Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 22, 2014, 07:14:42 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Ghoster - Feature suggestion  (Read 5517 times)
chabermu
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 04, 2010, 04:07:20 AM »

Hi Skrommel,

thank you for your excellent programs  Thmbsup They all work fine and help me to work more comfortable and with much more fun.

Ghoster is a real cool software. It would be GREAT to have a feature to set the time for fading out and in for ghosting so that everything would be a little smoother  Cool

Greetings from munich
Logged
risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 04:11:42 AM »

I was wondering how i would be able to enable and disable Ghoster if  hotkeys.

I downloaded the ahk script, and added the hotkey commands:

#a:: Goto, START
#s:: Goto, EXIT

but they only work once for some reason.  I can enable and disable, once, before they stopped working, unless I reload the script.
I even tried using Goto, DESTROY instead of EXIt

It's as if once the gui is destroyed, it can't start up properly again.  I really onfused.

some help would be great, thanks.

PS: Actually, I think some people might like it if the author would add the enable/disable function, so one can put this program in the startup folder and toggle it on and off
« Last Edit: August 12, 2010, 04:29:03 AM by risingeil » Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2010, 05:56:19 AM »

I was wondering how i would be able to enable and disable Ghoster if  hotkeys.

I downloaded the ahk script, and added the hotkey commands:

#a:: Goto, START
#s:: Goto, EXIT

but they only work once for some reason.  I can enable and disable, once, before they stopped working, unless I reload the script.
I even tried using Goto, DESTROY instead of EXIt

try doing this, search for a line like this: Goto,LOOP and comment it out: ;Goto,LOOP.
Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2010, 06:05:01 AM »

But wouldn't that disable the loop.  And from what I can tell, that LOOP is the portion that re draws everything.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2010, 09:30:54 AM »

But wouldn't that disable the loop.  And from what I can tell, that LOOP is the portion that re draws everything.

it shouldn't disable the loop but let me know if it does then we'll modify the script to do want you wanted.
Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2010, 04:55:23 PM »

So I commented out Goto,LOOP, which I think there is only one in the script.  When I start it, the screen just flashes once and nothing happens.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2010, 05:04:20 PM »

So I commented out Goto,LOOP, which I think there is only one in the script.  When I start it, the screen just flashes once and nothing happens.

ok, try the linked mod then..

Edit: uploaded newer version - mod2.

* Ghoster_mod2.ahk (8.04 KB - downloaded 133 times.)
« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 01:26:25 AM by lanux128 » Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2010, 05:43:12 PM »

thanks for the quick reply.  I can turn it on and off with hotkeys now, but it doesn't light up the active window, it just darkens the screen.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2010, 07:43:04 PM »

thanks for the quick reply.  I can turn it on and off with hotkeys now, but it doesn't light up the active window, it just darkens the screen.

hmm.. try the new version.
Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2010, 03:37:07 PM »

uh sorry, where do i get the new version?
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2010, 04:15:07 PM »

uh sorry, where do i get the new version?

at the same place over here.. i just replaced the old version with the new.
Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2010, 05:12:45 PM »

I feel I'm being picky, but for some reason, once the script starts, I can't minimize by clicking the taskbar icon any more.  I think the focus is being stolen before it cold minimize.
Sorry for being so troublesome.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2010, 01:25:55 AM »

I feel I'm being picky, but for some reason, once the script starts, I can't minimize by clicking the taskbar icon any more.  I think the focus is being stolen before it cold minimize.
Sorry for being so troublesome.

you don't have to apologize. i probably broke something. smiley

btw, try the new upload at the same place as before.
Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2010, 09:33:43 AM »

Ok, I think this might be a minor bug,  but when I open the Options in Firefox, the while screen dims.  I can't seem to find other programs that has the same effect.  Just the options dialog for firefox.
Oh, and I think I noticed this from the last version but forgot to mention it, when the desktop is in focus, the taskbar becomes transparent or vanishes to be more accurate a sno mouse clicks get registered.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2010, 05:25:14 PM »

please post specific details of your computer system and the contents of Ghoster.ini so that i may study the reasons for this anomaly.
Logged

risingeil
Participant
*
Posts: 27

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2010, 05:43:29 PM »

Sorry for the late reply.  I sort of fiddled around with the code a bit.  I found that if i comment out the lines with oldtop, the issue seem to disappear, I'm not sure yet I need to test more.  So, I'm curious as to who the if statements with oldtop in them control.  While I'm at it, what does the i statements with wintop control?  I have not touch the wintop variable yet, but everything with oldtop has been commented out.

I can send you my system stats, but I'm not sure what servieces to use to get those stats.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2010, 05:04:59 PM »

it's good that you can work out the problem. as you said you can experiment by commenting some of the sections to see the results. wintop is a variable that contains the 'style' properties of a window. in Ghoster, it's used to check if an app is on the top and make it so if it's not.
Logged

threeboy.net
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2011, 11:16:51 AM »

It'd be cool to have a shortcut to enable/disable the ghoster effect while the app is running.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.12 ]