Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 01:52:29 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop  (Read 5095 times)

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« on: November 14, 2009, 03:55:29 AM »
When I open any image in Photoshop, it is all screwed up like in the attached screenshot.

At 200% zoom, it looks alright but when viewing at anything less than 200%, the image doesn't appear the way it is.

Any idea?

Operating System: Windows Vista 32-bit
Photoshop version: CS4
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2009, 04:10:08 AM »
I'm using the same equipment, but never noticed such a behavior. A graphic card driver problem, perhaps. Could you post some sample file somewhere, if it's not too big?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2009, 04:23:36 AM »
sounds like graphics card corruption, does this problem persists even after a reboot?

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2009, 04:58:52 AM »
yksyks: Sample file

lanux128: Yes, the problem persists after restart.

Here is system info copied from Photoshop's Help -> System info

I tried updating the graphic card driver and got the message that it's up-to-date.
GraphicCard.pngImages don't show up properly in Photoshop
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Kamel

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2009, 05:10:43 AM »
this really does smell like a graphics card issue. your card may be getting too hot, or it may be near the end of its lifespan. it may be something else entirely of course, but that is what i suspect. i recommend making sure it's getting plenty of air and maybe even adjusting the clock settings a bit under normal which can many times make a graphics card behave much better (but also many times not do anything at all)

let us know what happens
I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2009, 05:20:53 AM »
I went to Edit -> Preferences -> Performance and unchecked "Enable OpenGL Drawing" and now images appear fine.

I found someone else also having the same problem here.

A reply from the above page:

Quote
Heat: Check your card for dust. If you have a cooling fan that blowes cool air into a cover over your card then there may be dust inside, over the fins clogging up air movement, that needs to be cleaned out. Make sure your case has good air circulation too as dust might have built up inside. But when you get black triangles or artifacts it is usually caused by too much heat.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2009, 06:03:01 AM »
Tested your file and it works fine here, despite I have the OpenGL active.

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2009, 10:43:12 AM »
Which version of OpenGL is running on your system?

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2009, 12:23:46 PM »
Which version of OpenGL is running on your system?

How/where do I check that?
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2009, 12:30:55 PM »
I found the following in an article titled 'GPU and OpenGL Features and Limitations in Photoshop CS4' at http://kb2.adobe.com...ps/404/kb404898.html:

Quote
Display card: ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Issue: Images display in chunks and with lines.
Solution: Turn off Enable OpenGL Drawing.

So looks like this is a known issue and the only workaround is to disable OpenGL.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2009, 01:29:17 PM »
For checking which version of OpenGL you are running, download a tool called 'glview' and run it. As far as I know OpenGL doesn't come with a tool similar to 'dxdiag' on DirectX.

The overview (on the first page) generated by the tool should mention the version of OpenGL that you are using. It will show you a lot more info on subsequent pages.

Kamel

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2009, 05:03:56 PM »
I found the following in an article titled 'GPU and OpenGL Features and Limitations in Photoshop CS4' at http://kb2.adobe.com...ps/404/kb404898.html:

Quote
Display card: ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT
Issue: Images display in chunks and with lines.
Solution: Turn off Enable OpenGL Drawing.

So looks like this is a known issue and the only workaround is to disable OpenGL.

Just like i thought. This is a lot like when Doom3 came out. ATI clocks their cards quite aggressively, so in turn when new applications come out sometimes they suffer from artifacting.

I would still recommend clocking your GPU and memory down by about 5mhz. You wont notice a difference in performance [usually], but it will let you re-enable the opengl functionality of photoshop.

Also, loosely speaking, it is caused by heat (unless for some reason there is an incompatibility, which I doubt), so you could get the same results from improving the cooling to your card. If your card is on the verge of artifacts, it may affect its lifespan, so even though disabling the feature helps photoshop, it would be wise to fix the root of the problem still.

Finally, it is highly unlikely to be caused by the opengl version, since this is a common problem associated with clock speeds and/or too much heat.
I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2009, 10:36:01 PM »
Kamel's got a point there. use a program like ATITool to bring down the clock speed.

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2009, 11:23:43 PM »
I have just installed and uninstalled ATITool. It takes a lot of time to come up after starting and is stuck with 'Not responding'. I had to kill it. I don't think it's vista compatible.

I am going to try PowerStrip mentioned here.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2009, 11:46:58 PM »
I have just installed and uninstalled ATITool. It takes a lot of time to come up after starting and is stuck with 'Not responding'. I had to kill it. I don't think it's vista compatible.

what version were you running? try this version here.

Quote
What's New in This Release: [ read full changelog ]

· Full Vista and XP64 support

http://www.softpedia...-Tweak/ATITool.shtml

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2009, 04:14:48 AM »
lanux128: I tried it from the link you gave and have the same problem as earlier, so uninstalled it.

Kamel:

PowerStrip.png

Quote
The two vertical slider bars on the left side of the window under "Clock controls" are used to set the clock rates for the video card. The left slider bar controls the GPU clock rate which this window calls the "engine clock". The right slider bar controls the video RAM clock rate which this window calls the "memory clock".

It is these two values that I should try reducing by 5 each, correct?
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

Kamel

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Images don't show up properly in Photoshop
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2009, 02:54:12 PM »
Yes, that's correct. You can play it by ear... don't let it adjust the clock settings on reboot automatically until you've found settings that work well for you. It's my estimate that going down 5 on both sides will help eliminate any graphics card related issues you're having atm.

Let us know how it goes.
I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...