Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 05:52:18 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: DONE: Context Menu Select Folder  (Read 6235 times)

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
DONE: Context Menu Select Folder
« on: June 30, 2010, 06:27:42 AM »
Context Menu Select Folder

Under certain circunstances I don't need to open the folder where the file is. Only to open the window explorer and select the folder contains that file.

By example in locate32 when I have a list of archives and i select one in the contextual menu I don't have the option to go to the folder, only open the folder contains that file.

Can I have ?

Best Regards.

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2010, 10:44:21 AM »
It took me a while to realize what you were saying, but I think you are saying you would like a context menu item with a concept such as "Open Parent Folder of File Location with File Location Selected" (wording needs work) in addition to the standard "Open File Location"?

I believe locate32 propagates the Windows Explorer context menu to itself -- great program!
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!
« Last Edit: June 30, 2010, 10:50:29 AM by daddydave »

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2010, 05:58:51 PM »
It took me a while to realize what you were saying, but I think you are saying you would like a context menu item with a concept such as "Open Parent Folder of File Location with File Location Selected" (wording needs work) in addition to the standard "Open File Location"?

I believe locate32 propagates the Windows Explorer context menu to itself -- great program!

You are completely right . That what I need.

I need to point to the parent folder  (select the parent folder of the file).

 :P

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2010, 01:24:43 AM »
I have a proof of concept of the functionality, but it is not in the form of a Windows Explorer context menu item.  It can be invoked by hotkey.

Even if it's not quite what is wanted, may be it will be useful in confirming some of the desired functionality :)

  http://ewemoa.dcmemb...p/ChooseMyParent.exe

SHA-1: a0072754200bc68ce66a4b9c906016489539004a
« Last Edit: July 01, 2010, 01:53:47 AM by ewemoa »

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2010, 05:12:49 AM »
I have a proof of concept of the functionality, but it is not in the form of a Windows Explorer context menu item.  It can be invoked by hotkey.

Even if it's not quite what is wanted, may be it will be useful in confirming some of the desired functionality :)

  http://ewemoa.dcmemb...p/ChooseMyParent.exe

SHA-1: a0072754200bc68ce66a4b9c906016489539004a

Ewemoa comments you additionally I am "working" in your last splendid script, but I think is better to wait a couple of months to inform you about some new ideas o improvements. Do you like the idea ?. Ejem. I suppose it's possible to sum that addon into the other ?

 :P


Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2010, 05:22:13 AM »
 :-* :P

Works splendidddddddddd

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n221/SerPan_album/Imagen030-4.jpg
DONE: Context Menu Select Folder

Contro

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 2,619
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2010, 05:26:22 AM »
I have a lot of resident in the clock area. And I have more hidden......

 :P

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2010, 07:27:55 AM »
nice tool, ewemoa.  :up:

i remember [user]justice[/user] and [user]ak_[/user] coming up with DaddyClick which does something similar..

http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=8608.0

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2010, 07:36:18 AM »
Thanks for mentioning DaddyClick -- sounds neat :up:

Do I understand correctly that it doesn't do the selection portion currently?

From my limited scanning of the topic, it looks like the latest version doesn't come with source.  Do you know if that's the case?

(Hmm, judging by the size of the exe and the dates of the posts in the topic, I'm going to guess that the exe is upx-compressed and consequently a candidate for being flagged as malicious...)
« Last Edit: July 01, 2010, 07:39:58 AM by ewemoa »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2010, 08:03:46 AM »
from the thread, that seems to be the problem but i'm not sure because i don't use windows explorer as my default file manager.  :)

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2010, 08:33:16 AM »
I have a lot of resident in the clock area. And I have more hidden......
I had been working on a single utility to consolidate various AHK scripts but due to limitations (possibly technical and/or related to my current understanding) have not come up with something that is stable, reliable, and maintainable.

It's something I'm interested in, so with some luck, may be eventually the issues will be resolved.  At the moment though I don't have anything I feel comfortable releasing.

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2010, 08:35:02 AM »
from the thread, that seems to be the problem but i'm not sure because i don't use windows explorer as my default file manager.  :)
Thanks for the clarification.

I got the latest source I could find and experimented with it a bit but so far I haven't seen a good way to get the selection to work (seems like Windows Explorer likes to respond to the second click -- thereby unselecting).

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Context Menu Select Folder
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2010, 07:58:11 AM »
Don't know if this helps or not but I'll throw it out there:
Quote
Explorer [/n] [/e] [(,)/root,<object>] [/select,<object>]

/n                Opens a new single-pane window for the default
                  selection. This is usually the root of the drive Windows
                   is installed on. If the window is already open, a
                  duplicate opens.

/e                Opens Windows Explorer in its default view.

/root,<object>    Opens a window view of the specified object.


/select,<object>  Opens a window view with the specified folder, file or
                  application selected
.




If I get time, I'll see if I get this to show up as a context menu using registry edits. Probably a long shot, but I'll see what I can do.

EDIT: Well I puttered around, in theory you could put a command line here (I did this at lnkfile (.lnk shortcut) level because that seems to be the level at which "Open file location" appears):

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile\shell\Open &parent of file location\command

So this appears on the menu for shortcuts but I don't know what argument to use for the explorer command line. Problem is I don't know how translate from the .lnk path (which would be assigned to %1 in the command) to the actual target. If I could get that, then string manipulation to get the folder, then add appending \.. to the folder path would probably get me the parent directory.

So I didn't get anywhere but I thought I would report my findings.
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!
« Last Edit: July 05, 2010, 08:52:56 AM by daddydave »