Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 01, 2014, 02:39:20 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: NANY 2011 Release: Auspex - a Windows Productivity App  (Read 124654 times)
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #175 on: October 25, 2010, 07:23:06 PM »

Y'know what I all need to do?
Quit now?

Quote
when I get to the end of cranioscopical's bug list. So, around May... 2037
Glad to be of curvice!
Logged

Chris
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Moderator
*****
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #176 on: October 25, 2010, 08:56:29 PM »

Perry, I'll be uploading a new build in  the next day or two with further stability enhancements... I  agree it's also not clear why Auspex fills the mnemonic field automatically sometimes. I'll be cleaning that sort of thing up when I get to the end of cranioscopical's bug list. So, around May... 2037  Thmbsup

Sounds good  Wink

BTW can you define spaces in mnemonic? I was trying to add an address I'm always typing "2 Civic..." but I got errors....
Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #177 on: October 25, 2010, 09:39:13 PM »

BTW can you define spaces in mnemonic? I was trying to add an address I'm always typing "2 Civic..." but I got errors....

Not at the moment... but soon!
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Moderator
*****
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #178 on: October 25, 2010, 09:57:35 PM »

BTW can you define spaces in mnemonic? I was trying to add an address I'm always typing "2 Civic..." but I got errors....

Not at the moment... but soon!

Neat... for me I think that'd work much better where I don't have to remember a whole lot of codes. I think, for me, the more the code is what I'd normally type the better smiley
Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #179 on: October 25, 2010, 10:09:06 PM »

I agree - which is where the 'completion' type operation should kick in... it's coming along! And your feedback (all of you) is really helping  Thmbsup
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Moderator
*****
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #180 on: October 26, 2010, 12:55:36 AM »

I agree - which is where the 'completion' type operation should kick in... it's coming along! And your feedback (all of you) is really helping  Thmbsup

There is nothing like getting it out there to get people excited and develop the ideas cheesy
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #181 on: October 26, 2010, 02:12:50 AM »

When you say block and allow in 'Options->Exceptions' - I presume 'Block' means same as 'ignore'?

(It definitely doesnt seem to agree with graphics programmes, now excluding photoshop)
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #182 on: October 26, 2010, 03:34:04 AM »

hmmm
it doesnt seem to work with GridMove, no matter which setting I choose under exception...
I only use the keyboard shortcuts for Gridmove - Win+G shows grid, then number key selects 'area'
With Auspex running, and Grdimove in 'Block' / 'Compatability Mode' or 'Allow' mode, the Win+G combo doesnt work (the grid shows, but the start menu pops up and takes focus so I cant resize window).
Oddly it works okay with the Auspex window (no matter which setting in Exceptions), but doesnt work with any other windows.

Again, this is simply after a clean 'install' of current version

XP SP3

Gridmove: http://jgpaiva.dcmembers.com/gridmove.html
Logged

Tom
timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #183 on: October 26, 2010, 09:52:47 AM »

hmmm
it doesnt seem to work with GridMove, no matter which setting I choose under exception...
I only use the keyboard shortcuts for Gridmove - Win+G shows grid, then number key selects 'area'
With Auspex running, and Grdimove in 'Block' / 'Compatability Mode' or 'Allow' mode, the Win+G combo doesnt work (the grid shows, but the start menu pops up and takes focus so I cant resize window).
Oddly it works okay with the Auspex window (no matter which setting in Exceptions), but doesnt work with any other windows.

Again, this is simply after a clean 'install' of current version

XP SP3

Gridmove: http://jgpaiva.dcmembers.com/gridmove.html

I'll 'ave a look. Sure hope it's not as much fun as KEdit to fix!

Thank you for the comments  Thmbsup
Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #184 on: October 27, 2010, 12:29:31 PM »

Build 52
New Features

    * (Work in progress) New 'Clean Up' page which will help you to trim out unwanted or old completions.
    * (Work in progress) New 'Organize' page which will help you to sort your completions into useful folders.
    * 'Close' now sends the program to the system tray instead of quitting. Use 'Exit' from the menu to shut Auspex down.
    * You can now select and delete multiple items from within the tree.
    * Changed the main program icon. Still likely to change again.

Bug Fixes

    * Replaced the system tray component with my own code. Hopefully fixes the minimize not working.
    * Manual edit of completions should work a whole lot better now.
    * Fixed at least one accession violation and one index out of bounds error.
Logged

joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 480


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #185 on: October 27, 2010, 04:28:14 PM »

Build 52

Minimize =  Thmbsup it works fine !

But, when correcting something in the AutoCompletions 'Name' box, the correction appears in the list on the right but doesn't stick or show in the Name box.

Also : create a new entry, drag into AutoCompletions, edit - it turns back into a Replacement and won't stick as a AC (I hope that's clear ?).

And finally, Replacements aren't working at all... AutoCompletions are.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2010, 04:35:58 PM by joiwind » Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #186 on: October 27, 2010, 04:41:26 PM »

.52
Nice to have the close box minimize to tray, thanks!

Repeatable here:
Started clean with .52
Imported a bunch of words from a text file
Created my own auto-complete PaddleToTheSea
Tried 'Pad' - worked
Hit refresh
Edited PaddleToTheSea to Paddle To The Sea
Tried 'Pad' - worked
Hit refresh
Edited Paddle to the Sea to have a trailing space
Typed 'Pad' - pop-up worked; hit [tab] List index out of bounds (1)

So,
Okayed the error box
Restarted Auspex
Paddle To The Sea fires properly, with trailing space.

