Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 21, 2014, 07:08:54 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Settings not being saved  (Read 11163 times)
naveed
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 12


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: December 09, 2010, 12:52:35 PM »

I tried starting FARR as administrator, changed the skin and closed it. Ran it again. This time the setting was saved.

A workaround would be to start FARR from scheduled tasks as administrator, so it doesn't require you to approve running the program. You have to check "Run with highest priveleges" to make it run as administrator. I just tried this and it seems to work. I set the trigger to start 15 seconds after login. The delay is not necessary, but should help general boot time a bit.
Logged
risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: December 09, 2010, 01:41:55 PM »

I have UAC turned off already.  And even with the Admin switch turned on, FARR still doesn't save settings.  I'm considering wiping the folder and reinstall FARR without my old ini files.

Update: I did fresh install of FARR and everything is fine now.  Maybe it was just a corrupted file somewhere.

thanks for all the help.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2010, 12:11:45 AM by risingeil » Logged
sturza-br
Participant
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: December 14, 2010, 07:22:57 PM »

I myself am having this problem, too, with w7. Did fresh install and it didnt solve. In xp, farr used to work fine, but unfortunately on w7, it doesnt. Help will be welcome. Regards
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: December 14, 2010, 07:44:19 PM »

ok seems like it's not a completely isolated case, so a new test version will be out before end of week that should identify the cause of the problem and the fix.

sturza, did you copy your old config files from your windows xp install? perhaps that is the common thread?
Logged
sturza-br
Participant
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: December 14, 2010, 07:54:33 PM »

Hi, friends ! W7 may be very cool, but some things about it do really suck ! I succeeded in solving the problem myself by simply running FARR as administrator. Not only the problem with the settings on FARR but many others on other progs i succeeded. My advice is try running FARR as administrator first to see whether it doesnt help, and then go to the more complex steps toward the solution. Anyway, moderators helped me a lot with their suggestions. Regards, thanks and best wishes
ok seems like it's not a completely isolated case, so a new test version will be out before end of week that should identify the cause of the problem and the fix.

sturza, did you copy your old config files from your windows xp install? perhaps that is the common thread?

hi, friend ! No, my w7 installation is complely independent of those from xp. Anyway, as i posted before, i solved my problem by simply running FARR as administrator and i think nothing else will be needed for those doing a fresh install. thanks a lot and regards. best wishes
Logged
Harkonenn
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: December 16, 2010, 08:50:44 AM »

I just wanted to chime in here - I'm running FARR 2.93.01 on Win7 64-bit and was having a similar problem with settings not being saved. Specifically, I was trying to disable the CTRL + Spacebar hotkey because it interfered with Photoshop's Zoom tool hotkey. I set the PORTABLE=TRUE flag in ConfigDir.ini, set FARR to run as Administrator and the combination of the two seems to have worked. I was able to disable the default CTRL + Spacebar hotkey. Still looking forward to another build  Wink
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: December 16, 2010, 01:59:25 PM »

Appreciate all the reports.. i dont know why one should have to run it as Administrator but this is surely a clue of some sort.

For those who are experiencing this problem, I have created a debug version and uploaded the exe only, here:
http://www.donationcoder....alpha/FindAndRunRobot.zip

When you want to do is run that, then exit it so that it will attempt to save your settings.
You will want to run this as NON-administrator or whatever scenario the settings are NOT being saved, as that's what we want to know about.

And then you need to find the debugout.txt file; on windows 7 this *MAY* be somewhere in your MyDocuments area.. or in the application directory, or i guess it's even possible that you will have a hard time finding it if the source of this problem is confusion about the operating system and where such files should be saved by the program.

Once you find the debugout.txt file, send it to me (mouser@donationcoder.com), or open it in text editor and look for the lines with "IN SaveSettings.").

Let's see what it tells us.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2010, 10:42:04 AM by mouser » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: December 19, 2010, 10:41:40 AM »

Anyone?
Logged
Harkonenn
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: December 20, 2010, 07:33:22 AM »

I just ran the debug version and emailed the debug file to you. I hope this helps!
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: March 23, 2011, 01:08:17 AM »

Anyone?
I wanted to try it, but couldn't find the debug-version. I am experiencing this problem as well. This is annoying, because I need to search a few custom folders. Adding them after every system reboot is... well, annoying.

Is there already a solution?


