Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 22, 2014, 10:48:37 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Shell extension to open the folder of a running application  (Read 4481 times)
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 29, 2010, 11:47:57 AM »

Hi everyone
I would like to access quickly to the folder of a running application.
Anyone knows a shell extension or utility to do this?
Thanks in advance.
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 12:17:34 PM »

Are you talking about opening the folder that contains the application's .exe file (eg Word.exe, Excel.exe), or the folder that contains the opened current data file (eg Document.doc, Workbook.xls)?
Logged
jazper
Coding Snacks Author
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 92



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 01:47:59 PM »

Open Task Manager , Go to Processes Tab,  right click process -> "Open File Location"

or am I missing something?
Logged
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,050


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 02:06:57 PM »

Open Task Manager , Go to Processes Tab,  right click process -> "Open File Location"

or am I missing something?
Depends on the OS one use, isn't it?

An tool like SystemExplorer (DC Link) can provide this feature for XP too.
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,941



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2010, 07:36:13 PM »

Download HomeFolder from my page:

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

edit: btw it's only been tested on SDI type applications.  Programs that run in a main window.  I don't much use MDI type apps.  May work but I don't guarantee it.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2010, 07:29:42 AM »

Are you talking about opening the folder that contains the application's .exe file (eg Word.exe, Excel.exe), or the folder that contains the opened current data file (eg Document.doc, Workbook.xls)?
The folder of the exe application
Logged
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2010, 07:30:27 AM »

Open Task Manager , Go to Processes Tab,  right click process -> "Open File Location"

or am I missing something?
I don't have that option in Windows XP
Logged
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2010, 07:36:50 AM »

Open Task Manager , Go to Processes Tab,  right click process -> "Open File Location"

or am I missing something?
Depends on the OS one use, isn't it?

An tool like SystemExplorer (DC Link) can provide this feature for XP too.
I have tested it and it does it.
But I'm looking for something less bloated. I'm currently using Process Explorer and I wouldn't like to have two process managers opened.
Logged
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2010, 07:45:53 AM »

Download HomeFolder from my page:

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

edit: btw it's only been tested on SDI type applications.  Programs that run in a main window.  I don't much use MDI type apps.  May work but I don't guarantee it.

A small application and it works great with everything, Internet Explorer, Firefox, Word, etc...
Thank you very much.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,941



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2010, 12:54:28 PM »

Glad it fits the bill. smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2010, 05:00:21 AM »

Hi MilesAhead, I have a problem with HomeFolder, it consumes too much CPU (25-35%). It's a Pentium4 with XP SP3.

Screen capture of CPU performance for HomeFolder


* HomeFolder.jpg (71.52 KB, 439x508 - viewed 190 times.)
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,941



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2010, 11:43:56 AM »

Would you try this version?  I commented out the section of the loop where it detects if the FavesSA program is running.  That's likely to be the CPU expensive section.

edit: the reason the file is large is I disabled UPX compression.

edit2: I phased out the FavesSA support as it's a lot of resources for limited functionality.
Also I added some calls after completed functions to reduce memory footprint.  The new
version 1.4 is available on my hotkeys page:

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

(If it still runs up the CPU let me know. But I suspect the call to ProcessExists() to check if FavesSA is running, in the loop was the resource eater.)

« Last Edit: May 18, 2010, 12:12:02 PM by MilesAhead » Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
nogojoe
Charter Member
***
Posts: 136


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2010, 04:56:57 AM »

Would you try this version?  I commented out the section of the loop where it detects if the FavesSA program is running.  That's likely to be the CPU expensive section.

edit: the reason the file is large is I disabled UPX compression.

edit2: I phased out the FavesSA support as it's a lot of resources for limited functionality.
Also I added some calls after completed functions to reduce memory footprint.  The new
version 1.4 is available on my hotkeys page:

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

(If it still runs up the CPU let me know. But I suspect the call to ProcessExists() to check if FavesSA is running, in the loop was the resource eater.)



Hi Milesahead  Great little program only trouble I have with it is Control numpad minus is also the hotkey for decreasing the font size in Chrome.   Control numpad plus being for enlarging the font size.
Any chance of a choice of another hotkey being assigned to your program to cover the problem.
nogojoe
Logged

Often the most convincing people are those who have lost the plot so much they don't recognize the difference between fact and fantasy
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,941



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2010, 12:19:22 PM »

Would you try this version?  I commented out the section of the loop where it detects if the FavesSA program is running.  That's likely to be the CPU expensive section.

edit: the reason the file is large is I disabled UPX compression.

edit2: I phased out the FavesSA support as it's a lot of resources for limited functionality.
Also I added some calls after completed functions to reduce memory footprint.  The new
version 1.4 is available on my hotkeys page:

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

(If it still runs up the CPU let me know. But I suspect the call to ProcessExists() to check if FavesSA is running, in the loop was the resource eater.)



Hi Milesahead  Great little program only trouble I have with it is Control numpad minus is also the hotkey for decreasing the font size in Chrome.   Control numpad plus being for enlarging the font size.
Any chance of a choice of another hotkey being assigned to your program to cover the problem.
nogojoe

Thanks, I didn't know about that hotkey. Just started using Chrome myself. I'll fix you up with something soon. smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,941



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2010, 02:08:36 PM »

HomeFolder 1.5 is available for download on my hotkeys page:

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

============================================
edit: make sure the build is at least 1.5.0.3
I just fixed the About dialog and .ini file handling of the hotkeys.
Should be working correctly now I hope. smiley
The latest has been uploaded.
============================================

Note that it's a small app so I hard wired the Set Hotkey dialog routine to use Sky Blue background color if you have Glass enabled. On XP it just uses the standard theme colors.

btw thanks nogojoe for bringing this up.  Turns out I had a bug common to several other hotkey apps where changing the hotkey didn't clear the old one.

Those are fixed now also. I'll post updates under each title.

« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 02:34:12 PM by MilesAhead » Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
dieguti
Participant
*
Posts: 8


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2010, 10:49:05 AM »

Hi MilesAhead,
I tried your HomeFolder 1.5 and it has a fabulous performance.

Thanks for your tools and your time.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,941



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: May 25, 2010, 12:46:19 PM »

Glad the fix worked.  Enjoy the program. smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.11 ]