Thank heavens there's still something wobbly else I'd have seek a different hobby  Wink

Logged

Chris
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #187 on: October 27, 2010, 04:44:24 PM »

    * (Work in progress) New 'Organize' page which will help you to sort your completions into useful folders.
I can call the clean up page from the menu but not the organize page.
Logged

Chris
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #188 on: October 27, 2010, 08:35:28 PM »

This one has probably been the case all along and may even be the design:

Auspex can't insert in certain circumstances, for example:

in "this is/something"

try to insert anywhere between "s/s" and Auspex won't play.
Logged

Chris
timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #189 on: October 28, 2010, 07:09:32 PM »

Quote
But, when correcting something in the AutoCompletions 'Name' box, the correction appears in the list on the right but doesn't stick or show in the Name box.

By gum, you're right. The change IS there (if you hit the refresh button it corrects itself). On the list!

Quote
Also : create a new entry, drag into AutoCompletions, edit - it turns back into a Replacement and won't stick as a AC (I hope that's clear ?).

This may just be a shortcoming in the GUI. Items do not change by being dragged around - the folder names are purely to help you keep organised. To chage from a Replacement to a Completion, you must use the little combobox on the left, called 'Action'

Quote
And finally, Replacements aren't working at all... AutoCompletions are.

That's a real surprise - I would always have expected the Replacements to be more consistent. Is there any chance you could go through step-by-step what you do? There must be a missing link!
Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #190 on: October 28, 2010, 07:30:06 PM »

This one has probably been the case all along and may even be the design:

Auspex can't insert in certain circumstances, for example:

in "this is/something"

try to insert anywhere between "s/s" and Auspex won't play.

Could you explain that a bit more please senor? Do you mean trigger a Replacement after moving back with the cursor or mouse?
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #191 on: October 28, 2010, 08:26:40 PM »

This one has probably been the case all along and may even be the design:

Auspex can't insert in certain circumstances, for example:

in "this is/something"

try to insert anywhere between "s/s" and Auspex won't play.

Could you explain that a bit more please senor? Do you mean trigger a Replacement after moving back with the cursor or mouse?
Yes, sorry. That is what I meant (for both auto-completes and replacements). I guess it has to be that way.
And, in light of the above, here's a feature request — why not have Auspex replace what I typed with what I meant?
Logged

Chris
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 480


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #192 on: October 29, 2010, 06:49:21 AM »

Quote
And finally, Replacements aren't working at all... AutoCompletions are.
Quote
That's a real surprise - I would always have expected the Replacements to be more consistent. Is there any chance you could go through step-by-step what you do? There must be a missing link!

Got it ! It's the 'older' entries that don't work - and still don't, whereas if I enter a new Replacement then no problemo... so I'll just re-do the 'old' ones.

And thanks for the other replies.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2010, 10:38:10 AM by joiwind » Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Moderator
*****
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #193 on: October 29, 2010, 07:03:43 AM »

Just a quick question (not sure if it's been asked)... are there plans to have a selection to choose from from the Replacements? ie if there's more than one that matches the string typed the user gets to select one of the entries that pop-up??

Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #194 on: October 29, 2010, 10:16:41 AM »

Just a quick question (not sure if it's been asked)... are there plans to have a selection to choose from from the Replacements? ie if there's more than one that matches the string typed the user gets to select one of the entries that pop-up??



You'll never believe me of course, but I thought of that myself last night. I intend to add a 'search' trigger too. (e.g. "Find and offer me all Replacements that contain the word 'daquiri'")

Mr Cranio, I'm afraid this is as close as we'll get to replacing what you said with what you meant. In my case I have a wife to do that  ohmy
Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #195 on: October 29, 2010, 10:19:04 AM »

Quote
And finally, Replacements aren't working at all... AutoCompletions are.
Quote
That's a real surprise - I would always have expected the Replacements to be more consistent. Is there any chance you could go through step-by-step what you do? There must be a missing link!

Got it ! It was 'older' entries that don't work - and still don't, whereas if I enter a new Replacement then no problemo... so I'll just re-do the 'old' ones.

And thanks for the other replies.

Completely my fault, I should have explicitly warned you about that. I had changed the hashing function which meant that old Replacement's index values were broken.  embarassed

There's a button in the Options->Advanced which will re-create them.
Logged

joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 480


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #196 on: October 29, 2010, 10:45:21 AM »

Yup ! That nailed it ... thanks.
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Moderator
*****
Posts: 1,806



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #197 on: October 31, 2010, 01:43:46 AM »

You'll never believe me of course, but I thought of that myself last night. I intend to add a 'search' trigger too. (e.g. "Find and offer me all Replacements that contain the word 'daquiri'")

Of course I believe you!!  Thmbsup There's nothing new under the sun, as they say...

Now the search feature sounds fantastic (I didn't think of that)... sort of like typing "~daquiri"??
Logged

timns
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,209



Veni, vidi, debuggi

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #198 on: November 01, 2010, 09:27:12 PM »

Build 57
New Features

    * (Work in progress) Started the 'Create New Item Wizard'
    * (Work in progress) Started adding translation ability (once the program is more settled, I'll be looking for people to translate into other languages)
    * Clean Up page more or less finished. Can also save and re-load filters.
    * All keyboard input now routed through improved handler
    * Auspex should 'feel' a little smoother and faster
    * Can now trigger as many Completions as you like in sequence

Bug Fixes

    * Fixed a crash when renaming items
    * Fixed a crash if the last item in the tree was the only match when using the search box at the top of the main form
    * Fixed a crash when adding a space to the end of a Completion
    * Tree now updates automatically when you add/modify any items
    * 'Mimimize to tray' works when checked in the options
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,167



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #199 on: November 01, 2010, 10:12:49 PM »

Getting better  Thmbsup
Logged

Chris
Pages: Prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.049s | Server load: 0.09 ]