Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 08:15:26 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: A single hotkey that runs a single command line. Smallest. Snack. Ever?  (Read 2987 times)

tmpusr

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 154
  • Instantiation stuck in meatspace with no backup
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Should just wait and consume no CPU.

If you can make an icon or a colored or transparent area that runs a program when clicked, that'd be nice to have too for the occasions when pressing or remembering a hot key is just too much work. A single pixel in a corner would be nice.

SleepingWolf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
I guess the obvious questions are 1) Which operating system? 2) What command line? 3) Is a gui required for changing the command line? 4) Or is changing a .ini style file sufficient?

I can't help feeling you'd be better off with a launcher style program like popsel, qsel, our-own (or rather Mousers' own) FARR or launchy. Either one could be tethered to a hotkey (using start-menu shortcuts for instance).
-------------------------------------------

Choose life -or at least respect it.

steeladept

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,059
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Isn't that what the "Run..." option is for in XP?  If so, I know Vista and 7 have something similar, though I don't remember where or what it is called since I don't use those systems much.

Sorry, missed the hotkey request.  The windows hotkey for this is Win+R.  See?  Already built in - no extra resources.  Now FARR is great if you want to extend that, but for this single snack, Win+R works great.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2010, 12:20:51 PM by steeladept »

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Sorry, missed the hotkey request.  The windows hotkey for this is Win+R.  See?  Already built in - no extra resources.
Except if you want to run a predefined command-line :)
- carpe noctem