Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 25, 2014, 02:48:30 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Can't sniff any packets?  (Read 5607 times)
willing
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 09, 2010, 07:51:53 PM »

Hi,

I've installed the newest version of URL Snooper (2.26.01) and WinPcap (4.1.1) in my computer, and when I started it, it said that Auto Detect is failed.
Okay, then I selected the adapter driver manually, in my list is "Network adapter 'Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller' on localhost."
However, when I clicked the "Sniff Network" and try to sniff something, it doesn't work.
No any URL show up in list and no packets be accouted in status bar.
I executed URL Snooper under Admin right, and My firewall is NIS 2010, but I've set a rule that let both URL Snooper and WinPcap access network.

I executed windump with -D parameter and got this information:
Quote
D:\>windump.exe -D
1.\Device\NPF_{4CF18BD9-EE19-4BE6-8932-9B4FAA3222D8} (Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller)

My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate x64,MB is Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P, and the on-board Network Contrller is Realtek RTL8168C/8111C PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (PHY: Realtek RTL8211/8212) PCI.

Are those information enough to report and solve the problem? Wink
Logged
Tim Choi
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 08:27:24 AM »

I have a same problem too. but, still have no idea.
Anyone can help?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,704



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2010, 10:19:25 AM »

It sounds like URL Snooper is detecting the adapter.. i'm not sure why it wouldn't be working.  Is that in fact the adapter that you are using in your computer?
Logged
willing
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2010, 08:01:08 AM »

It sounds like URL Snooper is detecting the adapter.. i'm not sure why it wouldn't be working.  Is that in fact the adapter that you are using in your computer?
Yes. But I can't figure out why URL Snooper doesn't work on it...
Maybe WinPcap still have some problems?
Logged
GAMEchief
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2010, 02:34:28 PM »

I'm having the same problem. It can find the network drivers, but can't use them apparently. It used to work. I have no clue what changed, but it doesn't anymore. Windows 7, 64bit. WinPcap finds 3 drivers fine. Just UrlSnooper can't get any of them to work. Other snooping programs can use them appropriately, but don't do what I want (which UrlSnooper does), so I really wish a fix would be found. I absolute adore UrlSnooper.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,704



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2010, 04:24:59 PM »

Is the packet count in the status bar increasing as it sniffs traffic and as you browse the web, etc.?
Logged
GAMEchief
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2010, 12:47:40 PM »

It never gets that far. It says it fails when auto-detecting the network adapter. Manually choosing it doesn't do anything.

I'm wondering if installing other software (e.g. Wireshark, etc.) somehow broke UrlSnooper? It's the only thing I can think of that's changed since UrlSnooper stopped working. I've already uninstalled all such software and reinstalled UrlSnooper, but to no avail.
Logged
GAMEchief
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2010, 06:55:32 AM »

Bump, seeing as how you replied to another topic. Any diagnostics programs I could run to help find the problem?
Logged
willing
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2010, 07:36:01 PM »

OK. I've found the answer.
If anyone got the same problem as me, you may have to try uncheck the option "Only scan my computer (no-promiscuous)."
I'm not sure it's a right way or not; however, it works under my situation.
So eventually my URL Snooper can sniff network packets correctly now.

BTW, sometimes we must try and try by ourself. Relying on others usually can't get what we really want.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2010, 06:58:21 AM by willing » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,704



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2010, 08:11:18 PM »

thanks for the great clue willing; i will start recommending this to everyone who has troubles, maybe put it on the screen as well.
Logged
GAMEchief
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2010, 03:25:25 PM »

I unticked it, but still AutoDetect says it fails. Sad
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,704



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2010, 03:31:27 PM »

dont worry about autodetect -- just select your adapter manually and click "start sniffing" and watch the status bar as you browse the web.
Logged
GAMEchief
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2010, 10:23:30 PM »

None of them do anything.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.036s | Server load: 0.08 ]