Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 03:57:16 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: commandline screenshot options  (Read 6436 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
commandline screenshot options
« on: January 21, 2006, 11:09:01 PM »
thanks to a company who put up some money for this, i'm going to be releasing a little minicap utility for commandline invocation of non-interactive screenshots.

i'm looking for any suggestions of features to add.

[EDITED - i removed the details here since they are now documented in the official announcement of MiniCap, see below]

MiniCap has now been released for beta testing:

http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=2179.0
« Last Edit: January 24, 2006, 06:47:19 PM by mouser »

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2006, 12:47:55 PM »
Hm, maybe
- compressionRate 75%
- compression 6
- addBorder R,10,FFAA33; B,10,666666
- addShadow 10,FF0000
- addWatermark copyleft.gif,Bottom,Right,20,20
- addFrame oval.gif


GeorgeH

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2006, 01:40:45 PM »
I'd like to see a simple file open command.  Sometimes I want to add annotations to images other than screenshots.  Of course, it is possible to add any image to the default screenshot folder, but a file open would be easier. 

Need to be able to adjust line width on text boxes like you can on arrows. 

Other than that, you might want to compare your program to SnagIt to see features you migh add. 

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2006, 01:49:49 PM »
GeorgeH wrote:
> I'd like to see a simple file open command.

We talk here about an command line tool. :-)
There would be no graphical user interface like an file open dialog.

If you look for an app like SnagIt
you can try the full blow Screenshot Captor at
http://www.donationc...hotcaptor/index.html

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2006, 04:43:48 PM »
stefan is right (by the way screenshot captor does have a quickie "add image to current screenshot", see last item on file menu).

LuckMan212

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2006, 10:34:10 PM »
wow this is great!
cant wait for this to release!

I can use nnCron (my favorite task scheduler) to invoke this once every 10 mins or something in order to achieve my "work log with screenshots" idea that I had posted over here

thanks mouser!!   :Thmbsup:

1 question:  will this program be fast?  can it run in low priority (maybe prio could be a commandline switch) so as not to interfere with the foreground app?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2006, 10:44:01 PM »
i think it would almost certainly be more efficient and speedy if the program itself was made to stay in memory and take a snapshot every 10 minutes, rather than relaunching the exe every 10 minutes.  if you were doing it once an hour or once a day, that might be different, but the program is not so small that you would really want to relaunch the exe every 10 minutes.

but youll surely be able to find a tiny ms visual c++ app that does nothing but capture screenshot of desktop and save it, which would be suitable for your task and nncron.   even though minicap is smaller than screenshot captor, it's still not super small.

LuckMan212

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2006, 10:50:25 PM »
well so far the only thing I've found is this:

http://www.svet-soft.com/cap.shtml

it costs $39 but may be worth it.. I am going to try the demo version.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2006, 11:28:31 PM »
wow.. that's a lot of money for something like that.
i would wait for minicap this week, and keep looking.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2006, 06:47:47 PM »
minicap is now available for betatesting (see post at top of section).

LuckMan212

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: commandline screenshot options
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2006, 06:53:21 PM »
Thanks mouser!! downloading now.......  :Thmbsup: