Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 09:33:29 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Clipboard Help+Spell finally gets hotkeys for groups and formatting presets  (Read 6386 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,422
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Not yet uploaded but implemented:

You can now specify hotkeys in formatting presets and in groups; triggering a formatter hotkey will instantly apply that formatter; triggering a group hotkey will show the clips from that group in a popup menu (you can assign the same hotkey to multiple groups -- all matching group contents will be shown).

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,422
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
One question i have is.. do people feel like they need hotkeys for individual clips? it would be a bit of a pain to do and it seems like having a hotkey for a specific clip might be better handled using a standalone hotkey program, rather than using CHS for this..

CHS seems much better suited for having hotkeys that popup clip GROUP menus or formatting presets, so i'm hoping people won't miss the idea of having hotkeys tied to specific clips.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,368
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
For myself, I'd like hotkeys for formatting presets.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,422
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Quote
For myself, I'd like hotkeys for formatting presets.
yep, these work now and are quite useful.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
do people feel like they need hotkeys for individual clips?

I doubt it's necessary, as presumably you could put "hot clips" into a special group, use a hotkey to pop up the group, and select from what would then be a shorter menu.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,422
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,368
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Quote
For myself, I'd like hotkeys for formatting presets.
yep, these work now and are quite useful.
I should have been explicit about what I hoped to imply, viz. I see no need, in CHS, for keys tied to individual clips.

CHS is jolly useful!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,422
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
If anyone wants to try the new features early:
http://www.donationc...elpAndSpellSetup.exe

  • You add hotkeys to groups by right-clicking on the group node in the tree and editing the group.
  • For the formatting presets, you need to load the preset, set the hotkey, and then save the preset.

Let me know how it works for you -- remember that you can set the same hotkey for multiple groups to have them show up together.

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,881
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Works great here, for individual clips would be nice too but this is great. Thanx mouser

limelect

  • Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi
well you bit me to the application
A year ago i started exact same application but never had time to finish
ONE OF THE FEATURES is in my opinion needed is :

"One question i have is.. do people feel like they need hotkeys for individual clips?"
YES definitely and MY reason is:

I am using the word DELPHI ,and others,  in many applications all day long
I really NEED !! this feature !!!!! asap thanks

limelect

  • Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
P.S what i forgot to mention in my application i tried to cntr C ALL but all control C formats
My application is in Delphi and i am willing to share some ideas with the programmer
of this appliction

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,422
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
let's not forget that there are lots of hotkey applications that can easily paste some text when you hit a specific hotkey.. including autohotkey and autoit.

that's the only reason i didn't give it a high priority in CHS -- not because i don't think its important to be able to paste text with a hotkey, but because it's something you can do with other tools so easily.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I am using the word DELPHI ,and others,  in many applications all day long
If that's a major need, you might want to try one of the text expanders/completers as well as CHS.  I use Typing Assistant, which is good payware.  But you can get text expansion in various freewares too, including AutoHotKey/AHK.

limelect

  • Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Thank you for the new knowledge i got from you (AutoHotKey/AHK.)
I guess i am too busy working
It works great
However i still thing my requirement is needed as to assign dynamically
the words i got from cntr C to any hot key instead of going trough
script/compilation. Further more the time it takes to execute
a simple script is much much slower then pushing the word to clipboard



rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
However i still thing my requirement is needed as to assign dynamically
the words i got from cntr C to any hot key instead of going trough
script/compilation. Further more the time it takes to execute
a simple script is much much slower then pushing the word to clipboard


When I was using AHK for text expansion, I assigned a hotkey to reload the script, as per the AHK Help:
Quote
^!r::Reload  ; Assign Ctrl-Alt-R as a hotkey to restart the script.

That was on the first line.  I kept the script open in a text editor.  When I updated a shorthand expansion, I pressed Ctrl-S in the editor to save the script, then Ctrl-Alt-R to reload it.  Quick enough.  If you use Typing Assistant (TA) it's even easier.  Mark the text you want expanded in future, press Ctrl-C to send it to the clipboard, press a couple of TA hotkeys to bring up the right box and you'll find the body text already filled in, with just the short version to add.  Or, you could try Oscar's MiniCLIP which is a freeware clipboard enhancer with shorthand expansion built-in, but even the author says he probably never used it.  I certainly haven't  :)