Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 01, 2014, 07:23:33 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Highlighting rectangle  (Read 6963 times)
DeVamp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 97



Let the coding begin :-)

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 31, 2010, 06:23:51 AM »

Hi there,

I have the following that's disturbing me:

When I use the Highlighting rectangle, it places a box over the screenshot.
You can perfectly set the transparency, but it fades out the text underneath it.

Maybe you need to split it up in 2 parts:

- highlight a part of the screenshot. (blending mode = overlay)
- cover a part of the screenshot. (blaning mode : normal)

The only difference between both modes are the blending of the object.
And for highlight, it actually needs to fill the lighter pixels with the highlight color, not all pixels.

IF you know photoshop, you know you can change the blending modes between layers.
here are quick details: http://www.freetimefoto.c...m/photoshop_blending_mode

Hope I am clear enough.

In attachment i've added a screenshot from SSC end one from Snagit (that I used to use :p )
So you see the difference it makes.


* highlight_snagit.png (6.82 KB, 272x259 - viewed 243 times.)

* highlight_SSC.png (6.02 KB, 270x312 - viewed 237 times.)
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 06:25:47 AM by DeVamp » Logged
daddydave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 818



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 03:47:36 PM »

Aha! This was on my round tuit list of things to ask about as well, although I wouldn't have been nearly as articulate in asking about it. The highlighter built into the Snipping Tool built into Vista/Win7 does this, and I wonder if there is a way to make Screenshot Captor do this already, just not by default.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2010, 04:03:20 PM »

yes i need to do this.. it's been asked for in the past. i will try.
Logged
DeVamp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 97



Let the coding begin :-)

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2010, 04:10:25 PM »

Take your time, you probably hae stuff enough todo. :-)

I just wanted to describe it as clear as possible.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2010, 04:23:02 PM »

Actually yes it does help because it gives me a tip on how to best implement the effect  thumbs up
Logged
dluby
Charter Member
***
Posts: 179


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2010, 02:13:37 AM »

Yes I like this suggestion, it looks like a much better implementation of highlighting.
Logged
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2010, 11:25:20 AM »

I also support this suggestion because the "highlighters" of some other screenshotprograms look much better and do a real "highlight" and not a blur with a lightyellow colour.
Sometimes I take screenshots with "screenshot captor" an do some highlights with "greenshot".


* Test2.png (39.63 KB, 356x270 - viewed 248 times.)
Logged

Ralf
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2010, 04:25:02 AM »

Hi mouser,

have you thought about this suggestion?
Is its possible to implement this feature?
Logged

Ralf
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2010, 09:41:52 AM »

yes it is possible, and yes i will implement it.. it's high on my todo list but i can't say exactly when.
Logged
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2010, 12:58:35 PM »

Great, I'm curious about it.
Logged

Ralf
DeVamp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 97



Let the coding begin :-)

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2011, 08:03:14 AM »

Any update on this feature?  tellme tellme tellme tellme tellme
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2011, 12:28:07 PM »

Haven't done it yet.. i'll try to make it part of my march update madness.
Logged
DeVamp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 97



Let the coding begin :-)

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2011, 02:50:28 PM »

 Thmbsup Great

But NO pressure meant, but just keeping the tought in the head cheesy
Logged
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2011, 05:39:39 AM »

Is this topic still on todo list?
Logged

Ralf
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2011, 03:24:24 PM »

I haven't yet gotten to this, but I have started work improving the graphics object stuff, and this is absolutely on my list.. Hopefully in the next month it will be implemented.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2011, 04:22:32 PM »

Fixed for next release  thumbs up
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2011, 07:56:27 PM »

I'd appreciate some test reports on the beta version:
http://www.donationcoder....ScreenshotCaptorSetup.exe

Note that you may need to select a new blend mode for the highlighting box to see the improved overlay, since default may be set to something else for you.
Logged
daddydave
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 818



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2011, 02:49:25 PM »

Works for me:)  Thmbsup


* Screenshot - 9_5_2011 , 3_47_25 PM.png (3.48 KB, 444x139 - viewed 149 times.)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2011, 02:56:50 PM »

Thanks for the report.  thumbs up

After a while maybe we can determine that we really only need one of those blending modes and that i can either get rid of the options for blending mode and force it to that, or just have a checkbox to toggle between previous and new blend modes, rather than have that current combo box with lots of choices.
Logged
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2011, 07:30:50 AM »

Hi Mouser,

thank you for this really great feature!

I've compared the blend methods, and I think "normal" and "average" give the same results.
Also "and", "minimum", "colorburn" and "subtractive" give the same results.
I've not tested all colorcombination and this may differ with the transparency, but I think the methods can be reduced to 4 methods with different results "normal", "multiply", "and" and "freeze".

My favorite is "freeze".

Edit: the example is with no tranparency (=255)


* 001.jpg (48.37 KB, 844x244 - viewed 175 times.)
Logged

Ralf
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,428



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2011, 08:51:10 AM »

Thanks for the chart ralfs!
ps you might want to upload screenshots in .png format in the future as the jpg image is a bit lossy.
Logged
ralfs
Charter Member
***
Posts: 51


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2011, 11:31:31 AM »

Quote
ps you might want to upload screenshots in .png format in the future as the jpg image is a bit lossy.
Yes it is, but I had to compress the jpg so much to reach the 50 kb limit.
For demonstrating the effects it's necessary to hilight more than a word on white ground. So I think for this demonstration it's acceptable.
Logged

Ralf
DeVamp
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 97



Let the coding begin :-)

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2011, 02:04:53 PM »

I must totally have missed the reply's on this topic.

But now it looks great.

Thank you!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.032s | Server load: 0.01 ]