Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 23, 2014, 04:58:08 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: How to reassign monitor numbering in dual-monitor setup (XP)?  (Read 4650 times)
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,739


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 23, 2009, 10:11:46 AM »

I have a dual monitor setup and every once in a while (I don't know why), the numbering of the monitors gets flipped.  This is a big pain in the but because now I have to redo my settings and go in the display control panel and change everything so that the order (from left to right) is 2-1, where it used to be 1-2.  Ideally, I'd like to be able to reassign what is "1" and what is "2", but I can't find anything for that.  Even if I check settings that say make this monitor "primary" that still doesn't change the monitor's number.  So, any advice on this?
Logged

KeithBu
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 11:58:37 AM »

I had this problem intermittently for a long time also, and found this solution recently:

http://www.sevenforums.co...dual-monitor-support.html

"In the screen resolution settings, just grab the monitor and move it to the other side"
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,739


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2009, 12:13:25 PM »

I had this problem intermittently for a long time also, and found this solution recently:

http://www.sevenforums.co...dual-monitor-support.html

"In the screen resolution settings, just grab the monitor and move it to the other side"

No, that doesn't fix it.  I mean, yes, it fixes it in the sense that everything seems to be back to normal.  However, the monitors will then be in the order of 2-1, which i don't like.  i want to actually change the monitor numbering.  Why?  Because many programs remember which monitor they last ran on, and when they switch like this, you have your programs opening on the opposite monitors than you like.  So, the real, ideal fix is to renumber the monitors.
Logged

cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2009, 12:56:37 PM »

If it's one graphics card with two connections, try switching the cables.

If it's two cards, then I'm not sure if you want to switch, depending on the card's abilities.
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,739


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2009, 02:40:34 PM »

If it's one graphics card with two connections, try switching the cables.

If it's two cards, then I'm not sure if you want to switch, depending on the card's abilities.
Yeah, I know.  But I wanted to see if it could be done with some kind of software or tweak.
Logged

superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,739


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2010, 11:05:59 AM »

Someone really really really needs to make a program that will allow users to manually reassign monitor numbers on Windows.  No cable changing, no workarounds with monitor placements in the display properties.  Actual, real reassignment of the monitor numbering.  As in, "I want this monitor to be #1".  All the workarounds are frustrating and a pain in the butt.
Logged

steeladept
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,056



Fettucini alfredo is macaroni & cheese for adults

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2010, 11:33:57 AM »

That, I believe, would have to necessarily rest in the hands of either Microsoft or the individual driver writers - probably a little of both!
Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,739


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2010, 02:52:42 PM »

Yeah, probably.  I imagine the drivers for the more crazy multi-monitor setups are handled much better.  Let's say you have a 20 monitor setup.  I can't imagine assigning monitor numbers is this lame.  Can you imagine??  If monitor #18 and 19 were not in the right place?  You'd have to switch the cables and/or physically switch the monitor positions.  And then you'd have the problem of which was the primary one and where the startbar would appear.  There's no way they don't have a better way of doing it.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.027s | Server load: 0.13 ]