Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 21, 2014, 06:58:43 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Faster boots combining hibernate and restart (Boot Snooze)  (Read 62877 times)
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: February 06, 2010, 11:39:56 AM »

In support of my comment above, I do realise that that limitation will limit Boot Snooze's functionality for some. 
Logged

mazzthepianoman
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: February 06, 2010, 01:00:23 PM »

Any chance of adding command line support? I use a batch file at night to run a lot of utilities then shutdown. However if I could have it run Boot Snooze at the end instead automatically it would be a huge time saver.
Logged
Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: February 06, 2010, 02:49:47 PM »

Is Boot Snooze an AHK app? Will you be releasing the source script?

I am still keen to understand why my PC will not Hibernate / Standby when initiated by BS, but will if performed manually. It seems odd that no-one else seems to be having this issue!

Perhaps a look at the source might allow me to do some experimenting of my own?
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: February 06, 2010, 03:02:41 PM »

Yes, it's an AHK application.  The main bit for the standby/hibernate is a simple one-liner:

Formatted for AutoIt with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. ; Suspend_Method of 0, Suspend
  2. ; Suspend_Method of 1, Hibernate
  3. DllCall( "PowrProf\SetSuspendState", "int", Suspend_Method, "int", 0, "int", 0 )

This DLL call is described in the AHK help file under the Shutdown command.  If you can figure out the issue on your system, I'll try to implement any fix you come up with.
Logged

Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: February 06, 2010, 04:13:23 PM »

Thanks for the info (and continued interest!)

The curious thing is that if I copy this command into an AHK script and run it, the system hibernates just fine! So I am now very confused as to what is going on!!

Could it be that the value of Suspend_Method is getting lost / being corrupted along the way?
Or that the command is not being executed for some reason, and that BS simply closes / crashes?

Not sure how to test these ideas... do you have any thoughts.?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,571



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: February 06, 2010, 04:27:31 PM »

maybe it has to do with the permissions of the program being different when run manually vs. run at startup?
Logged
wep
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 31


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: February 06, 2010, 04:51:45 PM »

.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 04:59:01 PM by wep » Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: February 06, 2010, 05:35:27 PM »

@Ampa:  I've sent you a PM with a link to a private test build.  Let me know what you find, thanks.
Logged

mazzthepianoman
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: February 07, 2010, 02:49:52 AM »

What is the Run Once .reg key Boot Snooze uses for running hibernate after a delay? I am thinking I can use this to add the reg key during a shutdown batch script I use then have the script restart instead when complete essentially automating Boot Snooze after my batch defrags, runs ccleaner, etc.
Logged
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 886


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: February 07, 2010, 04:13:01 AM »

Hi, I have a question : when I activate BootSnooze, after reboot, my XP Home PC stays on the logon screen and doesn't hibernate.  Its only when I log on that the bootsnooze window opens and hibernation starts after the set up delay. Is there a way to still get the hibernation without logging on ?
Logged

.merle1.
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: February 07, 2010, 08:21:59 AM »

What is the Run Once .reg key Boot Snooze uses for running hibernate after a delay? I am thinking I can use this to add the reg key during a shutdown batch script I use then have the script restart instead when complete essentially automating Boot Snooze after my batch defrags, runs ccleaner, etc.

FWIW, I'll be adding full commandline control to Boot Snooze soon.

Hi, I have a question : when I activate BootSnooze, after reboot, my XP Home PC stays on the logon screen and doesn't hibernate.  Its only when I log on that the bootsnooze window opens and hibernation starts after the set up delay. Is there a way to still get the hibernation without logging on ?

No, there isn't (at least from Boot Snooze).  There are several ways to auto-login to your computer, though.  TweakUI is one...but that decision is up to you.
Logged

MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 886


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: February 07, 2010, 08:29:27 AM »

No, there isn't (at least from Boot Snooze).  There are several ways to auto-login to your computer, though.  TweakUI is one...but that decision is up to you.

OK, thanks for the clarification.
Logged

.merle1.
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: February 07, 2010, 08:29:52 AM »

FWIW, I'll be adding full commandline control to Boot Snooze soon.
While you're at it please try to remember that it (my copy at least) still doesn't brew my morning coffee!
Logged

Chris
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: February 07, 2010, 08:35:23 AM »

While you're at it please try to remember that it (my copy at least) still doesn't brew my morning coffee!

It's on the ToDo.   tongue
Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: February 08, 2010, 02:02:40 PM »

Website | Download
v1.0.4 - 2010-02-08
    + Added commandline support.  REQUIRED parameters are:
        mode=[reboot|suspend]      ('reboot' will reboot and then go to the hibernate/standby delay timer.
                                    'suspend' will skip the reboot and go straight to the hibernate/standby delay timer)
        method=[hibernate|standby]
        bdelay=#                   (where # is the number of minutes to delay BEFORE rebooting)
        adelay=#                   (where # is the number of minutes to delay AFTER rebooting)
       
        e.g.:   c:\path\to\BootSnooze.exe mode=reboot method=hibernate bdelay=0 adelay=5
       
    ! Fixed a timing issue where Boot Snooze wouldn't hibernate/standby on some systems.
      (Thanks, Ampa)
Logged

Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: February 08, 2010, 03:50:40 PM »

Excellent update - now does everything, for everybody!
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: February 08, 2010, 03:53:44 PM »

Thanks...I just hope that that latest update didn't break anything for anybody.  =]
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: February 08, 2010, 07:42:50 PM »

Thanks...I just hope that that latest update didn't break anything for anybody.  =]
I  was so astonished at your dexterity that I dropped my DC mug and it shattered -- does that count?  Wink
Logged

Chris
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,807



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: February 08, 2010, 08:14:58 PM »

Thanks...I just hope that that latest update didn't break anything for anybody.  =]
I  was so astonished at your dexterity that I dropped my DC mug and it shattered -- does that count?  Wink

Was that because of the coffee??

skwire: you might have a bug in the coffee process  Cry
Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,113



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: February 08, 2010, 08:26:31 PM »

* skwire goes and gets another coffee for testing purposes. 
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: February 08, 2010, 11:45:43 PM »

* skwire goes and gets another coffee for testing purposes. 

What a grind!
Logged

Chris
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,931



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #96 on: February 09, 2010, 03:22:11 PM »

* skwire goes and gets another coffee for testing purposes. 

What a grind!

You've obviously got a mill-ion puns.  Man that is one heavy mug though. I heard the Governor of California requested a pair so he could work out without being such a dumb bell.

Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #97 on: February 09, 2010, 05:37:17 PM »

Quote from: MilesAhead
he could work out without being such a dumb bell
Probably training for a bout in the ring.
Logged

Chris
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,931



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #98 on: February 09, 2010, 06:48:31 PM »

Quote from: MilesAhead
he could work out without being such a dumb bell
Probably training for a bout in the ring.

Hmmmmm, don't get it. Guess I have to let it percolate for a bit. smiley
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #99 on: February 09, 2010, 09:52:36 PM »

Hmmmmm, don't get it.
Yeah, well, when it comes to the halt and the lame I'm full astern both  smiley
Logged

Chris
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.11s | Server load: 0.22 ]