Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 12:05:28 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: [REQ] "Hide tray icon" and "Disable multiple instances"  (Read 5634 times)

johnye_pt

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
[REQ] "Hide tray icon" and "Disable multiple instances"
« on: December 07, 2009, 08:27:02 AM »
Hi.

One more user with samurize that needed reserved desktop space in XP  :Thmbsup: i also use rainlendar, so i somehow created a sidebar with both :P Samurize has a Dock option but creates a mess with my desktop icons. DesktopCor(r)al is working like it should, but i thought of a couple of options i usually like/need in this little tools:

1. Hide system tray icon - since this program is a "use and forget" tool, no need to stay on systray. I know i could use the "hide inactive icons" feature from XP, but i don't use it; other "use and forget" tools i'm using: winkey (creates new windows shortcut keys) and TaskbarShuffle (adds drag and drop to taskbar buttons and systray icons).

2. Disable multiple instances - if the program doesn't have a systray icon, the only way to open it is to run it again, but this creates a second instance of DesktopCor(r)al, so this option is needed for the previous one, and it should be active and grayed out when "hide system tray icon" is active.

What do you think?

PS: TaskbarShuffle has a checkbox to "Show system tray icon" that changes to "Show system tray icon :'-(" when i uncheck it

Kylde

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [REQ] "Hide tray icon" and "Disable multiple instances"
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2009, 02:38:25 PM »
I second hiding the system tray icon

letmein

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [REQ] "Hide tray icon" and "Disable multiple instances"
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2009, 11:38:52 PM »
Yes, I would like to have the option to hide the tray icon as well.

Disabling multiple instances shouldn't be permanent but just an option so those who want multiple screen margins can run multiple instances.

@johnye_pt: If your DesktopCoral has a background you can just right click on it and select options (rather than launching the application again) - see mine. Of course having a background probably doesn't fit into your setup.

johnye_pt

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: [REQ] "Hide tray icon" and "Disable multiple instances"
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2009, 07:01:03 AM »
@johnye_pt: If your DesktopCoral has a background you can just right click on it and select options (rather than launching the application again) - see mine. Of course having a background probably doesn't fit into your setup.

That i didn't know. I just added a tiled transparent.jpg (50x50px) and set opacity to zero (it auto-sets to 5% for some reason) so now i can right click it ;)

So, disabling systray icon should only be allowed when:
- not running multiple instances (running DesktopCoral.exe would open options window)
   OR  
- There is a background that allows right-clicking to opions.

I would go for the second, and add a transparent jpg inside the .exe to set as background if none is defined when disabling systray icon. Confusing? lol
« Last Edit: December 11, 2009, 07:04:33 AM by johnye_pt »