Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 12:59:14 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?  (Read 15603 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,963
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« on: June 21, 2010, 07:10:52 PM »
i really like the default pause/break hotkey for my desktop.
but i also have a netbook that doesn't have such a key, in which case i personally have used alt+backspace, and the ` character to trigger.

i wondered what other people use -- i know alt+space is common...

what do you use? do you have any custom FARR hotkeys set up to perform things like dictionary searches, etc.?
« Last Edit: June 21, 2010, 08:24:47 PM by mouser »

hamradio

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 637
  • Amateur Radio Guy
    • View Profile
    • HamRadioUSA.net
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2010, 08:25:46 PM »
One of em is Ctrl + Space for my hamNotes plugin. :)
Carroll - HamRadioUSA.net

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2010, 09:51:07 PM »
only the default 'Pause' key and Ctrl+Pause for dictionary.. :)

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,702
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2010, 12:18:13 AM »
I use Pause/Break because it's the default and doesn't seem to interfere with other things here very much.  Also have Alt+Pause configured to work with FARRFolders.

regarding alt+space and control+space
Alt+Space (system menu anyone?) and Control+Space I avoid because of conflicts with other things that I've been using for more than a decade.


lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2010, 12:23:30 AM »
Alt+Space (system menu anyone?) and Control+Space I avoid because of conflicts with other things that I've been using for more than a decade.

i had the same problem and i mentioned this some time back.

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2010, 02:02:43 AM »
alt+space for me - easier to reach!  ;)

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2010, 02:16:59 AM »
Alt + Space opens the active window's 'System Menu' (don't know if that's what it's called), i.e. the one to move, resize, etc. the window. This menu is essential in cases where a window goes off the screen and can't be grabbed with the mouse any more ;)     (sorry, just saw that this was mentioned numerous times by my fellow pre-posters)

I used to use Win + Space. But Windows 7 now uses this for something (can't remember for what right now). So I changed all of my boxes to use Win + Alt + Space. As you'll notice, these three buttons all lie next to each other, so you could even hit them with one hand only.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 02:18:37 AM by phitsc »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2010, 03:48:35 AM »
Win+F12. Can't remember why I switched from the pause key - perhaps it interfered with Win+Pause, which brings up system properties?
- carpe noctem

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2010, 04:00:35 AM »
... perhaps it interfered with Win+Pause, which brings up system properties?
That one I didn't know. Very useful!

joby_toss

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2010, 06:46:04 AM »
Ctrl+Space here.
I am a 3D body trapping a single dimension soul.

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,702
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2010, 07:53:14 AM »
Win+F12. Can't remember why I switched from the pause key - perhaps it interfered with Win+Pause, which brings up system properties?
FWIW, Win+Pause still brings up system properties here.

Nice touch -- prefixing the key reserved for debuggers with the Windows key :)

Going still further off-topic, I find the following puzzling:

Quote
Either WINDOWS key was held down. These keys are labeled with the Windows logo. Keyboard shortcuts that involve the WINDOWS key are reserved for use by the operating system.

from:

  http://msdn.microsof...6309%28VS.85%29.aspx

Am I not supposed to use the Windows key for my own shortcut key definitions?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,503
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2010, 09:00:13 AM »
Quote
Either WINDOWS key was held down. These keys are labeled with the Windows logo. Keyboard shortcuts that involve the WINDOWS key are reserved for use by the operating system.

from:

  http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms646309%28VS.85%29.aspx

Am I not supposed to use the Windows key for my own shortcut key definitions?

I've read somewhere: the deal is 'reserved' - i.e. at some stage some one of your key definitions could be taken over by a new universal shortcut from MS
Tom

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2010, 09:10:26 AM »
I'll still looking for the universal "delete all incompatible add-ons" button, but..

I have a TapTap shortcut of RightCtrl RightCtrl, to match my Launchy shortcut of LeftCtrl LeftCtrl

It looks like this in my TapTap.ini file (I also have Alt-F13 as my Launchy shortcut - not sure how you would enter Alt-F13 otherwise)
Code: [Select]
  keymap DLC : A+F13
  keymap DRC : pause
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2010, 09:15:17 AM »
alt+space for me - easier to reach!  ;)

Launchy uses this by default. I always change it because I use Alt-Space a lot within cmd windows (as in Alt-Space, E, P).
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2010, 10:03:08 AM »
Am I not supposed to use the Windows key for my own shortcut key definitions?
It's fine using them for your own purposes, as long as you realize they can be defined by Microsoft later on... which means you should never use them for defaults in software you release.

