Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 01:10:23 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: No network adapters detected!?  (Read 39966 times)

masster

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #50 on: April 22, 2012, 05:59:17 AM »
Replay Media Catcher does a better job in detecting the network card by simply DISABLING/ENABLING it and intercepting the result.

Perhaps by implementing this strategy, UrlSnooper will see my card too:

1.\Device\NPF_{AF0A77D7-3B7F-4993-8D9D-F6D8F6827E04} (Intel(R) 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection (Microsoft's Packet Scheduler) )

musicmonkey1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #51 on: May 12, 2012, 10:22:21 AM »
This may help some people. I use a VPN for connecting to the Internet. When I use URL Snooper with the VPN connected it fails to find my adapter.  When I switch the VPN off and traffic is routed normally (rather than via a third party IP address) the Network Adapter is found by URL Snooper no problem at all. It's clear that (in my case at least) the use of a VPN (or possibly a proxy server) is creating problems with adapter detection.

I hope this helps some of you or at least shows you where to look.

Asker

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #52 on: May 17, 2012, 05:01:06 AM »
...you can see the packet count increasing in the url snooper status bar, but that it's just not returning results you expect?

Yes, I see packets get received in status bar, but the Net adapter certification still fails at the end.
Got XP/SP3 and nVidia's nForce networking controller onboard.

Any help would be appreciated.

Furty

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #53 on: September 09, 2012, 07:33:59 AM »
If http://www.winpcap.org/windump/ is able to capture traffic, URL Snooper should too.
I'd suggest the following troubleshooting steps:
a) If opening google.com does not show the page in English at your location, choose google.com/en as URL (see http://www.donationc...?topic=25777.new#new)
b) check the packet.dll version shown with "WinDump.exe -?"
c) show the list of interfaces with "WinDump.exe -D", here is my output as example (the "Sun" NIC in my case does not see any web traffic):
1.\Device\NPF_{0C872E2B-E755-4BF5-B3FD-98E5E4BE8109} (Sun)
2.\Device\NPF_{85EE7CDF-2F35-492E-8382-1C805EAF4C32} (Intel(R) 82578DM Gigabit N
etwork Connection)
d) check if any network traffic is seen while surfing the web, when running "WinDump.exe -i 2" (replace "2" with the best matching NIC number from the previous step)
e) contact http://www.winpcap.org/contact.htm in case of problems with the information from b-d, but be aware of know problems with wireless adapters: http://www.winpcap.org/misc/faq.htm#Q-16

tkirklen

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #54 on: June 19, 2013, 01:01:39 PM »
I'm running Windows 7 with Qualcomm Atheros WiFi adapter and Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter.  When I run URL Snooper the only adapter detected is Network Adapter Microsoft on local host.  Did anyone find a fix for this? - thanks

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,972
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #55 on: June 20, 2013, 10:46:47 PM »
tkirklen, can you try doing what the post above made by Furty says to do?

tkirklen

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #56 on: June 22, 2013, 08:45:33 PM »
All of these posts on this topic are very old but I still didn't see a fix for the issue after reading through them.  So I'll try to see if someone can help me on the issue of my network adapters not being detected (anymore)

I'm having a problem getting winpcap to recognize my network adapters.  WinPcap has worked for several years for me both on XP and Win7 OS.  However just last week URLsnooper stopped detecting the network adapters.  I've removed and installed both URLsnooper and WinPcap several times.  I've troubleshot this as much as I can; not sure what else to do at this point.  My devices have not changed; the only change made to my system is a Mozilla Firefox update.  After noticing the issue with URLsnooper and WinPcap after this update I removed Mozilla and reinstalled the previous version.  Still no luck.  Thanks in advance for ANY help.



Operating System: Windows 7 Home Edition

My devices are:
Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter


Output from WinDump -D command:

1.\Device\NPF_{0C09BD3A-12E4-4366-AB44-5F4EC7F4E196} (Microsoft)
2.\Device\NPF_{AD3A071F-BAF4-44C1-9809-914873CB810F} (Microsoft)

Output from URLsnooper Network adapter dropdown
Network adapter 'Microsoft' on local host
Network adapter 'Microsoft' on local host

migawka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #57 on: September 15, 2013, 01:51:20 PM »
the URL Snooper doesn't show any URLs (option Show All) but
"WinDump.exe -D" recognizes 4 interfaces at my laptop, and with the last one (4.\Device\NPF_{C862B90B-4477-4755-8199-E18F11ED2D9D} (Microsoft) I can check network traffic.
what to do?

Windows 8 OS

migawka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #58 on: September 19, 2013, 02:19:51 PM »
can anyone help me?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,972
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #59 on: November 16, 2013, 04:54:06 PM »
hi migawka, sorry for the delay in replying.

if windump works, so should url snooper.

Does UrlSnooper show the same network adapters list as WinDump?  Have you tried maybe running UrlSnooper as administrator?

migawka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #60 on: November 20, 2013, 05:22:19 PM »
yes, URLSnooper shows the same network adapters. I ran URLS as administrator - no change

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,972
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #61 on: November 21, 2013, 06:36:23 AM »
I just noticed you are using Windows 8, migawka, and i see that winpcap has a new release with fixes for win8.

Have you tried installing the latest WinPCap, v4.1.3 (http://www.winpcap.o.../install/default.htm) ?

I'm not sure if I need to build a new version in order to fix whatever problem you are having, but I will try to release a new version of UrlSnooper with the new winpcap release.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2013, 06:44:14 AM by mouser »

migawka

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: No network adapters detected!?
« Reply #62 on: November 30, 2013, 05:35:10 PM »
yes, I've instaled WinPCap v4.1.3
OS Windows 8, 64-bit