Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 25, 2014, 10:06:29 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Tool to block SPECIFIC app from Minimizing ("NoMinimize")  (Read 3152 times)
melvynadam
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 28, 2010, 02:52:15 AM »

I have an application which disappears when minimized. It's from my mobile broadband provider and it's unlikely to get an update or get fixed. It's also the only way I know of to activate my USB 3G dongle. Most of the time I remember not to minimize it but occasionally I forget and it's a hassle. What I'm looking for is a tool which I can leave running in the background which prevents named applications from minimizing. Anyone?

Something like NoClose v1.1 but instead "NoMinimize" would be perfect.

Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,158



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 03:23:58 AM »

Something like NoClose v1.1 but instead "NoMinimize" would be perfect.

It's pretty trivial to modify NoClose to disable the minimise button as well.  I'm not sure I'd be able to do anything about you minimising it via the taskbar, though.  Would simply disabling the minimise button be enough for you?
Logged

melvynadam
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 03:41:07 AM »

Yup. That would be perfect. I only minimize using the button.
Logged
melvynadam
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 03:42:10 AM »

Incidentally, I do want to be able to close the thing. Only minimize should be disabled. When you say "disable the minimize button as well", can both be optional?
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,158



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 03:48:14 AM »

Sure, NoClose can be modified to only disable the minimise button.  Honestly, it's a one character change.  If you want to modify NoClose yourself, simply change this line:

Formatted for Autohotkey with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. DllCall("user32\DeleteMenu","UInt",menu,"UInt",0xF060,"UInt",0x0)

To:

Formatted for Autohotkey with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. DllCall("user32\DeleteMenu","UInt",menu,"UInt",0xF020,"UInt",0x0)

If you don't feel comfortable modifying and compiling AHK files on your own, please let me know and I'll do it for you.
Logged

melvynadam
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 05:31:24 AM »

Edited. Compiled. To no effect.

* NoMinimize.exe (201.02 KB - downloaded 159 times.)
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,158



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 01:58:10 PM »

It works here under Windows XPSP2.  I used the default ctrl-1 hotkey on my active test window and, even though the minimise button doesn't grey out, it doesn't minimise the window when clicked.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.072s | Server load: 0.06 ]