Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 02, 2014, 04:34:52 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Minor Glitches  (Read 4049 times)
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 09, 2010, 12:49:26 AM »

Hi, I just thought I'd post some minor problems that I encountered while messing around with circle dock  embarassed
1. when moving the rotation bar and changing values I got an error message...



2. I like having my docks always visible, but every time I open a program in my dock it hides my dock - and I have hide when opening files and folders off. It only happens with programs though not folders ohmy
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 12:54:46 AM »

Also I found that if you enter some games that change the resolution and/ or colors of your computer it will so something wierd with the dock this goes way back though (at least to the alphas). It will disable your dock but leave an image behind

Logged
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2010, 04:51:07 AM »

Hi, I just thought I'd post some minor problems that I encountered while messing around with circle dock  embarassed
1. when moving the rotation bar and changing values I got an error message...
 (see attachment in previous post)
I am unable to reproduce this problem but suspect it may be due to the way in which you have multiple instances running.

I am seriously considering removing this "feature" as it causes too many problems all round.

Quote
2. I like having my docks always visible, but every time I open a program in my dock it hides my dock - and I have hide when opening files and folders off. It only happens with programs though not folders ohmy
Check your dock items, the settings dialog value for that flag is just a default: each Dock Item has a similar setting which has greater precedence.


Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2010, 07:04:40 AM »

Aww I feel dumb now Sad ya that was the problem with the dock disapearing...
the rotation error came after I moved the bar too much and then changed the setting in the text box.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2010, 08:25:35 AM by Archon of Fate » Logged
Ltan
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2010, 04:03:12 PM »

Archon,  I had the first problem as well on Win 7 x64.  I went to my folder and gave "Everyone" full control.  Not the wisest method, but it is working without a hitch now....   welll....  sorta.. I don't think win7 really likes it that much.  Mine keeps me from being able to use the CTRL key o.0

Ltan
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2010, 05:04:18 PM »

interesting... I have to try this
Logged
Ltan
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2010, 05:43:37 PM »

Hope it works!  I figured out that my problem with the CTRL key was due to the fact that I had the CTRL key setup as a trigger for showing CD.  I tookthat off and my CTRL key is working again...


Next step...  multiple instances....
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2010, 05:48:10 PM »

if you want all of your docks to start at startup use a bat file to start them...
this code worked for me (most of the time)
timeout 10
start C:\"Circle Dock4"\"CircleDock.exe"
timeout 20
start C:\"Circle Dock3"\"CircleDock.exe"
timeout 20
start C:\"Circle Dock2"\"CircleDock.exe"
timeout 20
start C:\"Circle Dock1"\"CircleDock.exe"

exit


 - thought I'd give you this info just so you don't run into the problem I did  smiley
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 06:03:03 PM by Archon of Fate » Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 05:53:38 PM »

I also ran into another problem...

when i make a new shortcut on my dock the defalt setting in to not hide the dock on opening the file but later when I use the shortcut it hides the dock... ahhhhh. then I go into the shortcut settings and its enabled! what? I got no idea why this happens...
Logged
sgtevmckay
Moderator
*****
Posts: 836


Magis Esse

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2010, 07:27:34 PM »

Breath friend....
It is not just happening to you  Wink
Logged
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2010, 10:04:23 PM »

Hope it works!  I figured out that my problem with the CTRL key was due to the fact that I had the CTRL key setup as a trigger for showing CD.  I tookthat off and my CTRL key is working again...


Next step...  multiple instances....

Good catch! I've just checked the code and just realised that, if any of Shift, Ctrl, Alt and Win are used as Mouse Modifiers, I'm suppressing the KeyUp and KeyDown triggers - ie not passing them down the chain. Oh dear! That's bad! I've corrected the code and now I will only suppress the Win key's KeyUp and KeyDown if that key is used as a modifier. The reason for suppressing the Win(dows) key is that if you want to use that key as a Mouse Modifier then it's highly likely you don't want the Start Menu displayed upon pressing it.

Looks like there'll be another update today, folks...


Mark
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2010, 11:50:10 PM »

Sorry if i came off too forceful earlier, was a little confused thats all
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2010, 07:55:39 PM »

I feel like an ass because All I have done is mostly post bugs.  Sad
...but I think I found another one though.
sometime when cd stats up it will move some random icons on the dock and post them in the top left hand corner
this is completely random but it seems to happen on start up...



