Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 07:31:18 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap  (Read 15871 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« on: January 10, 2006, 07:49:39 PM »
this is an early beta - do NOT install this if you dont want to help test.  just wait until next stable release.
it seems stable to me and the new object capture mode can be disabled, but still i recommend normal users just wait.

youll find a new tab of options called "Red Box Capture" in the preferences which control the use of this new mode.

scredboxoptions.png

i think the new code adds a lot to the program - it's not just scrolling capture, its a new interface for capturing objects and regions - you can even leave it open and capture multiple windows and stuff before returning to screenshot captor main window:

scredbox.gif

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2006, 07:51:04 PM »
early brave betatesters can download at:
http://www.donationc...ScreenshotCaptor.exe

ps.
i've got one or two more things i'd like to add before this becomes screenshot captor v3, but i think it's getting there.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2006, 03:53:35 AM »
There seems to be a problem if you have XDesk running at the same time.

As a first attempt I tried to capture just the scrolling part of the BBC.co.uk home page in Internet Explorer.

If XDesk is closed there is no problem, but if XDesk is open Ctrl+Shift+Click when the red box is active captures only the part of the page visible, then brings up an XDesk window (thumbnails of all desktops) and finally tries to complete the capture umpteen times with unpredictable results - sometimes it simply grabs the XDesk windo too (so I end up with an L shaped capture of both windows) and sometimes I end up with the following (scroll the image to the right - sorry it is so large I haven't got any resizing software installed at the moment):


Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2006, 03:58:57 AM »
Another couple of things:

1) How do you determine window class names to use the exceptions? Are you going to provide a drag and drop tool for this?

2) Directory Opus panes don't seem to scroll consistently (but again that may be an XDesk compatability issues as it seems to work when XDesk is not running).

3) See what you mean about firefox - seriously don't try and capture a full screen scrolling window if you suffer from epilepsy !

4) Ideally the red tips should be displayed inside the RedSquare as it is not visible capturing full screen whole windows.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 04:48:40 AM by Carol Haynes »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2006, 04:02:14 AM »
By the way folks if people want to test this version and give feedback without affecting the current version you have installed do the following:

1) Download the beta version and use an archive program to unzip the installer contents to the desktop in its own folder
2) Open the folder and delete the installer
3) Exit ScreenShot Captor if it is running
4) Double click ScreenShotCaptor.exe in folder

This will use the ini file in the new folder and not affect your currently installed version.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2006, 05:16:57 AM »
> 1) How do you determine window class names to use the exceptions?

Can we use WinExplorer from NirSoft ?

07WinExplorer22.jpgScreenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap


 - - ~ 200 kB

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/winexp.html
http://www.nirsoft.n...ls/using_winexp.html



For the x1, y1 thing i have to test.... maybe with AutoHotkey ? There is  a nice "cross hair" tool with size info.
I must have somewhere the script. Maybe skrommel can help ? And with the class name too ? Thats no problem for AutoHotKey.
I will see if i found an script for that issue.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2006, 05:28:26 AM »
I mean something like ac'tivAid from german c't magazin.

09ActivAid2.jpgScreenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap


http://www.heise.de/ct/ftp/05/08/098/
http://www.heise.de/.../08/098/activaid.zip


Source code as AHK script avaible, maybe skrommel can make an little tool from this source for our issue?

But the hole c't tool is worth to look on too  :)


------ Edit

Upps - an  update:

http://www.heise.de/ct/ftp/05/22/210/  --- the homepage in german
http://www.heise.de/.../22/210/activaid.zip  ------------ ac'tivAid Version 1.0.4.1 ~ 200kB
http://www.heise.de/...210/activaid_exe.zip ------- as compiled EXE, you don't need AHK installed first, _
but can't be updated by user. ~ 800kB

ftp://ftp.heise.de/pub/ct/listings/0522-210.zip  ----- the hole package, all complete ~ 900kB


http://activaid.rumborak.de/  ----------   Bugtracker and suggestions, homepage of the author of the script.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 05:38:20 AM by Stefan »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2006, 06:34:36 AM »
Quote
1) How do you determine window class names to use the exceptions? Are you going to provide a drag and drop tool for this?

actually Red Box Capture mode tells you the window class name in its caption in the (), but i will probably add the info in the right-click options dialog, along with program exe name, which im afraid is going to be necesary (or maybe just parent window class) in order to differentiate between certain different programs with same window names.

regarding xdesk - so it sounds like the problem is simply a shortkey conflict (xdesk also reacts to ctrl+shift+click; i can make an alternate hotkey for scrolling window capture)

« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 06:45:08 AM by mouser »

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2006, 06:40:19 AM »
I can't find any reference in XDesk to using Ctrl+Shift+Click, in fact most of the key combinations in XDesk use the Windows key ??

