Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 03:43:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Dual NIC use  (Read 2687 times)

Charleybriz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Dual NIC use
« on: November 19, 2009, 07:37:15 PM »
Hi all,
I wish to install a dual port ethernet NIC. My reason is to use my PC as the server/gateway w/router & other devices attached to 2nd port. My setup as I it: Internet input to modem-outut to my PC/dual port NIC, 2nd port provides Internet output to my router & other devices I will be networking. I have a Dell XPS 600 running XP Pro. I wish to use an Intel Pro 10/100 Dual port PCI card. Does this sound feasible??
Thanks

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dual NIC use
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 08:59:09 AM »
I dunno if XP Pro has the functionality you need, my guess would be that it's limited to the server editions of Windows. Also, I can't help think: why do you want to do this setup? A full PC sucks a lot of power compared to a standalone router/firewall... which will probably offer more configuration options as well.
- carpe noctem

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dual NIC use
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 10:42:26 AM »
Ive never used it, but you might try smothwall instead of xp. It will probably work for what you are wanting, I dunno.
[Insert really cool signature here]

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,768
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dual NIC use
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2009, 12:23:29 PM »
If you're going to do up a full PC to act as a router/firewall combination, tale a look at a free product called Untangle Gateway. ( www.untangle.com ).

They have two versions:

  • Untangle Gateway Platform - runs on dedicated PC (needs two NICs)
     
  • Untangle for Windows -WinXP version which can coexist on a regular PC (only requires one NIC)

Untangle works extremely well. And it's easy to set up and administer.

This is what I use for my home network. :Thmbsup:

« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 02:09:52 PM by 40hz »

Stoic Joker

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,294
    • View Profile
    • www.StoicJoker.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dual NIC use
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 01:38:31 PM »
Feasible, yes using ICS which is included with XP pro.

Practical, no. ICS is a fragile, touchy, aggravating, PITA. I'd even go as far as saying that any cheap router would be a much better (more secure, stable, reliable, cheaper in the long run) option.