Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 09:33:25 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Hotspot Settings  (Read 2379 times)

siouxdax

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 247
  • Lather. Rinse. Repeat.
    • View Profile
    • Non-Event: The Daniel Headrick Saga
    • Donate to Member
Hotspot Settings
« on: November 03, 2009, 03:07:52 PM »
Hello all:
Not too long ago I posted this, regarding the tiny little app, Hotspot. Unfortunately, I cannot get it to remember my setting for the enable/disable corners. I'm assuming that since I got Hotspot here, that someone here would be able to help me out with this issue. So, anyone wanna have a crack at this? I've attached the exe just in case someone needs it.
Kind Regards,
Daniel in Tulsa
AKA siouxdax

Visit my tumblog!

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 04:23:07 PM »
I believe HotSpot was written for Windows 2000, and not even updated for XP? Edited: However, it is doing fine on my Vista!! Edited2: But of course, I only used the default setting, and the problem was not the default. Sorry!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 05:16:27 PM by Curt »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,763
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 05:18:53 PM »
I have now tried to place it in Start, change the settings, and re-boot. The 'enable' was remembered, the 'disable' was remembered but did not work.

I have of course no idea about WHY.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 05:20:48 PM by Curt »

siouxdax

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 247
  • Lather. Rinse. Repeat.
    • View Profile
    • Non-Event: The Daniel Headrick Saga
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 05:40:20 PM »
Hmm. Well, I use it both on my laptop and desktop, and neither remember. I know it's possible. It retained settings when I originally used it a few years back. Maybe someone else can chime in on this...
Kind Regards,
Daniel in Tulsa
AKA siouxdax

Visit my tumblog!

tanis424

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 06:34:36 PM »
Perhaps you need to run it initially as Admin under Vista/7 so that the settings stick ?

siouxdax

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 247
  • Lather. Rinse. Repeat.
    • View Profile
    • Non-Event: The Daniel Headrick Saga
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 06:47:55 PM »
Perhaps you need to run it initially as Admin under Vista/7 so that the settings stick ?

Currently I'm running XP on my laptop and Win7 on my desktop, both exhibit the same issue. I've tried running it as Admin, to no avail. Hmm...
Kind Regards,
Daniel in Tulsa
AKA siouxdax

Visit my tumblog!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 08:26:13 PM »
maybe it's time to upgrade to another recently-written program? :-\ check if Skrommel has something similar to this program in his repertoire of programs.

http://www.1hoursoftware.com/