BiB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: March 23, 2011, 01:16:33 AM »

Did you install FARR using the installer? Or did you move settings from another computer? What Operating System are you using it? Did you install it to anyplace unusual?  Did you modify the ConfigDir.ini file?
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: March 23, 2011, 01:37:06 AM »

Did you install FARR using the installer?
Yes.

[...] did you move settings from another computer?
No.

What Operating System are you using it?
Windows 7 SP1

Did you install it to anyplace unusual?
I don't think so. It is here: C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot

Did you modify the ConfigDir.ini file?
Didn't touch it.

Sorry for not giving more information initially.


BiB
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: March 23, 2011, 03:58:48 AM »

Figured out that running it in compatibility moder or running it as administrator (as mentioned above) helps. But both solutions are not very practical, since on every system startup I must confirm that I allow this program (Windows security alert).

What now?


BiB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: March 23, 2011, 07:13:11 AM »

is it creating a folder and FindAndRunRobot.ini file in your documents directory under DonationCoder\FindAndRunRobot?
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: March 23, 2011, 08:09:40 AM »

is it creating a folder and FindAndRunRobot.ini file in your documents directory under DonationCoder\FindAndRunRobot?
No. Interestingly, DcUpdater has done it. This path exists:

C:\Users\[USERNAME]\Documents\DonationCoder\DcUpdater\DcUpdater.ini


BiB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: March 23, 2011, 08:16:20 AM »

So i think we have narrowed down the cause.. for whatever reason its not realizing it should (or not able to) create the FindAndRunRobot.ini file in your documents area.  I'll reupload the debug version so we can see where its TRYING to save to and whats going wrong.. though i really thought i added code to report such failures and let the user know when it failed to save settings.
Logged
oblivion
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 354


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: March 23, 2011, 01:57:05 PM »

Figured out that running it in compatibility moder or running it as administrator (as mentioned above) helps. But both solutions are not very practical, since on every system startup I must confirm that I allow this program (Windows security alert).

The best way round this seems to be to use TaskScheduler to start the program rather than the usual method. You can then tell it to start with admin rights and NOT have to click a UAC prompt.

There's a post somewhere (with respect to Everything, a program with similar issues with Vista and 7) that I can probably find if it's helpful.
Logged

-- bests, Tim

...this space unintentionally left blank.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: March 23, 2011, 02:03:44 PM »

a better fix is probably to use the ConfigDir.ini file to tell FARR someplace it can write it's settings file to.  but there must be some reason this is happening -- some permission failure somewhere.
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: April 01, 2011, 07:30:51 AM »

Risking to be a pest, but is there any solution to the problem in sight? smiley


BiB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: April 01, 2011, 10:11:01 AM »

I apologize -- it's been a busy month.  Let me upload a debug version of FARR for you today to test -- it will report when and where it is trying to load and save it's settings files and if it thinks it failed -- that should tell us what we need to know.
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: April 07, 2011, 05:29:05 PM »

I apologize -- it's been a busy month.  Let me upload a debug version of FARR for you today to test -- it will report when and where it is trying to load and save it's settings files and if it thinks it failed -- that should tell us what we need to know.
Now I was gone for a few days. smiley Where can I find the debug-version?


BiB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: April 08, 2011, 01:13:51 PM »

Ok try this, it's the exe only: http://www.donationcoder..../beta/FindAndRunRobot.zip

Unpack it over your existing FindAndRunRobot.exe and run it.

It should create a debugout.txt file in your documents \donationcoder\findandunrobot directory or something like that.
I guess what you want to do is run FARR, change a setting, and then exit.
And then check out that debugout.txt file and search for "IN SaveSettings"
Logged
BigBonsai
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: April 08, 2011, 02:10:57 PM »

It should create a debugout.txt file in your documents \donationcoder\findandunrobot directory or something like that.
No, it didn't. BUT it gives me a message now when I want to save. It says:
[copy or print]
Error Failed to move backup from C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\FindAndRunRobot.ini to C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\FindAndRunRobot.ini.bak

Are we getting closer? smiley


BiB
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: April 08, 2011, 02:31:04 PM »

yes we sure are..
the main question is.. why is it trying to work with a settings file in C:\Program Files\ if you are on Win7.  That is the heart of the problem.

Do you have a configdir.ini file in your C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\ directory? can you paste here the first few lines in that file?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: April 08, 2011, 02:44:07 PM »

And how did it get installed into C:\Program Files\ on windows 7? It should have installed into C:\Program Files (x86)..
It's almost as if it doesn't know its running on Windows 7..
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.03 ]