Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 09:47:48 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: McAfee Antispyware flags "keyhook.dll"  (Read 2621 times)

cvbusa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
McAfee Antispyware flags "keyhook.dll"
« on: February 16, 2006, 01:12:43 PM »
McAfee Antispyware flags "C:\Program Files\ScreenshotCaptor\KeyHook.dll" - another false positive?



mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: McAfee Antispyware flags "keyhook.dll"
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2006, 01:32:20 PM »
ugh.. frustrating.  definitely a false alarm.

there was another post about this same issue, but it wasnt as popular an antivirus so i just ignored the issue (http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=2110.0)


can you do me a favor and try to rename the file and see if it is still mad at it even with a different name.

i'm really getting sick of these false positives.. i can only imagine how many people it has scared off.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: McAfee Antispyware flags "keyhook.dll"
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2006, 07:39:45 PM »
ps.
i've confirmed that the latest mcaffee update does flag the file as a "possibly unwanted file"
at least it doesn't assert that it knows it's a virus, so i take back my hatred of mcafee.

i have however, updated a new version of screenshot captor with the dll's packed so as to avoid the message.

thanks for alerting me to the problem cvbusa!