Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 27, 2014, 07:27:48 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: No network adapters detected!?  (Read 34150 times)
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: December 06, 2009, 09:16:03 PM »

So.. my motherboard has a pair of Marvell Yukon 88E8056 adapters on it and Running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, URLSnooper fails to detect any of the adapters..

its a ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, X58, Socket-1366 motherboard with a CoreI7 920 cpu and 12GB of ram..


any ideas?  I tried URL Hunter in trial/demo mode and it at least did catch urls so it seems like WinPCap isnt the issue..



and all this because im after the MMS to http://wmlive.bbc.co.uk/wms/england/lrlondon =)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2009, 02:46:22 PM »

this is so bizzarre that url snooper isn't finding adapters but you are saying other winpcap sniffers are.. i'm just at a loss as to why that might be.. anyone have any clues?
Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2009, 04:16:26 PM »

me too.. I dont get it either.. I tried URL Hunter specifically because .. apart from its ugly ass looks.. it seems to be quite similar AND relies on WinPCap as well..

in URLSnooper the adapter selection box just has a red frame around it.. buhuuing that theres no adapters.. I tried both of the connectors on the PC but doesnt seem to make a difference.. tried one disabled one enabled.. etc..

Also the WinpCap doesnt show up as a protocol loaded in the Local Area Connection Properties for Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller .. but I'm guessing thats a Windows 7 thing that it doesnt show up there?

Maybe its not getting properly installed and URL Hunter is _faking it_ ? I noticed I was unable to find the MMS protocol in the URL Hunter window but I thought that could be cos it was in trial/demo mode?

Anything else I should try perhaps?
Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2009, 04:19:34 PM »

.. well I just installed and tested Wireshark.. it says WinPCap IS installed.. and also works so.. it has to be a URL Snooper issue.. whatever it may be...
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2009, 04:28:28 PM »

Ok i'm going to have another look.. i wish i could reproduce the problem.. i wonder if it could have something to do with running as administrator.. if you run the other program as administrator, do they still see the network adapters?
Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2009, 04:46:38 PM »

both url hunter and wireshark works when run as administrator..just tested..

during the OMG IT DOESNT WORK/DESPERATION TESTING OF ANYTHING-mode I was having yesterday I even tried running the installers for both urlsnooper and winpcap separately as admin and that made no difference either..
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2009, 04:51:18 PM »

i appreciate all the help testing this -- there is no reason url snooper shouldnt work -- it may simply be a case of me needing to update the network adapter detection code i use to account for some winpcap change.. i'll try to get it done this week.  if you don't mind i'll email you and maybe you can help me test some test versions in the next day or two?
Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2009, 04:55:07 PM »

sure, email away! smiley
Logged
RENI
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2009, 01:12:47 AM »

Got the same problem on my XP SP3.My onboard network adapter is Marvell 88E8039.
Here's a snapshot http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/830/urls.png.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2009, 01:14:49 AM by RENI » Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2009, 12:32:44 PM »

mm RENI, what is that adapter for dialup thing?.. I dont even get that.. mine is totally blank
Logged
jamessnooper
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2009, 09:01:11 PM »

Reni, when you test the adapter in the pic, does it come up as a Success or a Failure to Detect? On my other PC (the one that works and shows 3 adapters), a generic dial-up adapter is one of the working adapters (from memory of using it a couple days ago.)

I wonder if there's a way of sourcing every available adapter on our PC and linking them up with URL Snooper. That would give us alot more adapters to test.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2009, 09:02:50 PM »

All adapters should be detected automatically; im going to work on this on sunday and see if i can spot anything strange with my winpcap interface.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2009, 08:04:35 PM »

Ok so can i ask anyone who is having trouble with urlsnooper not reporting all or any adapters to download windump from the winpcap site:
http://www.winpcap.org/wi...windump_3_9_5/WinDump.exe

Then open up a commandline prompt where the windump.exe executable is, and run: windump -D
(note that the D must be capitalized)

And let me know if windump reports a different list of adapters than url snooper does.
Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2009, 08:23:45 PM »

sent you a PM with the results.. obviously as it DID discover them and URL Snooper didnt.. the results _are_ different ..

hope it helps you figure this out..
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2009, 08:30:15 PM »

ok that's a good sign.. getting closer then.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: December 13, 2009, 09:43:25 PM »

ixxo says the new version fixes the problem, so let's see if everyone else agrees. try downloading version 2.26.01 from the web page (or using updater).
Logged
RENI
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2009, 08:04:33 AM »

mm RENI, what is that adapter for dialup thing?.. I dont even get that.. mine is totally blank
Well,I don't know what the hell is that either. tongue
Reni, when you test the adapter in the pic, does it come up as a Success or a Failure to Detect? On my other PC (the one that works and shows 3 adapters), a generic dial-up adapter is one of the working adapters (from memory of using it a couple days ago.)

