Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 08:14:45 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Changed settings don't all get implemented?  (Read 10187 times)

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« on: March 23, 2010, 10:34:30 AM »
I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if there's a bug:
First off, I have UltraMon running also, and there are screensaver options there also.  I don't know if they interfere, but UltraMon has certain options for multimonitor.  However, I don't have "Ultramon" selected as my screensaver in the Display Properties, so I think that means Ultramon won't be used.  I have "Multiphotoquotes" selected there.  Also, if you look in Ultramon's list of screensavers, the name is renamed to "ssMultiphotoquotes".

OK, here are the settings that are not sticking:

--I changed the fonts and I'm using all 4 options.  There is no white font anymore, but everytime the screensaver starts, it's a white font.

--I've split each monitor into a 2x1 grid.  However, it seems like it's still a 1x1 grid (the initial setting).  I also have "at least one image should be full screen" selected.  This is not working.  In fact, i have no images showing.

--I have my own directory for "additional directories for default images".  None of these are showing up.

Basically, the setup I want is this:
--on the first monitor, I want my custom message in one row, and the time on the other row.
--on the 2nd monitor, I want a full-screen image from my own directory

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 09:38:57 AM »
OK, I got the setup working the way I described above.

But the font style is still not working right.  As you know, instead of quotes, I'm using the message override, so maybe the font styles don't apply to it.  Anyway, I've changed to 4 fonts in the "quote fonts" section.  These don't seem to get applied to the message that displays.

I've also changed the font style for time in the "Custom Date/Time Display" area.  But that setting doesn't stick.  If you change the font, then go to another area in the options and come back, you will see that the change reverts back to default.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 09:48:41 AM »
Quote
But the font style is still not working right.  As you know, instead of quotes, I'm using the message override, so maybe the font styles don't apply to it.  Anyway, I've changed to 4 fonts in the "quote fonts" section.  These don't seem to get applied to the message that displays.

And the checkboxes are enabled for those 4 fonts? Note that it will reduce the size if it has to.

Quote
I've also changed the font style for time in the "Custom Date/Time Display" area.  But that setting doesn't stick.  If you change the font, then go to another area in the options and come back, you will see that the change reverts back to default.

Confirmed, fixing now.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 10:03:28 AM »
And the checkboxes are enabled for those 4 fonts? Note that it will reduce the size if it has to.
Yes, all the checkboxes are enabled.  All four boxes have different colors, none are white.  However, whenever the screensaver starts, the white font is always shown.  The other fonts are never used.  This is ONLY when the message override is being used (which I am using exclusively).  If the Quote Book is used, the fonts are applied correctly.  For the override, it seems like it's going by a default setting that is not available anywhere in the options.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 12:40:58 PM »
can you see if the latest beta fixes it:
http://www.donationc...PhotoQuotesSetup.exe

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 12:54:16 PM »
can you see if the latest beta fixes it:
http://www.donationc...PhotoQuotesSetup.exe
The font for the time setting is working now.

The quote fonts still don't get applied to the message override font.  In other words, there is no way to control the font for the message override.  If you ask me, it should follow the same settings as the quote fonts.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 02:36:30 PM »
Quote
The quote fonts still don't get applied to the message override font.  In other words, there is no way to control the font for the message override.  If you ask me, it should follow the same settings as the quote fonts.

it's supposed to -- something strange is malfunctioning that is causing it not to.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2010, 02:46:32 PM »
Quote
The quote fonts still don't get applied to the message override font.  In other words, there is no way to control the font for the message override.  If you ask me, it should follow the same settings as the quote fonts.

it's supposed to -- something strange is malfunctioning that is causing it not to.
is it repeatable on your setup, or is it just me?

PS slight feature suggestion:
Can you make it so when the prompt shows up, it already shows the last away message that was picked instead of being blank?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2010, 02:55:27 PM »
Quote
is it repeatable on your setup, or is it just me?
for me its usually using the quote fonts but occasionally i do see it using the default white font.

