Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 03:03:52 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: DONE: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs  (Read 13363 times)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs
« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2010, 04:15:06 AM »
I had thought of mentioning FARR but didnt as the focus here (mine included) was on File managers.
In FARR you would have to search for the file presumably?
or could it recognise what file is selected in File Manager and work from there - that's asking a lot though I suspect :)

I was thinking about using FARR's built-in copy-to-clipboard hotkey function.  Then again, I've never written a FARR plugin so it would definitely take some doing.

Love the name btw  ;-)

Hahaha...thanks.  I'm absolute crap at actually naming programs so I took a cue from an old friend whose name is Keith Smith.  He usually does his email/username as keef.smiff.   :D

daddydave

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 822
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs
« Reply #26 on: May 25, 2010, 04:19:25 AM »
Could be a Windows 7 thing since it appears to work here.  It could also be that the checkbox under Windows 7 is a different ClassNN than under Windows XP.  It's "Button2" under XP.  Are you able to tell me what it is under Windows 7?  You can use the WindowSpy utility included with a standard AHK install.

I just checked with AU3info, and it looks like it's just "Button" in Windows 7 (I'm running the 64 bit version)

EDIT: and it is Instance 1 (there are four controls with a class of Button).
If bad things happen to other people, it's karma. If bad things happen to me, it's kismat!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2010, 04:23:16 AM by daddydave »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs
« Reply #27 on: May 25, 2010, 04:24:47 AM »
Thanks, daddydave.  nudone, try changing the instances of 'Button2' in my example to 'Button' or 'Button1'.  Man, I really need to get some type of Windows 7 to test with in a VM.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs
« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2010, 04:48:43 AM »
yes, that's it - Button1 works fine.

what a nice script. credits on their way...

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs
« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2010, 04:52:10 AM »
Here you go, OpenWiff (source/binary included): http://skwire.dcmemb.../snacks/OpenWiff.zip

For a samply hotkey in AHK, you could use something like this:
[...]

well, I wasnt sure how that was meant to be used but I set it up as a button in Dopus
"F:\Portable\ ...\OpenWiff.exe" {filepath}

and that works nicely (XP)  :Thmbsup:
Tom

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,669
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Space + click on file reveals "Open With" list of programs
« Reply #30 on: May 25, 2010, 05:11:44 AM »
yes, that's it - Button1 works fine.
what a nice script. credits on their way...

Ah, great.  Nice to know that Microsoft didn't change up things completely.  Thanks for the credits.

well, I wasnt sure how that was meant to be used but I set it up as a button in Dopus
"F:\Portable\ ...\OpenWiff.exe" {filepath}

That's exactly how it's supposed to be used.  =]