Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 03:22:10 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)  (Read 6756 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« on: October 22, 2010, 09:18:20 PM »
I'd love to hear reports from *existing* BrowserTraySwitch users regarding this new beta:

I've tried to improve detection and switching among some browsers, and i want to make sure i didn't break anything.

docster

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2010, 04:57:44 PM »
Looks good here, amigo.  My "normal" default is Firefox, with Opera and IE also run through BTS.  Installation and configuration of the beta were smooth, as have been the transitions to and from each browser.  Nicely done.

Now all I have to do is quiet the internal grammatical tempest spawned by my using the term, "'normal' default"....
« Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 05:03:01 PM by docster »

amisay

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 05:34:12 AM »
Hi,

I'am trying the new beta release on my computer (Windows XP Pro SP3) and there is a little issue.
There is no problems with profiles but on my computer when I switch from one profile to another the icon displayed in the system tray doesn't update and the profile selected in the right click context menu stay the same (always the last profile saved).

Example with my computer :
I have two browsers IE8 (first profile) and Opera (second and last profile).
If IE8 is the default browser, I have IE8's icon displayed in the system tray and Opera's profile is selected in the right click context menu.

If Opera is the default browser, I have IE8's icon displayed in the system tray and Opera's profile is selected in the right click context menu.

I hope that my message will help you to improve your software !  :P

Best regards,
James Moore

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, 03:22:19 PM »
Hi James,

Sorry for the delayed reply.  I've seen this happen before, it's when BTS has a hard time figuring out which browser is currently set.
One thing you could try is letting the browsers re-assert themselves as default, and then re-save their profiles from the BTS tray.
Can you tell me if that has any efffect?

amisay

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2011, 05:17:50 AM »
Hi,

Yes the issue is resolved !  :D

Thank you very much for the support  :)

Best regards,
James

amisay

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 06:00:11 AM »
OOOPS!!!  :tellme:

The tip above works on my first computer with IE8 and Opera 9.64 but not on my second computer with IE8  and Opera 10.63 !
BrowserTraySwitch is unable to detect Opera 10.63 as my default browser !

Best regards,  :huh:
James

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2011, 08:52:57 PM »
ill examine opera 10 and see if something has changed.

genieautravail

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2011, 12:21:58 PM »
Hi,

I have a suggestion for a new feature  ;D :

Can you add a "blank" profile (no default browser on the computer) to your software ?
I would like this feature because today more and more programs open websites during setup and I'am tired to have to close the browser each time.
With this feature, I would like to switch to the "blank profile" before installing programs and switch back to the default browser of my choice after installing programs.
It would be useful too with GOTD software !
I don't know if it's possible to not have default browser on the computer, it's only an idea !  :P

Sorry for my english, I'am french.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2011, 01:19:46 AM »
this is a good idea actually -- to be able to set a NO-DEFAULT browser, i will look into it.

genieautravail

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2011, 08:34:19 AM »
Some news ???  :P

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2011, 06:33:33 AM »
not yet but maybe the best solution is to install a program like Browser Chooser and then use BrowserTraySwitch to memorize it as one of its known browsers.  Then you can switch to it when you want to be asked when a url opens.

genieautravail

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2011, 07:00:07 AM »
Hi mouser,

I have perhaps a solution for no-default brower : Dud  :)

What is Dud ?
Dud is a free executable that does absolutely nothing, you can found more infos and link to download Dud on this page http://www3.telus.net/_/dud/

Just drop Dud in the folder of BrowserTraySwitch and add a profile to set Dud as a browser !  :P

If you make your own executable, don't forget to find a nice name and a nice icon for the exe... After all it will be a new brower on the market, a browser with an unique feature : does absolutely nothing  :P

What do you thing about this ?  ;D

amisay

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2011, 07:05:05 AM »
Hello mouser,

I would like to know if the bug with Opera 10 is fixed ?  :-\

Cheers

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,975
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: BrowsterTraySwitch v2.06.01 beta (oct 22, 2010)
« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2011, 05:30:47 PM »
i havent updated BTS recently --i'll have to try it with Opera 10.