Certainly exiting XDesk removes the problem, but I can't see why.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2006, 08:24:52 AM »
- Win2000
- SC: capture object mode
- switch to an window and press shortcut for to see an pull-down menu
- point red box to that pull-down menu
- press ctrl+click
- i get an error "invalid window handel" (translated from german)
- SC hangs now and i must terminate it


- object mode works well with tray and TNA, panels and windows parts.

- the region mode didn't capture the pull-down menu but the back ground window only.


------------
carol wrotes:
> 4) Ideally the red tips should be displayed inside the RedSquare
> as it is not visible capturing full screen whole windows.
But maybe only "inside" for full screen windows, for other issues its better to have this info box outside.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2006, 09:15:12 AM »
that error is happening because the menu is dissapearing before screenshot captor has a chance to grab it..
but that should NOT be happening.. for some reason screenshot captor is not blocking the mouse click on the menu which it should be.. i thought it was.. going to have to try to find the problem.

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2006, 09:22:40 AM »
But working with the mouse is nice...
- in the red box i can even press on an menu to open it.

Maybe we can trigger the capture
withou any mouse click ?
Only by pressing....hmm... the Print key
if i ready with my settings ?

Maybe an entry in your context menu like "Capture now!"

AbteriX

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,115
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2006, 09:26:56 AM »
Maybe i take an new look on GrabCaptureScreen for further ideas.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2006, 10:01:16 AM »
i could easily add items to the red box right menu for capturing..

yes it might be safer to use a key to do the capture rather than mouse..

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2006, 10:48:25 AM »
I think that would solve the XDesk problem too if you don't have to hold down keys and click.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2006, 10:55:59 AM »
yep, i will certainly add this option now.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2006, 12:08:21 PM »
i've uploaded a new version (same url) -
it should now capture menus properly and also you can use right control key instead of mouse click if you want to avoid all mouse clicking to capture.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2006, 12:21:39 PM »
Seems to work using right CTRL for menus

Could you add right CRTL for all the options - so scrolling capture would be left CRTL+SHIFT plus right CTRL to avoid clicking ?

Alternatively, how about making these keyboard shortcuts configurable?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2006, 12:24:57 PM »
wrt shift+rightcontrol, should already work, just hold shift and press rightcontrol to trigger.

as for configurable hotkeys.. not so easy because im using a global keyboard hook which makes it harder to let user specify what to trigger on.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2006, 04:14:33 PM »
Yes it does work - but it still conflicts with XDesk - something odd going on there.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2006, 09:08:51 PM »
here's an exception rule to do scrolling capture with ultraedit:
EditControl;19;4;0;4;blankstop

basically that tells it to skip margins and also to work around the fact that ue cannot be trusted to not repaint over the scrolling window trick markers.

just put it in exceptions list in screenshot captor redbox capture tab (or in preferences in right click menu of redbox capture itself).

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #21 on: January 12, 2006, 12:04:29 AM »
updated to v2.09.06
found and fixed a bug that was causing it to get stuck in capture mode.

Black Mamba

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #22 on: January 12, 2006, 02:46:48 AM »
Maybe you can modify a little bit the main icon of the program. Just to look better. :D

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #23 on: January 12, 2006, 01:41:33 PM »
I must say.. scrolling cap is great! although...There's nothing perfect,right ;) (well..maybe farr is  :Thmbsup:)
It worked great with Directory Opus,and with pspad,but it has problems with both opera and msnmessenger  :(
In opera,it identifies the window correctly,but when i do ctrl+shift+click,nothing happens..
In msnmessenger,both the conversation window and the contacts window get misidentified,the whole window gets selected,instead of the part of the window that is scrollable....This gets extremely strange pictures,but no scrolling is done.
BTW,i can't see the icon in the taskbar..Is it my computer's problem or does anyone else not see him?
(ps: i'm using the latest release,2.09.08 and not the beta release)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,421
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Screenshot Captor 2.08.01 - EARLY BETA with scrolling cap
« Reply #24 on: January 12, 2006, 03:18:10 PM »
you're right - a recent change has broken opera capture - working to fix now.
you can't see the screnshot captor icon??
« Last Edit: January 12, 2006, 03:22:00 PM by mouser »