Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 19, 2014, 11:50:41 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: settings cannot be saved  (Read 3663 times)
nlx3513
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: September 27, 2010, 05:36:31 AM »

Hi,

after changing some preferences and trying to accept time, 2 windows pop up:
first one : ERROR:settings could not be saved
second one: cannot create file <path> ScreenshotCaptor.ini. The system cannot fines the path specified.

The weird thing is that the file screenshotcaptor.ini is nowhere on my pc......
Im running windows 7

Any ideas would be helpfull

Erik
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,238



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 09:23:30 AM »

the file should be saved in your documents folders under subdirectory DonationCoder\ScreenshotCaptor

does it say the specific path it is trying to save it to and failing?
Logged
nlx3513
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 09:41:02 AM »

It's def not there.
the path give is home$\username\Mydocuments\DonationCoder\ScreenshotCaptor\ScreenshotCaptor.ini

The directory is (most likely) on a company network disk where certain read\write access apply. How can I overcome this?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,238



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 10:02:28 AM »

that makes sense.
ok easy to overcome, edit the configdir.ini file in the screenshot captor program directory, and follow instructions there to give it a new place to save the file.
Logged
nlx3513
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 10:33:32 AM »

Great, that worked like a charm!

cheers
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,238



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2010, 11:01:38 AM »

 Thmbsup
Logged
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 436


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2012, 08:29:00 PM »

Same thing happened here, a new job, new PC, new redirected folders, and I was setting up SSC offline... thank goodness for Search!  (And Mouser! Wink)
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.031s | Server load: 0.17 ]