Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 22, 2014, 01:28:20 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Way to have FARR only scan (1) files in My Docs and (2) start menu apps?  (Read 2663 times)
prr
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 19, 2010, 04:59:41 PM »

Is there a way to configure FARR to only provide (1) files in My Docs and (2) start menu apps in its results?

I already have Google Desktop Search for documents and am quite happy with it.

FARR is blazing fast but I hate having to pick through files that I don't want to open up.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,605



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 02:39:45 AM »

in options >> Search folders -  just select these two

Logged

Tom
prr
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2010, 10:27:53 PM »

Appreciate your quick response, but it didn't work. I uninstalled it, rebooted, reinstalled but obviously the database didn't get removed, because even though I unchecked every option but the two you highlighted, the same problem remained--a search for a folder returned many files that had similar names.

How can I remove all traces of this program, and then reinstall? Or better, simply to have FARR reindex? I'm sure there is a button that allows this, but I did look through each of the options windows and didn't see a way.
Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,478



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2010, 04:04:32 AM »

Sorry that I don't have a solution for your problem, but for reference, IIUC, FARR doesn't index -- I think there may be some plugins that one can install later that do, e.g.

  http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=10501.0
  http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=18724.0

I don't know how you've installed your FARR (I use mine in a portable set up so (I think) everything FARR-related lives in or under the directory that contains the FindAndRunRobot.exe), but perhaps the ConfigDir.ini file which lives in the same directory as FindAndRunRobot.exe may give some hints about removal as it seems to contain some information regarding where files get stored.

May be other folks have some better ideas or suggestions.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2010, 04:06:26 AM by ewemoa » Logged
d4ni
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 128


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2010, 10:39:56 AM »

tomos' solution should work. As ewemoa already points out, FARR does not use an index or 'database' as you call it. It does, however, by default adds launched items to a launchhistory, which can be cleared from the options.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,605



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2010, 11:12:15 AM »

It does, however, by default adds launched items to a launchhistory, which can be cleared from the options.

that's probably the solution
Logged

Tom
prr
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2010, 05:20:30 PM »

Clearing the launch history wouldn't have anything to do with this. All the items that I have launched (and are in the history), are in fact ones I want to appear. It is the ones I would never launch, that I'd like taken out of the results--specifically, documents (like I said I use Google Desktop search for that). I have never launched from FARR, a document, and yet my searches always end up with documents at the top, and I can't find even folders that I have launched in the past, in the results.

At any rate, in a year or so I'll come back to this and check out the release notes for subsequent versions. I have tried looking all over for alternatives to Launchy, and this is the only one that was faster than it, that did what Launchy does.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2010, 05:23:13 PM by prr » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,573



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2010, 05:29:11 PM »

maybe if you show us some screenshots of your search folders dialog screen in farr options, then we can help more.
there is no reason you can't get farr to not show those items you dont want it too -- it sounds like there is something really simply going on that you don't like, which would be easy to fix if we had a better idea of where the results are coming from that you dont want.

maybe you want to join the chat channel (see CHAT! button above) when i am around and i can try to walk you through the problem.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2010, 05:36:43 PM by mouser » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.33 ]