Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:26:11 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: 2 copies of same app running  (Read 3470 times)

sony40

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
2 copies of same app running
« on: January 14, 2010, 01:40:21 PM »
Will PT prevent 2 instances of the same app from running at the same time ?  Am having this problem in vista typically with the browser on occasion.  I can't close the app even with task manager - have to reboot to fix.  I believe this is a feature of Process lasso.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: 2 copies of same app running
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 01:51:58 PM »
There is no option in PT to do this.. And if you can't close the app even with task manager it sounds like something else is wrong besides just two copies running.

sony40

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: 2 copies of same app running
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2010, 12:49:20 PM »
I agree but can't figure it out.  May be caused by conflict with another running app. Memory checks out, CPU not overheating.  Might go 3 wks without seeing it then twice in one day.  Looking for a workaround.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: 2 copies of same app running
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2010, 12:55:55 PM »
i guess i can see several cases where being alerted about 2 processes of same name running would actually be useful, as a signal that something is wrong. maybe i will add this to the next version of Process Tamer.