Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 08:07:42 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap  (Read 62511 times)

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #100 on: October 28, 2012, 03:53:57 AM »

I'm not going to ask for the following, but it logically seems a next step, just for some future possibility:

In Append, a drop-down menu of, say, the past few files which have been appended to.

Right now, Cliptrap remembers the last file appended to.  Which is fantastic.

But if the past five files could be remembered, and offered in a drop-down menu when the Append button is pressed, when user is cruising around doing research, and comes across something to add to the previous file, or four files ago, easy to click on that file in the drop-down menu, and add to that one.

In this way, several sets of research can be easily added to concurrently.

As I say, not asking for this.  Just an idea.

As Cliptrap presently stands seems to perfectly meet my needs.

 

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #101 on: March 12, 2013, 02:51:08 AM »
I've noticed that with some "system tray icons" clicking once on them opens up their window, and clicking again makes the window disappear back to the system tray.

I wonder if that could be implemented in Cliptrap?

Thanks!


BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
ClipTrap Files Size Limiting Feature
« Reply #102 on: May 01, 2013, 10:07:51 PM »
Skwire,

Here is a feature I have been thinking about recently.

I like to leave Cliptrap on and forget about it.  I have the security of knowing everything is captured.

However, sometimes my clip.txt file gets very large (mine is currently at 5mb!).

Here is what I would like to see:
An option to set a maximum size to the clip.txt file.
When that size is reached, the clipfile gets renamed with an incrementing number.
And a new clip.txt file is created and set as default.

There would be a menu for clip.txt files.
It would load all the files into the menu - clip1.txt, clip2.txt, clip3.txt.

There would also be an option to set a limit for the number of clip.txt files to keep around.

Presently, to do this, I have to first (the hard part) remember to do this every so often.
Then I have to close cliptrap.
Then rename clip.txt to clip3.txt,
then create a new clip.txt file,
then restart cliptrap.

Thanks again, for your time, Skwire.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #103 on: May 01, 2013, 10:35:50 PM »
I have the security of knowing everything is captured.

ClipTrap seems to work well for you in this respect?  I ask because I don't use it all the time (and less than before since I switched jobs a few years ago).

Here is what I would like to see:
An option to set a maximum size to the clip.txt file.
When that size is reached, the clipfile gets renamed with an incrementing number.
And a new clip.txt file is created and set as default.

Hmmm...have you given thought to using a proper clipboard manager like mouser's Clipboard Help & Spell or ArsClip (the one I use)?  I wrote ClipTrap as something between a real clipboard manager and using nothing at all.  It also only does text...no rich formats, etc.

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #104 on: May 01, 2013, 10:47:06 PM »
Skwire, it seems to do what I want - which is, to capture code as I write it so I can go back and fetch it if I need to.

I tried a few other clipboard managers, but I don't need (or want, really) something that does anything more than text.  Cliptrap is sooo simple!
Plaint text is good enough for me. 

I was only hinting at getting out of the large file problem, since I leave it on all the time.

Honestly, though, I think I've only ever fetched anything out of it maybe 4 or 5 times in a long while.  But there it is!

I don't blame you if you don't want to spend any time on it for a singular request.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #105 on: May 08, 2013, 10:20:15 PM »
BGM, I have your feature request almost entirely implemented but there is one caveat that I need to mention.  I have it written so you can configure the max size of the clip.txt file as well as how many clip.txt files to keep.  So, let's say you have it set for a max size of one meg and are keeping five archive files.  The flow:

1) Your clip.txt file goes over one meg.
2) clip5.txt is deleted, clip4.txt is renamed to clip5.txt, clip3.txt is renamed to clip4.txt, clip2.txt is renamed to clip3.txt, clip1.txt is renamed to clip2.txt, and clip.txt is renamed to clip1.txt.  No problems to this point.
3) The problem is that ClipTrap's window still contains the contents of the recently archived clip.txt (which is now clip1.txt) and will write those contents fully to clip.txt on the next clipboard change (which will trigger the archive routine again).  Lather, rinse, repeat...

The obvious solution is to simply clear ClipTrap's window if the archive routine gets called.  That's easy enough.  However, I think this might be a bit disconcerting to the user.  That is, the user probably isn't going to be aware that the clips just got archived and is expecting to see a window full of text.  Do you follow what I'm saying.  I'm not sure there is another way to handle this, but I'm open to suggestions.  Maybe a simple warning when enabling the archive feature or something...I don't know.   :huh:

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #106 on: May 09, 2013, 09:13:35 AM »
Skwire, I follow you.  What about adding a note at the top of the newest, clean clip.txt file that says, "...continued from clip1.txt..."  ?

Also, what about, instead of renaming the clip.txt files to clip1.txt, clip2.txt, etc., 
instead, just use an incrementing appendage.
So, a user might have clip.txt (active), clip35.txt, clip36.txt, etc. - but only 5 (or x amount they chose to keep). 
Then, when clip.txt is full, instead of renaming any files, you just copy clip.txt to clip37.txt and then clear clip.txt, and adding the note at the top.

This may be less confusing for the user, because the file sequence is obvious.  They will always look to the highest number for the last clip file's contents.

Or, and I don't know if you can do this easily,
You could add the note about the last clip file, and have ClipText's viewer make it into an internal hyperlink.  Then the user sees the file is new, but can quickly access the last file, whatever it's name is.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #107 on: May 11, 2013, 12:48:36 AM »
I took the easy way out and created a help button that warns the user of the possible ramifications of using the archival feature.  I also left the renaming scheme as I originally wrote it (seems more natural to me).

You can try the interim build here:  http://skwire.dcmemb...lipTrap_v1.1.5.2.zip

Please let me know how it goes for you.