I wonder if there's a way of sourcing every available adapter on our PC and linking them up with URL Snooper. That would give us alot more adapters to test.
Unfortunately,It's a Failure. Cry
Ok so can i ask anyone who is having trouble with urlsnooper not reporting all or any adapters to download windump from the winpcap site:
http://www.winpcap.org/wi...windump_3_9_5/WinDump.exe

Then open up a commandline prompt where the windump.exe executable is, and run: windump -D
(note that the D must be capitalized)

And let me know if windump reports a different list of adapters than url snooper does.

Here's my result:
C:\***>windump -D
1.\Device\NPF_GenericDialupAdapter (Adapter for generic dialup and VPN capture)

C:\***>
Logged
RENI
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2009, 08:11:03 AM »

ixxo says the new version fixes the problem, so let's see if everyone else agrees. try downloading version 2.26.01 from the web page (or using updater).
Still not working... ohmy
http://i46.tinypic.com/kalhte.jpg
Logged
ixxo
Participant
*
Posts: 13


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2009, 11:42:54 AM »

well automatic detection/selection still fails for me but.. now at least the adapters shows up in the list so I can choose myself and THEN it works


maybe your adapter RENI is one that the WinpCap library doesnt support? I know theres a few it doesnt, but I dont know wich ones..

what about trying some other apps and see if they work?.. If for example wireshark works then its a urlsnooper specific problem.. if it too fails or only shows the same VPN thing then you may have to look at WinpCap itself..
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2009, 12:29:41 PM »

As ixxo says, forget about automatic network adapter detection -- as it says on its window when it cant find an adapter, there are many reasons why this may fail and it's not important. the issue is really whether your network adapter is available in the options.

And the key to see if this is a url snooper program or a winpcap problem is to run that windump test.

RENI, you pasted your results from windump, which says that winpcap/windump can only see one generic dialup adapter -- and that seems to be what urlsnooper on your computer can see.. so there's really nothing more urlsnooper can do i'm afraid, as it is doing all that winpcap can do.

Assuming that this adapter is not the one you actually use, then the situation is as ixxo says, and it may be that you are using an adapter that winpcap is not able to work with.  Best thing in such case is to go to the winpcap support page and see if you can find any solution.
Logged
wgf4242
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2009, 06:59:15 PM »

failed to find a suitable net driver , I selected the adapter mannually.
[copy or print]
G:\TDDOWNLOAD\1>windump -d
windump: listening on \Device\NPF_{07A20FC8-6C36-4EEE-8172-EB7BF3EE9F9B}
(000) ret      #96
Failed to initialize network adapter WinPcap Network adapter 'Marvell Yukon Ethernet Controller.' on local host.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2009, 07:10:46 PM by wgf4242 » Logged
m123
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: December 18, 2009, 11:25:33 PM »

How adjust detection of adapter menually
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,702



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: December 18, 2009, 11:37:34 PM »

Choose from the File Menu -> "Advanced Mode"
then select your adapter on the "General Options" tab.
Logged
RENI
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: January 07, 2010, 09:24:51 PM »

As ixxo says, forget about automatic network adapter detection -- as it says on its window when it cant find an adapter, there are many reasons why this may fail and it's not important. the issue is really whether your network adapter is available in the options.

And the key to see if this is a url snooper program or a winpcap problem is to run that windump test.

RENI, you pasted your results from windump, which says that winpcap/windump can only see one generic dialup adapter -- and that seems to be what urlsnooper on your computer can see.. so there's really nothing more urlsnooper can do i'm afraid, as it is doing all that winpcap can do.

Assuming that this adapter is not the one you actually use, then the situation is as ixxo says, and it may be that you are using an adapter that winpcap is not able to work with.  Best thing in such case is to go to the winpcap support page and see if you can find any solution.

OK,yesterday I switched to Windows 7 x86 with 11.10.5.3 marvell driver installed.Suddenly the Marvell 88E8039 appears in the adapter list and snooper is working smoothly. tongue
Logged
eliramd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 5

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: February 25, 2010, 11:26:36 PM »

hi, i'm using win7 and havig the same problem.
i installed the latest ver 2.26.01.
on wireshark there are the same adapters, and the sniffing works just fine, but the ursnooper doesn't work, even on manual mode when i select the same adapter.
any ideas?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.11 ]