Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 12:48:26 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How to auto-move folder without subdirectories?  (Read 2137 times)

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How to auto-move folder without subdirectories?
« on: July 27, 2010, 11:35:52 AM »
I like the auto-move options, but I don't want any more subdirectories.  I just want one "archive" folder and move all the old files there.  How can I keep the auto-move option enabled without any subdirectories?  Thanks.
I'd also like to name the move-to directory myself and call it whatever I like, in this case "Archive".

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to auto-move folder without subdirectories?
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 12:27:20 PM »
In the "Saving and Loading Files" options tab you can adjust it:

Screenshot - 7_27_2010 , 12_26_28 PM.png

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to auto-move folder without subdirectories?
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 02:38:59 PM »
I'm familiar with that window.  But where do I specify ad directory where I want my old screenshots to go?  Unless I'm mistaken, that dialog gives the option for naming subdirectories, but what about the main, parent directory?  I noticed that the default folder for old screenshots is called "OLDER", but where is the option to set the OLDER folder, or in my case, I want to change it to say Archive, and it won't necessarily be in the same folder as the recent screenshots.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to auto-move folder without subdirectories?
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 02:52:19 PM »
there is no option for that but i could add it.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to auto-move folder without subdirectories?
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 11:18:21 AM »
there is no option for that but i could add it.
Yes, that would be a handy feature.  I know you've said you're working on other things currently, so there's no rush or anything.  Thanks.

I always like to point out mylife organized's backup settings because it's the best implementation of it that I've seen.  I think it applies to SC also (just with old screenshots vs. backup files).  Below is a picture of it:
screenshot_20100728091557.png