Quote
Can you make it so when the prompt shows up, it already shows the last away message that was picked instead of being blank?
yes. you can also just hit down arrow and enter.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2010, 07:19:33 PM »
yes. you can also just hit down arrow and enter.
Ah!  ok, that's good also.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2010, 12:16:03 AM »
can you try re-downloading the new version, i can't reproduce the problem any more so it seems fixed to me:

http://www.donationc...PhotoQuotesSetup.exe

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2010, 09:23:48 AM »
can you try re-downloading the new version, i can't reproduce the problem any more so it seems fixed to me:

http://www.donationc...PhotoQuotesSetup.exe
It's still all default white for me.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2010, 10:13:18 AM »
damn that is really strange.. so it's not even sometimes using the quote fonts? if you press spacebar to randomize and generate new layouts, it's always using the default white font for your quick away message?

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2010, 10:31:36 AM »
damn that is really strange.. so it's not even sometimes using the quote fonts? if you press spacebar to randomize and generate new layouts, it's always using the default white font for your quick away message?
Actually, my bad, it seems to be working now.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2010, 10:39:08 AM »
you were using old version weren't you..  >:( >:( >:(

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2010, 12:42:50 PM »
you were using old version weren't you..  >:( >:( >:(

It is almost April 1st!

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2010, 01:21:21 PM »
you were using old version weren't you..  >:( >:( >:(
No!  it was the new version...I don't know why.

Actually, I just went to a meeting, set my away message, and came back, and it was showing another message saying I was somewhere else.  I don't know why it was doing that.  I just tried it again and it is working fine.  But I swear when I came back it was showing something else.  I'll let you know if it happens again.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2010, 02:57:34 PM »
suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuure it was...

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2010, 03:00:21 PM »
suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuure it was...
Ok!  It did it again, so now I now for sure.  Somewhere while the screensaver is going, it chooses other messages.  It looks like it cycles through the list.  Maybe it shows the first message a few times, and then the next, until it reaches the end.  So, would it be possible to have only the chosen message stick the whole time?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #19 on: March 25, 2010, 04:46:35 PM »
i have a theory about what might be happening..
you launch the exe with commandline parameters to set away message right?

and then what might be happening is after some delay.. the screensaver is kicking in -- on top of MPQ running as a standalone app.

i'll fix.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2010, 06:03:37 PM »
i have a theory about what might be happening..
you launch the exe with commandline parameters to set away message right?

and then what might be happening is after some delay.. the screensaver is kicking in -- on top of MPQ running as a standalone app.

i'll fix.
OK.  Not only that, but when it shows the other messages, it shows it in the default font that is not in my settings.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2010, 06:08:01 PM »
Quote
OK.  Not only that, but when it shows the other messages, it shows it in the default font that is not in my settings.
maybe because its the old version running as screensaver? (what are you trying to fool me twice!!!)

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2010, 07:30:25 PM »
Quote
OK.  Not only that, but when it shows the other messages, it shows it in the default font that is not in my settings.
maybe because its the old version running as screensaver? (what are you trying to fool me twice!!!)
hmm...I don't know what is happening!  Ok, I'm not at work anymore.  When i go back, I'll make sure to uninstall everything cleanly and start over.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #23 on: March 29, 2010, 08:45:32 AM »
I just uninstalled and reinstalled the program (but I did keep the ini settings).  I'm still having the same problem(s).  First, when I launch the screensaver with the message dialog popup, it shows the message in the default white font which is not in my settings.  Secondly, even though I haven't sat through the whole thing yet, I have a feeling when I come back after 10 minutes, the message will be different (cycling through the other override messages).

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Changed settings don't all get implemented?
« Reply #24 on: March 29, 2010, 08:52:23 AM »
Ok...I think I know what the problem is.
In the message override settings, there are two boxes, one for the normal message override, and the new one you did for this -away option.  Well, I had text in both of them, which I think confuses the program.  So what would happen is that while the program was running under the -away message, I would come back after an hour and see the normal message override text showing in the defualt font.  Now, I just tried watching it, but didn't see it do that under my watch.  but it happened last week.

So I removed the text from the top box and now it's working fine with the font settings and not changing the message.