Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 23, 2014, 09:25:16 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Post your Programs where Scrolling Window Capture Fails  (Read 17979 times)
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: August 07, 2006, 12:11:29 AM »

Another one: The Query Analyzer from Microsoft.

I wanted to capture an execution plan, but it failed.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,384



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: August 07, 2006, 02:56:00 AM »

please post some urls where i can try these tools.
note: make sure you are currently in an input field when you trigger it, as it tries to use keyboard simulation to scroll the window.
Logged
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: August 07, 2006, 01:03:55 PM »

Unfortunatly the query analyzer is part of the Enterprise Manager and not free. So i can't offer an URL.

What happened was, that the window scrolled as expected, but the result didn't fit. If you like, i can post the screenshot that sc created?

Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: May 17, 2007, 12:40:02 AM »

mouser, need some help in capturing firefox's add-ons window. when i use the "auto-scroll capture" feature, the selected object turns dark and scrolls up and down but the end product is only the visible window..



Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,384



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2007, 02:03:06 AM »

ill take a look at it; ps there is a great FF extension for listing all your extensions with url links by the way, if that's what you are wanting to do.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,090



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: May 17, 2007, 09:35:57 PM »

thanks mouser, i know about the extension but i want to make a screen capture of the add-on window.. btw, after several tries, i got a different output (see pic).. smiley

Logged

IFreitag
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: August 30, 2007, 02:09:29 AM »

Hello,

are there any news about the problems where the scrolling function only takes a screenshot of the currently visible page?
I'm trying to create a screenshot (for test) from a textfile in ultraedit. The same text in notepad.exe is being captured fine, but in ultra edit it doesn't work at all, showing only the current visible screen as result image.

I'm having the same problem in Altova XMLSpy. Because this software is not freeware I reproduced the same error in ultra edit (which can be used as 30-day trial)

I'm currently using XP Home (with all updates), Screenshot Capture 2.33.02

I would be grateful for an answer smiley

IF
Logged
IFreitag
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: September 06, 2007, 02:24:26 AM »

Hello all,

it is a pitty, that nobody answered on my last posting above till now.
Am I the only person with this problem?

I installed the new Version from 1st of September, but the problems still exist.

Many regards,

IF
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,384



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: September 06, 2007, 03:05:46 AM »

I remember this problem from testing ultraedit, it has to do with an unusual scrollbar or client window space.  i will try to take another look at it and see what can be done to fix it.
Logged
IFreitag
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: September 06, 2007, 03:19:55 AM »

Hello Mouser,

thank you very much for your answer smiley
I'm looking forward for your solution smileysmiley

Could it help to define the size of the workingspace manually?
Or a semi automatic mode, where the user has to scroll between each screenshot and your programm connects all those screenshots automatically?
With this mechanism it might also be possible to create screenshots from 'endless scrollers' like in Ultraedit, where you can scroll nearly endless to the right. (I know, that it doesn't make sense to take screenshots of the textarea of a texteditor, but it is only an example Wink)

Many greetings,

IF
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,384



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: September 06, 2007, 05:01:56 AM »

Quote
Or a semi automatic mode, where the user has to scroll between each screenshot and your programm connects all those screenshots automatically?

we must be thinking alike, that idea just occured to me as well..
there are 3 hard parts about scrolling window capture:
1) determining the overlap between pages
2) determining when to stop scrolling and finish the capture.
3) sending the scroll commands to the window (page down or line down).

often all 3 of these issues can be done automatically, and scrolling window capture works.

sometimes 1 of these issues proves too hard for sc and it fails.

but a semi-automated process where the user is responsible for doing the page down commands and knowing when to stop, could be the perfect compromise with hard cases.
Logged
IFreitag
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: September 07, 2007, 12:46:39 AM »

This could be a possibility to make screenshots from nearly everything, bigger than 1 screen.
How do you connect the different continuous screenshots at the moment?

Do you exactly know the overlap and then merge them by those values, or do you compare the contents of the images for equalness at the border?

If you're already using an algorithm, then the manual mode should be not too hard to implement (imho).
In the other case you will need a good algorithm smiley
Logged
appyface
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 18


Isn't she beautiful? :-)

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: January 16, 2010, 03:43:30 PM »

Hi Mouser,

I have purchased software that scrolling capture doesn't work on, unfortunately I can't provide a test as having the software would not help, you'd need to connect to my company's server before you'd have a window you can scroll. :-(

If my observations are correct, SC is unable to determine the size of the window to capture.  The window flashes several times but does not scroll as I'm used to seeing.  The actual capture is a single screen from somewhere a few lines down from the top of the window.

I don't see evidence that SC is troubled by inteference, such as from scrollbars.  Nonetheless I tried the advanced options such as sendkeys, with and without large ignore margins.  These tests have not made a difference, as they appear to only affect the process of the actual capture and not what comes before.

If you have a debug/logging version, I can run that for you.  I can also send you a video of the desktop while SC is attempting the scrolling capture.  Please let me know if these would help, or if there is anything else I can do to help resolve this issue.

Kind regards,
--appyface
Logged
crazylaz
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: January 22, 2010, 08:03:15 PM »

Hi Mouser,

I just tried out Screenshot Captor and the Scrolling Window Capture failed. I tried to capture a long blog in Mozilla Firefox 3.57 and I got 2 different results when capturing under Windows 7 (64-bit). The first did some scrolling but not until the bottom of the page. The second capture did a bit more scrolling but still not until the bottom of the page. This is the page I tried to capture: http://padstyle.com/

Until now I used SnagIt for the capturing and it worked fine, but I just thought to give Screenshot Captor a try. Maybe you have a solution for it.

Thanks,
crazylaz
Logged
kli6891
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 36

View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: February 09, 2010, 01:33:28 PM »

Scrolling capture doesn't seem to work under google chrome.

Result when trying to capture this page.

http://i.imgur.com/Va0Aj.png
Logged

antiplex
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: June 06, 2010, 01:13:50 PM »

hi mouser,

i just stumbled over screenshot captor and start to quite like it, especially the scrolling window capture is something that seems handy (among all the other helpful and well-thought details of this powerful app).
i had very mixed results when trying capturing various scrollable containers:

firefox (3.5x)  gave very mixed results, sometimes fine, sometimes just the to section (no scrolled-iin sections seems to have been added)
thunderbird 3: seems like longer emails made trouble (i know its a weird thing to take screenshots of emails but there happen to be cases where it makes quite sense for me in combination with splice)
adobe acrobat reader (9.?) did not work very well at zoomed out (y100%) views
xplorer² (one of my altime favourite tools from zabkat.com) seems to scroll not linear but aligns the lines in steps, my guess is this gives trouble to ssc

anyway, a nice tool, it i still like/use it in the next weeks i should seriously consider a donation...
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.043s | Server load: 0.08 ]