Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 04:04:46 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir  (Read 5115 times)

JoyrexJ9

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« on: October 04, 2009, 08:40:48 AM »
Hi there.
I'm a longtime user of Screenshot Captor, I'd firstly just like to say thanks for an excellent piece of software.

I've started using PortableApps and have got ScreenshotCaptor running off my USB stick fine (thanks to the PORTABLE=TRUE setting!)
PortableApps has a specific directory structure on the USB drive e.g.
\Documents
\Documents\Pictures
\PortableApps
\PortableApps\ScreenshotCaptorPortable


I'd like to set Screenshot Captor to save it's screens in the \Documents\Pictures directory, but I can't put the drive letter in the setting (FolderPathEdit.Text) as the drive letter could change!
I've tried ..\..\Documents\Pictures and %appdir%\..\..\Documents\Pictures neither of which it was happy with.

Any ideas on how I can do this?

Thanks!
Ben

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 09:41:11 AM »
Hi Joyrex --

I apologize for the delay in responding, last couple of weeks have been hectic.

Ok so what you are wanting to do *SHOULD* be easy.. but i see now from looking at the code that it's not, and that currently the program insists on the Screenshots folder being located either in an absolute location or a directory under the config directory.

I already have a fix for the issue and i just need to upload a new version for you -- let me just get a few more updates in this version before i upload in the next day or two.

JoyrexJ9

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2009, 09:50:22 AM »
Thanks for the response!
I'm a coder myself so I appreciate these issues which "should be easy but aren't" !  ;D

No rush, just glad it's being looked at and I await the next release with interest!

Thanks

lujomu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2010, 03:13:14 AM »
Hey mouser,

I've been trying to do the same thing as the OP, namely using paths like \Temp\Screenshots or ..\..\Temp\Screenshots.

As this post is already quite old and I am still getting error messages using the above paths, I assume the fix never made it in an update ... or am I missing something / doing something wrong?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2010, 07:18:16 AM »
ok ive put this to the top of my list, should have new version this week with the ability to specify relative paths and use environment paths in screenshot folder specification.

lujomu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2010, 12:02:20 PM »
Thanks for your consideration and your effort!

No need to rush though, just thought I had missed something...   ;)

lujomu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2010, 02:00:58 AM »
[...] ability to specify relative paths and use environment paths in screenshot folder specification.

Have you already had time to implement it? I tried it with the latest version (v2.88.01), but it doesn't seem to work. Screenshots are always stored in the default directory...

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2010, 04:03:23 AM »
I think it should work.. You should be able to go to the options and put a path that doesn't start with C:\ and it should then be set relative to the Screenshot Captor directory.

If that doesn't work, can you show me what you are setting it to in the option, and how it is behaving?

lujomu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2010, 06:05:28 AM »
I tried to use "\Screenshots" which resets to the default folder inside the Program folder after a restart.
But "..\..\Screenshots" does work indeed!

Thanks a lot mouser!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2010, 06:36:50 AM »
Quote
I tried to use "\Screenshots" which resets to the default folder inside the Program folder after a restart.
try just "Screenshots" should do it -- the \ at front will confuse it.

lujomu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2010, 12:41:51 PM »
Yes, "Screenshots" works, but I wanted the folder to be in the root of the drive (e.g. D:\Screenshots), thus the backslash in the beginning.

But anyway, it works with the double dots and therefor I'm happy! ;)

andygroove

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Running in portable mode, specifying the screenshots dir
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2013, 04:28:34 AM »
Thanks for this info. PERFECT! I also wanted the screenshots in the root and used ..\..\..\screenshots. Great program thanks.