Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 19, 2014, 04:48:37 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: The Print -Icon... do printout immediately  (Read 3403 times)
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,053


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 10, 2010, 06:35:58 AM »

ScreenshotCaptor -2.82.01 -  the Print -Icon... prints immediately, should'nt it opens the print dialog? As "File > Print" does.
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,772



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 06:37:50 AM »

it's designed that way on purpose but i could make it an option.
Logged
Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,448



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2010, 07:18:58 AM »

it's designed that way on purpose but i could make it an option.

That's probably the most user friendly route. In most office printing environments (which I deal with daily) there's a mono printer default and a color printer option.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,772



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 07:22:18 AM »

my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2010, 07:26:31 AM »

my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

Microsoft uses this line of logic in the Office suite. the button on the toolbar is essentially a quick print button based on the settings used the previous time. to make any changes, one have to go to the File>Print menu item.
Logged

bob99
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 334

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2010, 07:59:14 AM »

In Office 2003 & 2007 you can also replace the quick print button in the toolbar with the print dialog button.  It is under the View>Toolbars>Customize section.  This allows me to select if I want to send it to one of two printers or a PDF creator.
Saves a few keystrokes or mouse clicks.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,727



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2010, 08:00:07 AM »

my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

Microsoft uses this line of logic in the Office suite. the button on the toolbar is essentially a quick print button based on the settings used the previous time. to make any changes, one have to go to the File>Print menu item.

Ctrl+P would normally bring up the print dialogue, but with SC it brings up the preferences (there's no shortcut for print)
Just making a point - I dont normally print screenshots,
 . . . but I would love to see customisable shortcuts for menu items (with apologies for steering this a bit off-topic...)

edit:- minor
« Last Edit: June 10, 2010, 04:14:44 PM by tomos » Logged

Tom
Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,448



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2010, 12:19:36 PM »

my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.

Ah! True, that is a commonly used default behavior. I didn't know there was an A or B option to the print command/response available (I've never actually used/seen the program...  embarassed )

Carry on, I'll go sit in the corner. Wink
Logged
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,053


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2010, 04:40:46 AM »

it's designed that way on purpose but i could make it an option.
Ahh, OK. 
But then at least the (how the call again? ellipse?) three dots in the tool-tip of this button can be misinterpreted as "an dialog box will follow".


M>but i could make it an option
Since my default printer is an PDF-printer i have to go always  to Files menu to chose the LaserJet for real print out,
an fly-out menu "Default Printer" / "Chose Printer..." (with remebering last used?) would be handy... but
since i can use file menu and it works as you had intended...it is OK like it is too.

Thanks
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,053


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2010, 04:47:54 AM »

Stop, wait.

my thinking was, use the File menu if you want the print dialog.. use the quick toolbar button if you want a quick immediate printout.
That's right of course... same as with WordTM ... and SC reminds the last used printer too. Fine.

Then my suggestion is to remove the three dots from the tool-tip ...and
.. show the printer name as Word does (if it is not to much work?)
 .... i would see this as an  safety feature too since the current print (secret stuff) could be
not meant to print to the printer (common used at the floor) of the last print-out from yesterday cheesy

EDIT: to make myself clear: the workflow Button/Menu is OK as i understood now...only the tool-tip info could be improved.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 04:51:00 AM by AbteriX » Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.08 ]