Tell me if you need more info on this problem and ill gladly give it
« Last Edit: February 16, 2010, 07:57:44 PM by Archon of Fate » Logged
sgtevmckay
Moderator
*****
Posts: 836


Magis Esse

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2010, 08:18:43 PM »

Yep....gonna need more details

I am nor sure what you are pointing out???  tellme
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2010, 08:53:29 PM »

the empty spots in my dock are supposed to have icons there, but the icons where rendered in the top left corner on top of each other...

I run windows 7
.net fremework 3.5

hwever the only way that this problem duplicates itself is completely random. when it will happen i have no idea.

I wasnt running multiple docks at the time, in fact all times this happened is when i wasn't.
Logged
sgtevmckay
Moderator
*****
Posts: 836


Magis Esse

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2010, 10:36:59 PM »

I got you:



I have not seen this happen to me since v1.0
If toggle dock visibility will it go away?????
Logged
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2010, 10:37:12 PM »

You will generally only see this effect when adding a new Dock Item using the context menu's "Add File, Folder or Special Item". The program is, at that point, in a bit of a "chicken and egg" situation. It can't place the dock item without some form of valid image and the dock item isn't added - and the dock redrawn - until that dialog is dismissed. This form of behaviour has been in all versions of the program and is down to the way the Net Framework works.

I have not witnessed the behaviour you mention and no-one else has mentioned it either, so I'm not yet convinced that there's a problem with Circle Dock in that regard. It is conceivable that an image has got "stuck" some how and if that's the case, select the dock and do something that will cause it to reposition its items on screen - such as move it or rotate the items. That should clear the effect.



Mark
Logged
sgtevmckay
Moderator
*****
Posts: 836


Magis Esse

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2010, 10:40:12 PM »

You will generally only see this effect when adding a new Dock Item using the context menu's "Add File, Folder or Special Item". The program is, at that point, in a bit of a "chicken and egg" situation. It can't place the dock item without some form of valid image and the dock item isn't added - and the dock redrawn - until that dialog is dismissed. This form of behaviour has been in all versions of the program and is down to the way the Net Framework works.

I have not witnessed the behaviour you mention and no-one else has mentioned it either, so I'm not yet convinced that there's a problem with Circle Dock in that regard. It is conceivable that an image has got "stuck" some how and if that's the case, select the dock and do something that will cause it to reposition its items on screen - such as move it or rotate the items. That should clear the effect.



Mark

I have seen this issue out side of Creating a new icon instance.
Observe closely, you will see that there are 3 or four icons in that corner from several areas.

I have not seen this since v1, but normally toggling will correct.
When it happened to me it was usually during startup or starting CD

So it is not an isolated creation of a shortcut, but something else
Logged
Markham
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 404


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2010, 01:31:32 AM »

I am wondering if this is another 64-bit only issue. 32-bit programs running on a 64-bit OS are running in an emulator ("WOW" or "Windows On Windows") and there could be an issue there.

I need to get a true 64-bit version done.



Mark
Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: February 17, 2010, 08:10:57 AM »

Im not sure if it would be a 64 bit issue besause im running the 32 bit version of windows 7
I got you:
 (see attachment in previous post)
I have not seen this happen to me since v1.0
If toggle dock visibility will it go away?????
toggleing the dock invisibility doesnt work i usually have to add another icon to the dock for it to rerender the whole dock. what Markham said about rotating the dock works too.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 08:23:02 AM by Archon of Fate » Logged
Archon of Fate
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 174


View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2010, 07:49:47 PM »

I'm at a loss oce again, my computer is fighting me again...

I recently got an error with my power options dock, ithink its saying a files misiing.
so i reinsatlled the dock and the error is still there.
i reinstalled it again this time without my icon settings and it still give me an error.



on top of that my 1st dock is set to lock at location but when i run my dock it resets its location
my computer is really starting to annoy, because i think and fear that it might be changing my docks...

however it only appears to not work then the folder is circledock1 anyother folder works for some reason...
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 08:02:06 PM by Archon of Fate » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.02 ]