Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • July 28, 2017, 11:55 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Hotspot Settings  (Read 2780 times)

siouxdax

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hotspot Settings
« on: November 03, 2009, 03:07 PM »
Hello all:
Not too long ago I posted this, regarding the tiny little app, Hotspot. Unfortunately, I cannot get it to remember my setting for the enable/disable corners. I'm assuming that since I got Hotspot here, that someone here would be able to help me out with this issue. So, anyone wanna have a crack at this? I've attached the exe just in case someone needs it.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,228
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 04:23 PM »
I believe HotSpot was written for Windows 2000, and not even updated for XP? Edited: However, it is doing fine on my Vista!! Edited2: But of course, I only used the default setting, and the problem was not the default. Sorry!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 05:16 PM by Curt »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,228
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 05:18 PM »
I have now tried to place it in Start, change the settings, and re-boot. The 'enable' was remembered, the 'disable' was remembered but did not work.

I have of course no idea about WHY.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2009, 05:20 PM by Curt »

siouxdax

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 05:40 PM »
Hmm. Well, I use it both on my laptop and desktop, and neither remember. I know it's possible. It retained settings when I originally used it a few years back. Maybe someone else can chime in on this...

tanis424

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 06:34 PM »
Perhaps you need to run it initially as Admin under Vista/7 so that the settings stick ?

siouxdax

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 06:47 PM »
Perhaps you need to run it initially as Admin under Vista/7 so that the settings stick ?

Currently I'm running XP on my laptop and Win7 on my desktop, both exhibit the same issue. I've tried running it as Admin, to no avail. Hmm...

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Hotspot Settings
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 08:26 PM »
maybe it's time to upgrade to another recently-written program? :-\ check if Skrommel has something similar to this program in his repertoire of programs.

http://www.1hoursoftware.com/