Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 01, 2014, 07:29:15 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Problem with icons  (Read 2610 times)
nextogen
Participant
*
Posts: 5


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 20, 2010, 12:51:00 PM »

Hello

Im having a problem with icons. FARR does not display anything other than general application icons and file types in results area, and has trouble correctly rendering interface when plugin is called up.



* iconprob_2.png (9.57 KB, 495x464 - viewed 117 times.)

* iconprob_3.png (14.23 KB, 495x464 - viewed 118 times.)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,185



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2010, 01:00:58 PM »

wow that's strange.. what version of windows are you using?
if you reboot the computer is the effect the same?

Oh! I just remembered something..
if you go to the Display Options tab, at the bottom you will see "Tweaks" box,
can you try experimenting with "Max Size for Large Icon Display"
and see if that has any effect?

you probably have to exit and restart FARR to see the effect of any change.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2010, 01:02:36 PM by mouser » Logged
nextogen
Participant
*
Posts: 5


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2010, 08:19:00 PM »

Tried tweaks and restart. Didnt help. Using win7 64bit ver6.1.

Could permissions be the problem or something similar?
Logged
hamradio
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 571



Amateur Radio Guy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2010, 10:31:59 PM »

Did you try to rebuild your icon cache?

http://www.sevenforums.co...9-icon-cache-rebuild.html
Logged

Carroll - HamRadioUSA
nextogen
Participant
*
Posts: 5


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2010, 08:14:41 AM »

Did you try to rebuild your icon cache?
http://www.sevenforums.co...9-icon-cache-rebuild.html
Nope, that didn't do it ether.

Tried reinstalling, clean install and install on secondary partition... Same thing. It also happens on my laptop so it has to be some glitch or incompatibility with win version.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,185



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2010, 11:29:07 PM »

that is really strange.. could it be you have some unusual non-standard setting for your icon sizes in windows? or some security program that could be doing this? if you switch to small icon detail view in farr do they show then?
Logged
nextogen
Participant
*
Posts: 5


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2010, 09:19:11 PM »

that is really strange.. could it be you have some unusual non-standard setting for your icon sizes in windows? or some security program that could be doing this?
i did tweak appearance a bit, but its just the same when i reset it to microsofts default settings. i am runing eset but highly doubt that has anything to do with it.

if you switch to small icon detail view in farr do they show then?
nope Sad

....

i encountered another problem so ill just ask here: whan i try to run an AVI video it opens with WMP instead MPC-HC (my preferable and associated player for that filetype). is there a fix for that?

thank you for your time
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,185



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2010, 02:25:10 PM »

sounds like a general problem with setting the default application to open certain files.
you should be able to change that by right clicking and saying "open with.." and then setting a new default.
Logged
sa_99
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2010, 01:32:19 AM »

Where there are based on UTF8 "$$u1" ?
I use non-english Windows operating system.
Thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.033s | Server load: 0.06 ]