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #108 on: May 12, 2013, 08:04:06 PM »
Thank you for your time, Skwire.  I will be away for a few weeks; when I return, I'll try it out.  God bless you.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #109 on: May 12, 2013, 08:14:47 PM »
Thank you for your time, Skwire.  I will be away for a few weeks; when I return, I'll try it out.

In that case, I'll just release it and, if you run into issues, we can work them out later.  Have a safe trip.  =]

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #110 on: May 12, 2013, 08:40:07 PM »
Website | Download
v1.1.6 - 2013-05-12
    + Added optional archival option.  (Thanks, BMG)
    + Added "Always on top" button to the toolbar.
    * Changed the GUI to a tab control.  Moved the Options panel to the new Options tab.
    * Changed the "Monitor clipboard" icon.

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #111 on: June 28, 2013, 05:13:18 PM »
Hello, Skwire!  I'm ready to make my report now about 1.6 (sorry so slow!).

I've a few things to say.
First, thank you very much!  I like ClipTrap alot (and love the name).

I enabled the archiving feature whilst my clip file was 1.6 mb, and as soon as I copied something, voila! It was archived!  Beautiful!
Everything seems to work well.

When you shrink the GUI window, I think you should set the button widths so they aren't dynamic past a minimum size.  Look:

screenshot_ClipTrap_001.png

-bgmCoder
« Last Edit: June 28, 2013, 05:13:54 PM by BGM, Reason: cleanup »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #112 on: July 23, 2013, 09:29:54 PM »
When you shrink the GUI window, I think you should set the button widths so they aren't dynamic past a minimum size.

There probably isn't a whole lot I can about this.  Anyway, here's a new version with standard Windows Find functionality.

Website | Download
v1.1.7 - 2013-07-23
    + Added standard Find functionality.  (Thanks, A. Bhikkhu)
    - Took out ANSI build.  If you were using this under Windows 2000,
      contact me at skwire@dcmembers.com.

BGM

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #113 on: July 24, 2013, 09:41:24 AM »
Thanks for the update, Skwire - that's great!

Actually, to fix the funny-button-phenomenon, just set a minimum width property on the form itself - you don't have to worry about the buttons.
-bgmCoder

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #114 on: July 25, 2013, 12:43:23 PM »
Website | Download
v1.1.8 - 2013-07-25
    * Set a minimum size to the form.  (Thanks, BGM)
    ! The setting of the global monitoring toggle hotkey was broken.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #115 on: March 13, 2014, 06:02:46 PM »
Website | Download
v1.1.9 - 2014-03-13
    + Added configurable hotkeys for each of the three buttons on the main form:
      Clear clipboard, clear window text, and copy window text.
      (Thanks, star)


nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #116 on: April 21, 2014, 08:33:18 PM »
For some weird reason when I copy something ClipTrap is pasting to itself multiple times.  Two or three times.

Below is an example:

=====

Added configurable hotkeys

=====

Added configurable hotkeys

=====

Added configurable hotkeys


Any ideas what's going on?

Thanks.


skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #117 on: April 22, 2014, 12:06:16 AM »
For some weird reason when I copy something ClipTrap is pasting to itself multiple times.  Two or three times.

1) Are you using any sort of remote control software?  RDP, VNC, etc?
2) Do you have any other clipboard management program running?  CHS, ArsClip, etc?

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #118 on: April 22, 2014, 12:11:32 AM »
No to both questions.

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #119 on: April 22, 2014, 12:14:02 AM »
ClipTrap was working fine since you originally created it.  This issue seems new.

I'm pretty sure if others had this problem you'd have heard about it plenty.  So I assume it's something at my end.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #120 on: April 22, 2014, 12:18:53 AM »
I don't have any other ideas.  Could be something else going on with your clipboard...or some other application messing with it.  Does restarting ClipTrap help?

nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #121 on: April 22, 2014, 12:25:12 AM »
Nope.  I've replicated the issue many times.

But so far I haven't tried disabling other running programs.  That would be the next thing I guess I should try.

Thanks, though.

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #122 on: April 24, 2014, 12:39:52 PM »
A thought. Possibility you have a keyboard starting to get flaky?
I've read of similar things, with totally different programs, that after all sorts of settings chasing and hair pulling it ended up being the keyboard.


nkormanik

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #123 on: April 24, 2014, 09:49:32 PM »
Well, I use my mouse for highlighting (mostly from Internet sites), and copying.

To test, I changed mice.  Same result.  Anything I copied appears 3 times in ClipTrap.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: NANY 2010 Release: ClipTrap
« Reply #124 on: December 19, 2014, 01:29:50 AM »
Website | Download
v1.2.1 - 2014-12-19
    + Made the clipboard edit field read-only and added a custom context menu.
      Now, copying text out of the edit field should not add that text back to
      edit field.  (Thanks, Dori)
    + The tray icon now shows three different states:
        - Clipboard with red X:      Monitoring is off.
        - Clipboard with blank page: Monitoring is on, clipboard is empty.
        - Clipboard with text:       Monitoring is on, clipboard is not empty.
      (Thanks, Dallas E.)
    + Added a few new security features:
        - Timer-based auto-clear of the clipboard.
        - Timer-based auto-clear of the ClipTrap window.
        - Auto-clear of the clip archive.
      (Thanks, Dallas E.)
    * Reworked the Options tab.
    * If append mode is set to 'Bottom', the edit field will automatically
      scroll to the bottom.
     
v1.2.0 - 2014-12-14
    + Added the "Monitor clipboard," "Clear clipboard," "Clear window text," and
      "Copy window text" functions to the tray icon menu.  (Thanks, Dallas E.)