Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 12:47:43 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Cameras  (Read 3644 times)

scatter5

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Cameras
« on: December 17, 2010, 06:14:57 PM »
has anyone used a Canon T1i or T2i with flipbook?

Renegade

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 12,787
  • Tell me something you don't know...
    • View Profile
    • Renegade Minds
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cameras
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 10:34:57 PM »
I was going to buy the T2i, but went with the Nikon D5000 instead at the advice of a photographer. But no. Haven't used it other than in the store looking at it.
Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker

carbodykits

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cameras
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 01:55:48 AM »
I tried hooking up the T2i Camera, but it does not work for me.

Is it possible to modify the program to make it compatible with the Canon T2i?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cameras
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2011, 01:43:55 PM »
It should be possible in one of two ways.

First, there may be a webcam utility for canon that lets other programs interface with the canon as if it were a webcam.
Second, there may be another way to interface with it.

The main problem is i dont have a canon dslr to test with.
See if you can investigate the first possibility, and let us know.

carbodykits

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cameras
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2011, 03:34:08 AM »
Great! I found a utility program called ExtraWebcam that lets me use the Canon T2i as a web cam.

However, the live view finder is very choppy and it seems to lag (even on playback). It is not smooth as a real time camera.

Is there a setting a need to adjust?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cameras
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2011, 03:37:53 AM »
the preview should not be shoppy.  if it is, capture will be worse.
what resolution are you set at? try going to video format options and changing the resolution of the capture to something smaller.
can you try any other video capture tools or something that comes with ExtraWebcam, does it preview smoothly?

liquidriver

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Cameras
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2011, 10:55:46 AM »
you can use a 8 frames per second camera like the canon 1dMark II
shoot small jpegs.

there may be some small point and shoot cameras that shoot that fast as well.

it will be better than web camera since if you have good lighting you can adjust shutter speed to there are no blurry frames.

too many web cams make blurry photos, very bad quality IMHO.