Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 01:50:22 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately  (Read 3744 times)

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,085
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« on: June 10, 2010, 06:35:58 AM »
ScreenshotCaptor -2.82.01 -  the Print -Icon... prints immediately, should'nt it opens the print dialog? As "File > Print" does.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 06:37:50 AM »
it's designed that way on purpose but i could make it an option.

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 5,878
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2010, 07:18:58 AM »
it's designed that way on purpose but i could make it an option.

That's probably the most user friendly route. In most office printing environments (which I deal with daily) there's a mono printer default and a color printer option.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 07:22:18 AM »
my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,217
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2010, 07:26:31 AM »
my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

Microsoft uses this line of logic in the Office suite. the button on the toolbar is essentially a quick print button based on the settings used the previous time. to make any changes, one have to go to the File>Print menu item.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 338
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2010, 07:59:14 AM »
In Office 2003 & 2007 you can also replace the quick print button in the toolbar with the print dialog button.  It is under the View>Toolbars>Customize section.  This allows me to select if I want to send it to one of two printers or a PDF creator.
Saves a few keystrokes or mouse clicks.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2010, 08:00:07 AM »
my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

Microsoft uses this line of logic in the Office suite. the button on the toolbar is essentially a quick print button based on the settings used the previous time. to make any changes, one have to go to the File>Print menu item.

Ctrl+P would normally bring up the print dialogue, but with SC it brings up the preferences (there's no shortcut for print)
Just making a point - I dont normally print screenshots,
 . . . but I would love to see customisable shortcuts for menu items (with apologies for steering this a bit off-topic...)

edit:- minor
Tom
« Last Edit: June 10, 2010, 04:14:44 PM by tomos »

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 5,878
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2010, 12:19:36 PM »
my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

Ah! True, that is a commonly used default behavior. I didn't know there was an A or B option to the print command/response available (I've never actually used/seen the program...  :-[ )

Carry on, I'll go sit in the corner. ;)

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,085
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2010, 04:40:46 AM »
it's designed that way on purpose but i could make it an option.
Ahh, OK. 
But then at least the (how the call again? ellipse?) three dots in the tool-tip of this button can be misinterpreted as "an dialog box will follow".


M>but i could make it an option
Since my default printer is an PDF-printer i have to go always  to Files menu to chose the LaserJet for real print out,
an fly-out menu "Default Printer" / "Chose Printer..." (with remebering last used?) would be handy... but
since i can use file menu and it works as you had intended...it is OK like it is too.

Thanks

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,085
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2010, 04:47:54 AM »
Stop, wait.

my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.
That's right of course... same as with WordTM ... and SC reminds the last used printer too. Fine.

Then my suggestion is to remove the three dots from the tool-tip ...and
.. show the printer name as Word does (if it is not to much work?)
 .... i would see this as an  safety feature too since the current print (secret stuff) could be
not meant to print to the printer (common used at the floor) of the last print-out from yesterday :D

EDIT: to make myself clear: the workflow Button/Menu is OK as i understood now...only the tool-tip info could be improved.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 04:51:00 AM by AbteriX »