Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:23:50 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Using images on the taskbar  (Read 2428 times)

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Using images on the taskbar
« on: February 17, 2006, 05:40:33 AM »
Difficult to express this as a Subject line... 

I run WindowBlinds, and a few of the themes that I like imitate the Mac Tiger look, and so they replicate the Spotlight image on the taskbar (see image).  I really dislike it when a Windows machine has an Apple image on the Start button (why not just buy a Mac?), so I always go with themes that have a Windows Start button, and I don't like the Spotlight image either - but I do really love these themes (and I do really love a lot of Mac designs). 

What I would really like is to be able to use the Spotlight image to start FARR.  Is this possible?  Can anyone guide me?


jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using images on the taskbar
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2006, 05:44:58 AM »
Is that a simple image, or a button that really does something?

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using images on the taskbar
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2006, 06:10:30 AM »
It's just an image, but I want to use it as a button - is possible?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Using images on the taskbar
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2006, 09:25:35 AM »
The best i can do is this:
Make you a ahk script that has a invisible button right in the place that image is, and then associate that button's behaviour to launch the program you want. This will take you about 1-2mb of ram (quite a lot for a button ;) ), and I'm not completelly sure that it will work. (windows taskbar tends to not let anything come in front of it :( )