Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 18, 2014, 01:33:20 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: [not a bug] Grid relative edges respect taskbar but not docked images?  (Read 3689 times)
lolmaus
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 24, 2009, 03:05:01 AM »

I'm using an IM with buddy list docked to a side of my monitor.

When i maximize a window using Windows native maximize button, the window maximizes without overlapping the docked buddy list and the taskbar.

Why doesn't GridMove behave the same?

When calculating relative grid edges, it takes taskbar into consideration but ignores docked windows. I think this is a flaw.

Please fix it! ^^
« Last Edit: January 19, 2010, 07:19:02 AM by lolmaus » Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,717



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2009, 05:50:29 AM »

GridMove uses the area which windows returns as available. Apparently, that area includes the area where your buddy list is docked, there isn't anything I can do.
What you can do is edit the grid you're using to not include that area.
Logged

lolmaus
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2010, 07:20:49 AM »

I've decided to follow your advice and found out that GridMove's relative grid edges DO respect docked windows!

It was just me using a bad grid.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,717



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2010, 08:03:07 AM »

Cool cheesy
Logged

lolmaus
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2010, 02:55:56 AM »

Hey jgpaiva!

I had reported a bug here but then discovered i cannot reproduce it and reported that i had mistaken.

Recently i started using GridMove after a period of inactivity and discovered that the bug persists. I investigated it and here's the result.

When started, GridMove does respect docked windows. But if you undock a window and dock it back, GridMove will no longer respect it: when placing windows on grid, it would place them behind the docked window. Sad

To resolve the issue, i have to restart GridMove every time i drag a dockable window.

This is definitely a bug. Please say you're gonna fix it. smiley

Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,717



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2010, 05:37:05 AM »

Hi!

I see the problem. It is related with changing resolutions. I fixed this sometime in the past by forcing GridMove to reload every time it found a change in resolution. However, it caused more trouble than benefit and I ended up disabling that part of the code Sad
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.03s | Server load: 0 ]