Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 07:40:29 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Windows 7 multiple monitor switch/cycle buttons  (Read 2405 times)

kevyn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Windows 7 multiple monitor switch/cycle buttons
« on: December 18, 2009, 04:07:09 AM »
Hi guys,

here is my problem:

In vista, I used to have an autohotkey script that opened up the nvidia control panel, and selected one of 3 profiles I had saved on my system:

  • 1 - single screen only (monitor 1 only - for gaming)
  • 2 - dual monitors (monitor 1+2 - for everyday use)
  • 3 - TV out (monitor 1+3)

I created 3 little buttons that sat in my quick launch bar representing each setup.

Now I was wondering if there is anyway of doing this for Windows 7 without using autohotkey/nvidia control panel? I've searched and searched, but can't find anyway to trigger the screen resolution --> select which 2 monitors to use --> confirm selection process.

The end result would be to have a small taskbar app that I could right click on and select one of my setups, or alternativly, just 3 little scripts that I could put on the taskbar to use

 I'm not a programer, and this is my first post, so please go easy on me!

Here is my old AHK scripts as well as the icons I used (just in case they come in useful)

Lefax32

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Windows 7 multiple monitor switch/cycle buttons
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2009, 12:57:48 PM »
I use the displayswitch.exe (type in start menu search)
pic

I only have 2 monitors though and it works for that perfectly fine (options to pick between monitor, extend or duplicate). But, I have no idea though if it will give more options for 3 displays.

kevyn

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Windows 7 multiple monitor switch/cycle buttons
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2009, 06:48:07 AM »
Yes I had a feeling this would be suggested (windows key + P does the same thing) - however it doesn't let you choose which of your 3 monitors you can use, it is more of a function for 2 screens/projectors.

thanks for the input anyway. Looks like this is going to be a quiet thread!