Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 27, 2014, 08:12:10 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE - IDEA: modify system path (System Path Commander)  (Read 18032 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,278



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2005, 07:14:30 AM »

well it seems you found a super important bug;
i will try to contact chr today and get a new version uploaded asap.
until then, as you say the workaround would be to open the control panel and edit the system path and resave, which should reset it.
Logged
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2005, 07:39:43 AM »

 
You can't just open System Properties applet and click OK out of it--you need to actually make some sort of change for it to resave the value.  Just make some bogus change (such as adding an "X" to the very end of the path), click OK (actually, click OK twice to be sure; I didn't check to see when System Properties saves changes).  Then go back in and undo the bogus change.

If you want to be sure, open Regedit and navigate to this key to make sure the Path value is of type REG_EXPAND_SZ:

[copy or print]
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,278



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2005, 02:32:57 PM »

new version (1.20) uploaded with fix:

1.20 - 06/29/05
 bugfix for problem reported by scott on the forum:
   http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=222.0
   System Path Commander 1.18 changed the data type of the Path value from
   its default of REG_EXPAND_SZ, to REG_SZ, which could cause windows to
   fail to expand path variables like %SystemRoot% - thanks scott!
 new versions of spc will autocorrect this issue when run for the first time.


thanks chr for the super fast fix, and thanks scott for spotting the issue and diagnosing.
Logged
Scott
Resident Googler
Charter Member
***
Posts: 377


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: June 29, 2005, 09:21:19 PM »

Thanks.  Is there any way, with SPC, to add a new entry to the User path, rather than the System path?  (Assuming you're starting with no User path entries at all, so only "SYSTEM.Path" appears in the drop-down list in the first place.)
Logged

« Next Edit: Tomorrow at 12:13:47 AM by Scott »
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,278



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: July 01, 2005, 04:44:41 AM »

scott, chr sent me new version 1.21 that is supposed to do what you are asking. it's up now.
Logged
REDONDOS
Member
**
Posts: 13

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: August 23, 2005, 12:10:55 PM »

I love it! I've been needing this since I stopped using win9x. I had to browse through a mess of chunk everytime I needed to change my system's path. Thank you, guys.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,278



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: August 23, 2005, 02:09:23 PM »

the only thing this needs that i keep on chr to figure out a trick to solve is that sometimes after you make a change its not reflected in the system right away - it requires either a reboot or easier just go to control panel, click edit path, click ok, to have the system do a little pause and flash and load the new path.
Logged
zeemar
Participant
*
Posts: 32

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: September 26, 2005, 01:38:10 PM »

It is strange that no body mentioned about the EVE ...stands for Environment Variable Editor
Here is the Link for the software

http://torry.net/apps/utilities/system/eve.zip

Using this all of the system variables can be edited... best of all it is is FREE
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,278



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: September 26, 2005, 01:51:07 PM »

great find zeemar, never heard of that one.
more info on torry's site:
http://www.torry.net/authorsmore.php?id=919

i'll add it to the system path commander help file list of related programs.


ps.
the new versions of system path commander do in fact now update the path immediately after changes.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.028s | Server load: 0.44 ]