Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 23, 2017, 12:45 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: I just gotta vent  (Read 2090 times)

timns

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I just gotta vent
« on: December 11, 2010, 01:05 PM »
In the name of all that's holy, who put 'Close' next to 'Edit' in the cmd window's menu? What's 'Close' even DOING in the MIDDLE of the menu?  :'(

Sweet cracker sandwich! Just closed two windows in a row when trying to paste...  >:(




mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 37,324
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 01:06 PM »
i must admit that's a bit naff.

timns

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 01:16 PM »
Don't MS have some sort of style guide for menu layouts?

I mean, ok, it happens because I wave the mouse around wildly and click randomly, but come on...


4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,604
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2010, 02:46 PM »
Turn on Quick Edit Mode under Properties->Options then you only need to right-click in the window to paste.  To copy text, left-click drag-select, (ie. highlight), then right-click.

The almost absolute first thing I do on a new install ;)
« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 02:55 PM by 4wd »

timns

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2010, 02:56 PM »
Turn on Quick Edit Mode under Properties->Options then you only need to right-click in the window to paste.  To copy text, left-click drag-select, (ie. highlight), then right-click.

The almost absolute first thing I do on a new install ;)

Nice. Live and learn eh?

Thanks.  :Thmbsup:
« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 03:06 PM by timns »

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,997
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2010, 03:27 PM »
Turn on Quick Edit Mode under Properties->Options then you only need to right-click in the window to paste.  To copy text, left-click drag-select, (ie. highlight), then right-click.

The almost absolute first thing I do on a new install ;)

That's not enabled by default? I've never enabled that and I can right-click the window to paste.

Not sure about highlight and right-click to copy, though.

...

Okay, I just tested: You can right-click the window to paste by default, but you have to enable Quick Edit to copy text as you described.

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,604
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2010, 03:40 PM »
On XP, it's not enabled by default and right-clicking will only popup the edit menu - you still need to select Paste from it.

On 7 it's enabled by default - well put it this way, I don't specifically recall enabling it but hey, I could be wrong - 10 months is a long time :)

Correction: It's the same in Win7, not enabled by default and just opens a popup menu - at least it is in my base W7Ultimate VM.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 03:53 PM by 4wd »

Renegade

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13,241
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2010, 04:32 PM »
+1

Also on CHM help files... It's a PITA.

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,997
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2010, 04:35 PM »
On XP, it's not enabled by default and right-clicking will only popup the edit menu - you still need to select Paste from it.

On 7 it's enabled by default - well put it this way, I don't specifically recall enabling it but hey, I could be wrong - 10 months is a long time :)

Correction: It's the same in Win7, not enabled by default and just opens a popup menu - at least it is in my base W7Ultimate VM.

Ah, I may have misunderstood. So with Quick Edit enabled, right-clicking pastes instantly? I guess that is pretty quick.

So yeah, without it enabled, right-clicking the cmd window brings up a context menu that allows you to select Paste (among other things).

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,604
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: I just gotta vent
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2010, 05:04 PM »
Ah, I may have misunderstood. So with Quick Edit enabled, right-clicking pastes instantly? I guess that is pretty quick.

So yeah, without it enabled, right-clicking the cmd window brings up a context menu that allows you to select Paste (among other things).

Instant paste and faster Select/Copy but yes you lose the Select All, Scroll and Find... features available from the popup.  But since I never used any of those it was a win-win choice for me ;)

I believe any Windows version originally based on NT has it.