Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 02:50:13 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool  (Read 71175 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« on: June 01, 2010, 01:33:49 PM »
You'll find a screencast of the new SC "Splice" tool command here:

http://www.donationc...c/3ds/sc16/sc16.html

The splice tool allows you to splice out horizontal or vertical regions, like banners.  Good for removing ad regions in screenshots, etc.


Screenshot - 6_1_2010 , 1_33_23 PM_thumb.png

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,050
    • View Profile
    • Just for mouser.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 01:49:08 PM »
Wow that's awesome! :Thmbsup:


Veign

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 993
    • View Profile
    • Veign - Where design meets development
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 01:51:42 PM »
Great little feature. 

Why don't you release that as a standalone application?  I would use it just for that.  Basically let me open an image, perform splices and then resave out.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2010, 02:05:00 PM »
Very nice!
mini.jpg

If one has, say, a wide image but short (or a tall but narrow) the only way to 'splice' out a big chunk is by repeated small splices.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2010, 02:07:27 PM »
that's a good point :(

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,050
    • View Profile
    • Just for mouser.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2010, 02:11:02 PM »
Simple solution: Put a Splice icon in the toolbars (on the side with the others) that has default smart behavior that splices depending on selected area's dimensions. Then put Splice Horizontally and Splice Vertically in the SpecialFX dropdown menu for those rare times when you need to splice a large section from a narrow or short image.

« Last Edit: June 01, 2010, 02:12:53 PM by Deozaan »

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,718
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2010, 05:21:10 PM »
Looks nice  :Thmbsup:

I didn't see a hotkey listed on the menu item during the screencast -- is there a hidden one or an option to configure one?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2010, 05:23:03 PM »
you people and your hotkey shortcuts!

steeladept

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,059
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2010, 05:25:32 PM »
Great little feature.  

Why don't you release that as a standalone application?  I would use it just for that.  Basically let me open an image, perform splices and then resave out.
You already can, I do stuff like this all the time with SC.  You just move the pic to the screenshot folder (or open SC and navigate your screenshot folder to where the file is), and then edit it.  That said, it also explains why I requested an Open file option that I think Mouser probably just forgot to add... ;)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2010, 05:31:30 PM »
just a reminder, SC will let you drag and drop images into and out of it's thumbnail panel.

and i think you can pass a filename on commandline when calling SC to have it switch to that image file's directory and load that image -- so that does what you asked for veign, i think.

also, dont forget to use the Save+ button, to save the image with an incremented filename -- useful for preserving originals.

steeladept

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,059
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2010, 05:40:49 PM »
just a reminder, SC will let you drag and drop images into and out of it's thumbnail panel.

and i think you can pass a filename on commandline when calling SC to have it switch to that image file's directory and load that image -- so that does what you asked for veign, i think.

also, dont forget to use the Save+ button, to save the image with an incremented filename -- useful for preserving originals.

Yeah, yeah... :P

I always forget about that.  That is why I do it the way I do. :-[

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,087
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2010, 01:22:40 AM »
Great feature  :Thmbsup:

I do this often with msPaint: cut out an region, cut out one part of the two remaining parts and paste it again to fit to the other part.

Since you add such an nice feature i will use this now instead.

But as i see, the positions of the prior inserted objects (box, arrow) are not recalculated and moved with the background...
>> improvement idea... or just remember to insert the objects after the splicing?  :P

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2010, 01:28:58 AM »
a very useful and much awaited feature.. :Thmbsup:

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,087
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2010, 01:32:47 AM »
Possible icon ?


Untitled 1.png

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2010, 03:44:21 AM »
that's a really, really cool feature. adobe will be coming for that when they see it - seriously, you need to patent it if it's unique. adobe love sticking features into Photoshop that they've seen elsewhere - and paying for it.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2010, 03:47:31 AM »
lol patent it.. there is nothing complicated or clever about it.. i'd be surprised if it wasn't already in photoshop somewhere.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2010, 03:56:31 AM »
thanks for the icon image abterix!
i'll try to fix up object positions.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2010, 04:22:29 AM »
lol patent it.. there is nothing complicated or clever about it.. i'd be surprised if it wasn't already in photoshop somewhere.

i've not seen it in photoshop (unless it's in CS5). maybe it can be done using an Action (i'll give it a go later). either way, it'll be in there within the next couple of versions, i bet.

tinjaw

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,927
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2010, 07:33:37 AM »
That's neat mouser.

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,718
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2010, 02:05:26 PM »
you people and your hotkey shortcuts!
I think Alt-X followed by an appropriate number of arrow key presses (1 or 2) and then Enter is doable, so the current state of things seems fine.

Thanks again for this feature!

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,718
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2010, 12:39:43 AM »
Made a proof-of-concept GIMP Script-Fu script that handles the case of the selection being longer in the horizontal direction.

If there's any interest, I'll post the code (ugly though it may be ;) ).

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #21 on: June 03, 2010, 05:15:31 AM »
Mouser, I've just tried out the splicing and it works really well.

Keep up the good work.

Thanks

cvbusa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2010, 12:30:26 AM »
Very cool. Thanks.

Charles

bobholm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • DRACO DORMIENS NUNQUAM TITILLANDUS
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2010, 01:07:46 AM »
So where is the link where I can download the tool?
Have a great day!

Bob Holmstrom

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor Splice Tool
« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2010, 01:14:06 AM »
So where is the link where I can download the tool?

you can download from the official web page, here.