Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 12:13:18 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Program in RDP-Session  (Read 5996 times)

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Program in RDP-Session
« on: September 27, 2010, 12:23:41 PM »
Hello,

I want to use Screenshot Captor to capture screens on a computer, on which an RDP-session is running.
It works properly, when started directly by the user. If started automatically by the task-scheduler (Windows 7) a blank screen is being saved. Do you have an idea, why?

Regards,
Felix

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 03:28:06 PM »
Hi felix,

I think this issue has been raised before but i don't remember if it was ever resolved; it seems like it could be an issue with insignificant permissions.  I do remember there was one security program that was causing this also.  Perhaps if the task scheduler started instance was told to run as admin?

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2010, 12:04:57 PM »
Hi Mouser,

unfortunately the RDP-user already has admin-rights. Therefore this did not help. If you find something else, please remember me.

Regards,
Felix

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2010, 12:10:03 PM »
Quote
unfortunately the RDP-user already has admin-rights.


yes but you said that the problem only occurs when started by the task scheduler -- what i was wondering is if the task scheduler is starting it with reduced permissions.

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2010, 12:45:20 PM »
Yes, the task scheduler started it with the current user´s account, which has admin rights. Now I also tested it with another user, which has admin rights, and got the blank screen again.

Felix

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2010, 07:30:31 PM »
strange.  anyone have any clues? one thing im not clear about is the interaction between startup mode and RDP.  is it that it works fine no matter what if you are using it from local machine, but if you RDP in, then it gives blank screens unless the RDP user starts SC manually after logging in?  or am i getting that wrong?

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2010, 02:24:35 PM »
yes, strange, isn´t it?

As I don´t have a screen installed there, I only run the computer with an RDP-session. But even in the RDP session I am able to start the program myself directly and everything works correctly. The problem occus only, when started by the tas scheduler. By the way: meantime I tested another task scheduler by a third party, and effect is the same: blank screen

Interesting is also, what I now found out: When last time I accessed the RDP session by teamviewer (third party remote control software) and not by windows remote desktop, later screenshot captor is being started by task scheduler and works!

Thanks for your thoughts,
Felix

Eóin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2010, 02:29:52 PM »
Yes, the task scheduler started it with the current user´s account, which has admin rights.

But is UAC coming into play? Chances are it's not actually getting admin rights.

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2010, 12:21:11 PM »
But is UAC coming into play? Chances are it's not actually getting admin rights.

How can I check that? Task scheduler only let´s me choose which user to start the program with. I chose one, who has admin rights and told task scheduker the password for that user.

Eóin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2010, 01:44:07 PM »
I tried a quick test with an application here, it started the app as Admin only if I ticked the "Run with highest privileges" box.

TaskSch.png

That might help.

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2010, 01:24:05 PM »
No, unfortunately this did not help. The saved screens remained blank.

But thanks for your help.

Felix

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,725
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2010, 09:16:34 PM »
I could be way wrong here, but I thought the screen/account was locked when a PC is being accessed remotely via RDP. If so, would it have anything to do with that?


felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2010, 12:56:29 AM »
Perhaps my note some day ago could lead to the problem:
Why is everything working correctly, when last time the RDP session was accessed by teamviewer and not by windows remote desktop?

Perhaps this third-party-software prevents the screen from being locked, while no user is logged in?

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,296
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2010, 10:58:50 AM »
Any chance you can clarify "Blank Screen"? Is it just blank white, blank desktop colored, or captured app window with a blank client area?

I haven't gotten around to trying out SSC but I work with RDP extensively and that bit of (blank) detail has been bugging me.

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2010, 11:32:41 AM »
If I am connected to the RDP session I am able to work with screenshot captor and save the screens I see. size i.e. 182 KB. If I am not logged in and want to have the screen saved for documentation purposes I only get a white screen saved (absolutely nothing on it), size 6 KB.

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,296
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2010, 12:19:53 PM »
Ah! So you're looking to automate the taking of screenshots in a disconnected session...Which may or may not have a screensaver running that could/will queer the whole deal.

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2010, 02:20:19 PM »
Interesting idea, I will test to prevent the screensaver from starting. Thanks for the idea. Haven´t thought of that yet.

DeVamp

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • Let the coding begin :-)
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2010, 02:54:51 PM »
Could it perhaps be that the task bar scheduler doesn't have "log on interactively" or what it is called.

I know that for services on windows 2K3 or 2K8 server it could make a difference.

But I don't know for scheduler tasks.

HTH

felixhn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2010, 12:22:13 PM »
The screensaver wasn´t the reason. The scheduler has "log on with this user account:", but I already filled that correctly. Windows version is Windows 7 ultimate.

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Program in RDP-Session
« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2010, 09:05:33 PM »
Either disable IPv6 in your network card configuration or set it up properly. Seems to work wonders with any application that uses network connectivity...especially with Win Vista, Win 2008 and Win 7.

If you are wondering what IPv6 is, I can tell you that you do not have such a network.

How to do the disabling? Read the following link.

[offtopic]
When installing the Microsoft Exchange server (2007) software on a 2008 Server in a non-IPv6 network, Microsoft itself suggests that disabling IPv6 is the first thing to do if you want to install trouble-free.