shaking the hell out of it but not under normal circumstances.  I'm going to guess the issue is in the Anchor() function that I use for positioning and resizing controls.

I wanted to ask you why is the "Edit record" option greyed out when in "Filter" mode?

Apologies for missing your post, alexsan01.    :(

Short answer: Utter laziness.   :D  Long answer: This might be a bit difficult to explain.  Snap DB databases aren't really databases in the relational sense (they're simple flat files).  When displaying filtered contents, what you're seeing is a new listview of matching results that have no correlation with the non-filtered view.  I haven't sat down and come up with a way to correlate the two.  Does that make any sense?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,503
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #160 on: April 10, 2013, 12:02:21 PM »
on resizing the SnapDB window, I've gotten three freezes so far

I can reproduce this by grabbing the right side and shaking the hell out of it but not under normal circumstances.  I'm going to guess the issue is in the Anchor() function that I use for positioning and resizing controls.

tha's true, not sure how it happened the first time, but I could only reproduce it by messing around with it :-[ i.e. it's fine in everyday use
Tom

alexsan01

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #161 on: April 12, 2013, 10:43:53 AM »
Thank you. Yes it makes sense. I use SnapDB everyday. Just an idea: You could try to add IDs to every record even if they are not displayed on the file and take this ID along with the record when in filter mode so you can know what record to update in the original listview.
Thanks.

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,798
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #162 on: April 24, 2013, 03:19:07 PM »
This probably needs a new thread/program but I will ask any way. Is there any way Snap DB (or one like it) can have a checklist? I mean I am looking for a simple flat file DB with support for a yes/no field.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #163 on: April 24, 2013, 05:08:15 PM »
This probably needs a new thread/program but I will ask any way. Is there any way Snap DB (or one like it) can have a checklist? I mean I am looking for a simple flat file DB with support for a yes/no field.

No, Snap DB does not do this.  However, I'm positive there are a myriad of small "to do list" applications that would probably fit your needs.  Is that something like what you were after?

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,798
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #164 on: April 24, 2013, 06:06:18 PM »
Yes, that's basically what I am after.
 
I know Snap DB doesn't do it. I am trying my best to avoid using one more program filled with to do and other data though. That's why I asked here in the Snap DB thread.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #165 on: April 24, 2013, 09:25:53 PM »
Yes, that's basically what I am after.
I know Snap DB doesn't do it. I am trying my best to avoid using one more program filled with to do and other data though. That's why I asked here in the Snap DB thread.

It really wouldn't take much to create a simple to-do list app with only the minimum of what you're looking for.  Something like:

  • Single column listview with checkboxes
  • Add/edit/delete buttons to add/edit/delete entries.
  • Arrow buttons to manipulate the list.
  • Autosave the list.

Your thoughts?

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,798
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #166 on: April 25, 2013, 10:40:31 AM »
Do you mean a new coding snack? I may request it soon, I will refer to this post if/when I do. Thanks :)

Erekle

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #167 on: November 09, 2013, 07:11:08 AM »
Great thanks for this excellent program.

Just one wish: Is it possible to add multi-line fields (in Table Pro by ZGS this is implemented with combination Ctrl + Enter, but Table Pro does not suppurt unicode :) )?

And one remark. If change the window's size from maximized to arbitrary and then back again - fields for records are no longer occupy the entire window. If reduce again - they become even smaller. This happens with default options and with no file opened too (one time I changed font size to 10, and imported large CSV (nearly 500 lines) and suspected that as cause,  but after restored default options and no changes).
No difference, window is changed by grabbing the bottom right side or with buttons.
OS: XP SP2.


« Last Edit: November 09, 2013, 07:30:03 AM by Erekle »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #168 on: November 09, 2013, 02:00:18 PM »
Hi, Erekle, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.   :D

Great thanks for this excellent program.

You're very welcome.  I'm glad you find it useful.

Just one wish: Is it possible to add multi-line fields (in Table Pro by ZGS this is implemented with combination Ctrl + Enter, but Table Pro does not suppurt unicode :) )?

Unfortunately, due to the limitations of the standard Listview control that AHK uses, multi-line fields are not a possibility.

And one remark. If change the window's size from maximized to arbitrary and then back again - fields for records are no longer occupy the entire window.

Please try this build and let me know if it solves the issue:

Website | Download
v1.4.2 - 2013-11-09
    * Changed resizing routines to, hopefully, avoid a Windows XP bug.
    * SnapDB is now DPI aware.

Erekle

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #169 on: November 09, 2013, 03:31:44 PM »
Yes, problem is solved! :up:
Thank you.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #170 on: November 09, 2013, 03:32:54 PM »
Yes, problem is solved! :up:
Thank you.

Sweet, thanks for reporting back.  =]

Erekle

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #171 on: November 09, 2013, 03:41:18 PM »
 :) ...But program freezes when adding new record, even in new file:


skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,391
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #172 on: November 09, 2013, 03:52:40 PM »
Crap, sorry about that.   :-[

Website | Download
v1.4.3 - 2013-11-09
    ! The Add/Edit record box was not appearing properly.  (Thanks, Erekle)

Erekle

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #173 on: November 09, 2013, 03:59:25 PM »
Yes, now anything is properly!

Erekle

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2011 Release: Snap DB
« Reply #174 on: November 12, 2013, 05:35:17 PM »
It seems, the program adds tween records when duplicate with F5. :)
And deletes 2 records instead of one, if delete with "Del". :(