Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 08:24:41 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: help needed: IE7 won't go online!  (Read 2245 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« on: December 06, 2009, 09:56:54 AM »
Problem solved  :)

-----
I know, I know: Don't touch any important settings when you're stressed or tired, Curt. But somehow I did. I have no memory of which setting I may have changed, but the bloody result is that my Internet Explorer 7 won't connect to the Internet. And following IE, also Outlook and a lot of other programs are refusing to do their jobs. Furthermore it is impossible to install any giveawayoftheday-programs; my defaults are Firefox and Thunderbird, which both are working fine, but most programs going on-line seems to follow Internet Explorer's settings.

The problems begin with this box I never have seen before, popping up. Somehow it makes me think that my IE wants to become airborne and go wireless !?? But I have a fixed connection, always on-line.

Unfortunately I can only show you the Danish text boxes:

001.gif


002.gif


Vista knows that I am on-line:

003.gif


004.gif


005.gif


006.gif



If needed, you must ask me for specific settings, as I know next to nothing about this subject.
Anyone, please?  :tellme:
« Last Edit: December 07, 2009, 05:10:17 AM by Curt »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2009, 10:03:43 AM »
Looks like a dialup connection box (but I don't speak Danish).

Check your network connections and make sure you haven't got an unexplained dial up connection set up. If you have, and you didn't set it up, you may want to run a complete AV and AS scan.

housetier

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,321
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2009, 10:26:24 AM »
I agree with Carol. Isn't there a setting for "direct connection" or something along those lines.

DSL may sound like broadband, but the above screenshots look like configuring a dial-up connection.


JavaJones

  • Review 2.0 Designer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,717
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2009, 03:08:52 PM »
Tools->Internet Options->Connections Tab  and make sure there are no dialup configs listed there. If there are, try deleting them. Also you can try the "Setup" button and make sure to re-specify it's an "always on" LAN connection. Also go to LAN Settings at the bottom and make sure no odd proxies are configured.

- Oshyan

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2009, 04:31:50 PM »
First, I clicked Reset all settings to default (*awful*!!),  :down:
then, delete all old settings and configure a new connection,  :down:
and finally, Outpost Scan for malware.  :down:

I have found no reason why IE would want to dial, but if I am an IT-illiterate in general, I am an complete ignorant on this subject.

Had it been IE8, I could at least have uninstalled the bugger. But it is IE7 and came with Vista; there is no 'uninstall'. And if I install IE8 on top of it, it will adopt the same (wrong) settings, I assume.

I really don't know how to handle this situation.  :tellme:

and Yes, "BredbÄndsforbindelse" means 'broadband connection'.

I have tried both with and without "register settings automatically"
 :tellme:

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,296
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2009, 07:24:08 PM »
I don't know Danish, but judging from your screen shots, you are configured to always dial a VPN connection. (shot 4 radio button 3 from top -and- shot 5 which is a MS VPN connection dialog).

If anything can reach the internet, everything can reach the internet. Shot 4 should be option 1 (Never dial anything) and kill anything that looks, smells, or acts like a proxy (bottom of shot 4 (LAN Settings) nothing should be checked).

Innuendo

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,255
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2009, 09:18:37 PM »
Crazy 'think outside the box' guess, but in IE's File menu there's a "Work Offline" item. That's not checked, is it?

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,092
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: help needed: IE7 won't go online!
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2009, 05:07:35 AM »
Problem solved!  :)

Thanks to all of you. In the end of the day, Stoic Joker hit the nail. "Always use standard connection" was clicked, but it should have been "never dial anything". So, a very special Thank You donation to the stoic Joker!  :up:
« Last Edit: December 08, 2009, 04:47:17 PM by Curt »