Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 05:57:14 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Nitro updating is too clever for me  (Read 1971 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Nitro updating is too clever for me
« on: November 12, 2010, 08:02:43 AM »
Sometimes I get the feeling certain software authors don't use their own programs!

Example:

1) Feature: auto-updating
2) Updating file is downloaded to hidden temporary system folder
3) Program must be removed before updating!
> =
How the x-rated am I supposed to update?

The present sinner is Nitro:


PDF2010-11-10_2016.gif

PDF2010-11-10_201712.gif

PDF2010-11-10_201740.gif


Such updating procedure is too clever for me!
-so now I am running a (updated) Nitro without the OCR that I've paid so much for!  
 :tellme:
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 08:16:12 AM by Curt »

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2010, 08:17:24 AM »
I just downloaded the new version from my Nitro account page.
And that worked, hope that helps.
I just have Nitro 6-whatever, not the OCR version.

I received a letter about the update,
but Nitro will not update itself through it's own update command.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2010, 08:29:26 AM »
.. Nitro will not update itself through it's own update command.

Mine would, so I guess you may have a collision with your anti-malware settings?

--

So, I have a Nitro account page? Okaaay... I will have to go and look for it!  :-[

--

Maybe I owe to some readers to tell that Nitro is charging for support. One will have to search their forum for answers.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 08:37:53 AM »
If you registered it, you should have an account.

http://www.nitropdf....rt/support_login.asp

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 03:54:10 PM »
-wow, Firefox even remembered my login; so evidently I have been there before. Thanks, cmpm, I am downloading the proper OCR version right now :-)

Renegade

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 13,220
  • Tell me something you don't know...
    • View Profile
    • Renegade Minds
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2010, 08:25:21 PM »
I tried Nitro out, uninstalled it, and the stuff just wouldn't go away... Grrr...

Anyways, I'm using Acrobat now anyways and I have some different OCR software - I.R.I.S.
Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2010, 10:05:39 PM »
1st hit from google (remove nitro pdf) on how to remove Nitro.

http://forums.techar...software/1194404.htm

Might work, but that first link is a direct download of a zip file.
Don't know what is in it, so be careful.
I didn't download or try the other suggestions cause I don't need to.
Just FYI, or anyone.

Hope it worked for you Curt.

edit- I meant to add that when I click check for updates, it always said it was up to date.
Even when I knew there was an update. So I don't know why it didn't find the correct update.
Of course now that I've updated manually, it says 'up to date'.
Have to wait and see when the next update comes out if it fixed itself.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2010, 08:56:17 AM by cmpm »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Nitro updating is too clever for me
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2010, 12:17:03 PM »
"always up to date", yes, many sites are using such tactics in order to save on traffic. It WILL eventually tell you about the new version, but it will wait for quite some time.

And Thank You, yes, my problem was solved; they gave me a new license key.

About having problems when removing Nitro: Normally there are no leftovers worth mentioning; the problem usually comes from Word and other products with a Nitro addon. Nitro's uninstaller really should tell the user about this.