Too bad MS doesn't provide a clean way for the user to say he doesn't want those default hotkeys... which means you have to resort to keyboard hooks in order to unregister hotkeys from explorer.exe and whatnot.
- carpe noctem

bgd77

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2010, 11:23:33 AM »
Win + Space on XP.

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 809
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2010, 12:03:10 PM »
Pause to show/hide FARR.

ctrl + Pause to open FARR and let it look up the (previously) selected text in a dictionary

I also have an autohotkey script to use Scroll Lock to clear the FARR inputbox and enter some FARR alias (which varies, currently it "alb" for the albumdisplayer plugin). You can hit that combo (pause and then scrollbreak) very quickly.

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2010, 12:55:13 PM »
Pause on the desktop machine, double-tap on Control on the notebook, despite those old problems with TapTap, described almost two years ago here.

Alien282

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #18 on: June 23, 2010, 05:32:15 AM »
ALT + SPACE on Windows 7 Ultimate. Never had a problem with it. I can't believe anyone is using anything else, especially the pause/break key... that's just so horribly far from everything...

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #19 on: June 23, 2010, 02:59:29 PM »
I use CapsLOCK

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,702
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #20 on: June 23, 2010, 03:30:47 PM »
I've been using the Apps key (the one that brings up the context sensitive menu) in combination with a modifier for invoking a different tool recently.  I just looked for a way to use this in FARR but didn't find one.  Has anyone else had any luck using it?

...and now back to semi-off-topic things :)

I've read somewhere: the deal is 'reserved' - i.e. at some stage some one of your key definitions could be taken over by a new universal shortcut from MS

It's fine using them for your own purposes, as long as you realize they can be defined by Microsoft later on...

These two quotes suggest to me that unless I develop some good method of managing shortcut key invocation habits that I'd be better off not configuring any shortcut keys that use the Windows key...Perhaps using them for testing purposes would be appropriate though.

Quote
which means you should never use them for defaults in software you release.
Great point.  Thanks for this.

Quote
Too bad MS doesn't provide a clean way for the user to say he doesn't want those default hotkeys... which means you have to resort to keyboard hooks in order to unregister hotkeys from explorer.exe and whatnot.
Indeed.  Perhaps this will change in a future version of Windows.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 03:34:15 PM by ewemoa »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #21 on: June 23, 2010, 09:37:16 PM »
I've been using the Apps key (the one that brings up the context sensitive menu) in combination with a modifier for invoking a different tool recently.  I just looked for a way to use this in FARR but didn't find one.  Has anyone else had any luck using it?

i know the AHK way if you're interested.. :)

Code: Autohotkey
  1. AppsKey & F12::
  2. ; Launch Farr now!
  3. Return
  4.  

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,702
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2010, 08:28:45 AM »
i know the AHK way if you're interested.. :)
Thanks for the tip -- it turns out that "different tool" is one put together with AHK_L so I've been using something similar :)

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 5,429
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #23 on: June 25, 2010, 12:43:48 PM »
Because I was starting to run into Hotkey conflicts, and because I wanted to avoid using the (reserved) Windows key, I have started to use Pause/Break to make FARR pop up. Prior to that, I used Ctrl+Space.

By the way, for starting applications generally, I have moved to using this scheme:
  • Use remapkey.exe to map CapsLock to RightShift.
  • In AHK, Use the key combination LeftShift+RightShift+x - where "x" is any other single key - to start proggies up.

Since LeftShift+RightShift is such a daft combination normally, I figured there would be no conflicts (none found yet, either).
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 04:42:22 AM by IainB »

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2,702
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What hotkey(s) do *you* use to trigger FARR?
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2010, 04:01:05 PM »
I have a TapTap shortcut of RightCtrl RightCtrl, to match my Launchy shortcut of LeftCtrl LeftCtrl
I used to have a set up pretty close to this -- it used two instances of FARR though.

I don't suppose FARR will natively support configuring double-tapping...