Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 09:54:22 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: UNFINISHED: run program/.bat file when computer comes out of idle (move cursor)  (Read 11683 times)
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 22, 2010, 07:57:24 AM »

is there a way to schedule to run a program when windows xp comes out of idle when i move my cursor, to restore all minimized windows, un-hide taskbar, un-hide desktop icons


i found scheduled tasks works to run my hide taskbar, hide desktop icons, show desktop quicklaunch shortcut
Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2010, 09:10:34 AM »

Try this:
http://appsapps.info/idlestart.php
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,027



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2010, 09:12:10 AM »


That would do the opposite of what he wants...it will run stuff when the PC is idle rather than when the pc comes out of an idle state.
Logged

awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2010, 09:27:02 AM »

You're right... I mis-read... ignore me!
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2010, 10:20:36 AM »

bunsack

Do you use a screensaver? One possibility is to use the parameter sent by Windows to the default screensaver and run a program when that happens (i.e. that occurs when the computer goes idle, and when it comes out of idle state).  Thats easy enough to do, but you would sacrifice having a different screensaver...?
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2010, 02:25:02 AM »

i set the dir path in regedit to run 1 prog to hide taskbar, is there a way to tack on more programs to this screensaver, - add a space and a comma and the path to a second prog and do the same to the next in the reg key?
Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2010, 02:34:06 AM »

Let me see if I understand...

You currently run a program (in place of a screensaver) that activates (when the screen saver normally would).  This program (it seems) simply hides the taskbar?

What you would like to do, is for the above to continue, BUT, when the computer comes out of 'idleness', i.e. someone shakes the mouse or presses a key etc, you would then like 'another' program to run?

Is this correct?

Can you tell me exactly what registery entry you have set to activate the hide taskbar program?

Thanks
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2010, 03:20:07 AM »

i set the screensaver in the registry to run a prog to hide the taskbar completely , wat i need is to be able to tack on 2 more programs this same way of editing the screensaver.exe reg key,


also i need to be able to re-run these three prog/shtcuts when comp comes out of idleness, to reverse the hidetaskbar/ showdesktop(restore windows)/ and hidedesktopicons.exe

Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2010, 03:33:35 AM »

Why not have a screensaver program (that is activated by the registery key you change) that will run as many programs as you like when it activates, and then gives you the option to run programs when it ends (i.e. when the program comes out of idleness?  You can have as many programs you want run then, and won't need to update the registery.

Would this be better?
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2010, 04:09:44 AM »

what kind of screensaver program and how would i tack on more progs: there's only one path to the prog i could run in the scrnsaver.exe regedit key
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 10:19:46 AM by bunsack » Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2010, 06:17:14 AM »

I can create you a program you run as a screensaver, that will allow you to run multiple applications  So, your registery setting will run this program, which in turn can run as many other programs as you like?

Make sense?
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2010, 09:57:44 AM »

bunsack - try this - I use it all the time for all sorts of things...
« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 11:54:25 AM by joiwind » Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2010, 05:10:25 AM »

Before I go sinning ahead too much, this is what I've done so far:



* ss.bmp (365.6 KB, 525x707 - viewed 330 times.)
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2010, 05:13:07 AM »

Sorry, I meant 'Spinning' ahead..

So, this program above you would run as the screen saver.  Then, to this program itself, you can set a number of programs to run when this is activated (i.e. the screensaver starts) and also run applications when this program terminates (i.e. the screen saver ends, for example moving the mouse). I think this is what you were originally asking for?  As you can see, you can add as many programs as you like to this to run at those points.

If this IS what you want, let me know and I'll carry on.

Thanks
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2010, 10:20:46 AM »

that is spot on, ty
Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2010, 05:11:07 AM »

Ok, try this for starters. 

Just click run the executable and answer the questions to it installing the screensaver, and to setting as default.

Once installed, you'll be able to go to 'Diplay Properties' on the desktop and go to 'settings' in the Screensaver TAB to add/remove programs to run.

Set your screensaver time, and hopefully this should then run at that point.  Also, running all the programs in the top half of the settings.

once it comes out of 'Idleness', i.e. a key is pressed or a mouse oved then the programs on the bottom are run (I think this was what you needed).

If it all works I'll tidy up and create a little help file.

J.

* InstallRunOnIdle.exe (180 KB - downloaded 183 times.)
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2010, 07:06:53 AM »

currently it only ran the 1st prog i added;

i added 3 to top and bottom box

it does not re-run that first prog after i move my mouse/press a key

when it initially runs the screensaver it displays a black rectangular box (background black w/ white text 'Idle')

this does not disappear after i move my mouse



Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: November 30, 2010, 07:12:32 AM »

Ok, just as an experiment, move the mouse a bit slower.... 

let me knwo what happens..
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: November 30, 2010, 07:36:20 AM »

currently it only ran the 1st prog i added;

i added 3 to top and bottom box

it does not re-run that first prog after i move my mouse/press a key

when it initially runs the screensaver it displays a black rectangular box (background black w/ white text 'Idle')

this does not disappear after i move my mouse

Hmm, it runs all the programs for me (not just the first one).  Have you tried highlighting the program thats not working in the list and clicking 'Test' to see if it runs ok?

I changed the sensitivity of the mouse.


The idea of the little box coming up is to simply tell you that the pc is idle, (and helps detecting Mouse Movement!)


Try this newer version.


* InstallRunOnIdle.exe (180 KB - downloaded 168 times.)
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bunsack
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: November 30, 2010, 08:34:29 AM »

sry - correction to last post, it ran all three progs fine, but did not to re-run the 2 other progs after coming out of idle

the new version ran all three also

when i ran it, and moved my cursor,

then it ran my first prog on my list 2 times which means it ran the hide-my-taskbar prog three times (ran once (hidden taskbar).. ran again (taskbar not hidden(after coming out of idle), rthen immediately foloowing the second execution of the hide taskbar it ran it again and hid my taskbar again      (the 2 other shrtcuts and progs were untouched)

then i got an error

'I/O error on 104'

Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: November 30, 2010, 09:21:03 AM »

Ok, think I have found the issue...  I'm off hone in a few mins, and am not in work tomorrow.  I'll try and sort out later tomorrow or the following day.
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bobban
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: March 09, 2011, 08:34:43 AM »

did you ever finish with the version that dosent restart the idle process?

Cheers!
Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2011, 08:47:45 AM »

Blimey, I hardly remember what I did this morning, let alone what I was doing nearly 5 months ago!!

Umm, not even sure where I put the source code for this, I'll see if I can find it, complile it up and put it back on here....

Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 111



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: March 09, 2011, 09:31:38 AM »

This is the latest version...  Definetly works for me, I'd be interested in any feedback....


* InstallRunOnIdle.exe (180 KB - downloaded 194 times.)
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
bobban
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: March 09, 2011, 02:26:45 PM »

it wont install for me.

It says Installing RunOnIdle on a small gray box, then noting happens, its just stays there.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.045s | Server load: 0.08 ]